We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Friendly Welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adolesce

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Adolesce to your Saves list
Hotel Adolesce
Nieuwe Keizersgracht 26, 1018 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dorset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location Friendly Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have just returned from a short break in Amsterdam with our 8 year old grandson. Kais the proprietor was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were very spacious and spotlessly clean. The 24 hour open buffet was very welcome my grandson especially enjoyed the painted boiled eggs( it was Easter) little extra's which meant a lot.. It is a quiet area however you are only 2 canals away from the metro where you can vbe in the city in a matter of minutes. One word of warning watch out for the push bikes they come from all directions. We will definately be back again.

Room Tip: Stairs could be a problem if you have poor mobility I had a knee op last year and I managed okay ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yerevan, Yerevan, Armenia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed a few days in summer when site seeing in Amsterdam.
First I did not like this hotel (I used to prefer big once) but then each seemed “disadvantage” became advantage.
So, to the city center (RLD among them )))) it is a few minutes walk if you take right route, and Rembrandt museum is very close. On the way there is also market so having look at goods there might be interesting.
Hotels exactly on the center are noisy so I prefer to avoid them.
Owner of the property is very nice person – friendly and considerable.
What you use for breakfast you can also use during the whole day – coffee with milk, different sweets etc (I was not using them first then Kay (owner ) kindly reminded me that so very kind of him). This is very good advantage because you can make a coffee - break during the day if you don’t want to have a lunch(what usually happens to me during the trips).
They have a place for luggage so leaving bags before or after checkin is not a problem.
My room (single but actually bed was double anyway) was large and cleaning was good too – clean well every day.
Shower was in separate place on the floor but I don’t see this a problem, on the floor it was the only room anyway.
Interesting thing was the view from the room (different rooms may have different views)– in the morning I looked and saw roses in the garden in front of the window and birds singing there – like a piece of heaven, amazingly relaxing.
But there were two highlights in hotel too – two Burmese (I think) cats – beautiful creatures.
Generally you feel there like in home, it is matter whether you like this feeling or not. I liked it.
One thing I need to mention (which was mentioned by other reviewers too) – it is a steep stairs. It is true, if you may have a problem with carrying bag to upper floors (especially for elder people)– you have to be cautious and probably look for other place with less physical exercise. I heard during the trip that almost all houses in Amsterdam have such stairs because of dense space, and this hotel was originally house. But, if you are OK with this exercise – that will add another feeling of authentic Amsterdam.
Overall, I’m quite satisfied with my stay and enjoyed how Kay’s cats were looking at me probably to understand what country I’m from )))

Room Tip: most important thing is if steep stairs can be a problem for you - consider other property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a very belated review sorry Kay's (sorry if wrong spelling too). Had a thoroughly enjoyable stay in June 2012. Loved the hotel, the accommodation was attractive, clean and comfortable, the 24 hr snack bar convenient and most of all appreciated the welcoming, helpful, open and friendly proprietor. The situation of the hotel was perfect. Pretty, quiet area but close enough to everything. What more can I say - we hope to return one day. Go and enjoy, Amsterdam is the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Excellent location - just few blocks from the heart of the city! I really love the house - new equipped but typical “Gracht house” with steep stairs and very surprisingly big rooms (the funny thing is, that you have your private bathroom outside of the room, but it is OK!). You can feel the history from the hotel.
It is very clear hotel with 24h buffet, which is good for a breakfast (I love the home-made marmalade) and all day coffee/tea or snacks (I like this idea of the 24h buffet). Maybe there can be few yogurts in the fridge for the breakfast. It has very pleasant staff, which helps you with anything. There are maps and guidebooks to borrow, if you do not know what to visit in Amsterdam. Free WiFi is now available!!!
I absolutely recommend this hotel! High value for money

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I had a few days to spend in Amsterdam and I really wanted to stay in a hotel in which I definitely would know what city I was in when I opened my eyes in the morning.
Hotel Adolesce was a perfect fit. An iconic Amsterdam experience, with it's steep staircases and big windows overlooking a quiet picturesque canal lined with houseboats.
It's location is great, close enough to walk to many restaurants, shopping, and interesting sights and to public transportation if you want to explore further.
As mentioned many times in previous reviews, the proprieter is friendly and helpful. The dining area is cosy and well stocked with breakfast/snack supplies. If you feel like having a glass of wine or beer, the rates are very reasonable.
Our room {3} was spacious and comfortable with 3 huge windows.
We would stay here again, with pleasure.

Room Tip: Can.'t get away from the steep stairs. Room 3 was worth the climb! Great canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hands down a great place - so enjoyable, so convenient, so reasonably priced. Loved it and would stay every time I go to AMS. The location is perfect / short walk from Waterlooplein station. Doesn't serve a full buffet type breakfast but has quite a nice assortment of goods available for guests 24 hours a day (fresh fruit, yogurt, cheeses, cold meat, crackers, cookies, drinks cold and hot) so I liked it that way. After going out at night, I could grab some fruit and maybe crackers and have that to avoid a "self-inflicted" headache the next day. Some may not like it, but I definitely did. Room and bathroom were both very clean and bed was comfortable. Owner was helpful and very knowledgeable / helped with directions and provided some advice on various areas and attractions. Only negative would be the stairs - it's the way older houses of that period were built - they are steep and small. So pack light and stay at Hotel Adolesce!

Room Tip: We were in Room 11 (it's a triple with a Queen bed and one Twin bed). It was super quiet and fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great location. Quiet. Can walk many places but near to tram line. Clean, airy. Friendly helpful staff. Steep stairs - but that is the same everywhere in Amsterdam. Plentiful breakfast. Couldn't fault it for the price. Pleasant bar down the road. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adolesce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adolesce

Address: Nieuwe Keizersgracht 26, 1018 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Adolesce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adolesce Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adolesce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.