We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again and again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adolesce

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Adolesce
Save
You added Hotel Adolesce to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Keizersgracht 26, 1018 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Plantage & the East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would stay here again and again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hands down a great place - so enjoyable, so convenient, so reasonably priced. Loved it and would stay every time I go to AMS. The location is perfect / short walk from Waterlooplein station. Doesn't serve a full buffet type breakfast but has quite a nice assortment of goods available for guests 24 hours a day (fresh fruit, yogurt, cheeses, cold meat, crackers, cookies, drinks cold and hot) so I liked it that way. After going out at night, I could grab some fruit and maybe crackers and have that to avoid a "self-inflicted" headache the next day. Some may not like it, but I definitely did. Room and bathroom were both very clean and bed was comfortable. Owner was helpful and very knowledgeable / helped with directions and provided some advice on various areas and attractions. Only negative would be the stairs - it's the way older houses of that period were built - they are steep and small. So pack light and stay at Hotel Adolesce!

Room Tip: We were in Room 11 (it's a triple with a Queen bed and one Twin bed). It was super quiet and fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great location. Quiet. Can walk many places but near to tram line. Clean, airy. Friendly helpful staff. Steep stairs - but that is the same everywhere in Amsterdam. Plentiful breakfast. Couldn't fault it for the price. Pleasant bar down the road. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Wife and I arrived early AMS (5am) from DTW on Sunday morning. Train tickets, trolley tickets and metro with a little wandering around the streets close to the waterlooplein stop, we arrive at Hotel Adolesce at 8am local time. Our luck, two guests were just arriving from their Saturday night out and they let us in.

We waited in the lobby and were greeted by the proprietor after a short 10 minute wait. Gracious and accommodating, we stored our bags and were off to experience our first day of AMS. On our 1pm return our room was ready. Up the stairs to room 11 and pleasantly surprised. The room is big, one queen and one single with a very pleasant view of a beautiful court yard which one day 3 we had the pleasure of seeing first hand.

More about the proprietor. Day 4 I had my wallet stolen and did not realize it until we arrived back at the hotel at midnight. A knock on the proprietor's private residence at 20 minutes past midnight and he was quick to assist with enabling the phone for long distance dialing for credit card cancellation. He followed up with a phone call to inquire if all was 'ok', which it was, no charges on the cards, cards canceled and new cards were being mailed.

On our last day before heading to the airport for Prague, CZ, we enjoyed the remaining beer I had purchased and the proprietor graciously stored, with him, at the bar in the lobby.

I've left off many additional positive interactions and specifically his name as I do not feel I can include without his expressed approval which I do not have.

The other reviews do a great job of describing the multiple benefits of staying at Hotel Adolesce, another that is left out of those reviews and I've included in this one is the proprietor.

Suffice it to say he has a heart that is as large as room 11.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is very near to station Waterlooplein and few steps away from the famous 'Skinny Bridge’. Our room was typical Dutch style room with big windows across the length and view of canal. Rooms were very Spacious, Relaxing, Clean and the bathroom and shower room is separated.Snacks is available 24 hours. Owner Kees was very accommodating and polite. He is very prompt in replying emails. The stairs were uncomfortable but that’s the way it is in every Dutch traditional house. Wi-fi was available in our room. This budget hotel is in the heart of city and most places of interest, trams and metro are within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay at Adolesce.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuli_srivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A good hotel in a quite and convenient location. The room was huge! Very basic but clean and comfortable. No fridge in the room but tea, coffee, eggs, cheese, tomato available all day in the dining area. Chris was extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Stairs to the rooms are very narrow and steep .....a first floor room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTravellers2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

It was my fiirst time in Amsterdam; the Adolesce suited the cple of days of exploring. Great location making it easy to get everywhere and felt safe. Management was cheerful and helpful; like all European destinations, lots of stairs so pack light; unfortunately I didn't lol. Small bathroom facilities but clean, big bedroom, that said loved the 24hr brunch with basics; would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Kiwikaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was the second time that we stayed at the Hotel Adolesce.Little has changed since we were there 6 years ago.We just adore the place.
It is situated on a lovely, quiet, canal facing the Hermitage Museum. Every area of Amsterdam is within a half and hour walk. There are also shops, like Hema, Albert Hennig Food store and a wonderful place for soup , called Zoup En Zo, within a 5 minute, couple block walk on Jodenbreestr.
As other have stated, the hotel is fairly basic, but very clean, warm and inviting. The owner, Kees, keeps a bowl of the yummiest gum drops in a bowl, where you enter the reception area. He keeps the food bar fairly well stocked and we sampled about 4 different kinds of cookies on our two day stay, and we didn't find a cookie that we didn't like. It was wonderful to tour a section of the city, come back for tea and a snack, go back out to explore, come back for tea and a snack and go out again.Kees knows the city well and will quickly give you directions and info on how to get to where you want to go.
If you plan on staying at the Hotel, we always walk there from the central station. Take Geldersekade, and pass through the Nieuwmarket to St. Antoniesbreestr which across the canal turns into Jodenbreestr. Look for huge sign location of the Joods Historic Museum and head towards it on Weesperstr. On the block of the Hermitage Museum cross the canal, walk right down the block and you are there.Easy.
Do pack lightly to stay at this hotel, for it is an old canal house with very steep stairs.

Room Tip: Not a place to stay if you have a lot of luggage. If you do, ask for a room on the 1st floor, but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#242 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#101 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Plantage & the East
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#86 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#150 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Plantage & the East
Hotel Rembrandt
Hotel Rembrandt
#160 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adolesce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adolesce

Address: Nieuwe Keizersgracht 26, 1018 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Adolesce 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Adolesce Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing