We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment in the city ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kien Bed & Breakfast Studio's

Kien Bed & Breakfast Studio's
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kien Bed & Breakfast Studio's to your Saves list
Kien Bed & Breakfast Studio's
Tweede Weteringdwarsstraat 65, 1017 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
surrey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great apartment in the city ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We stayed here for a few nights at the end of last year and was the perfect place to use as a base to explore the city. We met Marten on arrival who was really friendly and more than accommodating. He gave us lots of info about the area, where to visit and details of places to eat.

The apartment itself is within walking distance of all major attractions and some lovely restaurants (although we're keen walkers!) and found this was the best way to take all the sights in.

It also has a full working kitchen, living room and plenty of storage space. There's ample room if you wanted to eat in too.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
20
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Great location (just inside the canal ring, spitting distance from Rijks Museum, tranquil little sidestreet) lovely apartment (stylish and spacious despite being in traditional tall and very narrow Dutch house) friendly and helpful host (Martin)

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

We recently went to Amsterdam for my friends 30th birthday in a group of 7. We stayed at Kien B&B which was ideal as it meant we could all stay together, as in location but at the same time have our own apartments.

The apartments are lovely, although I was slightly disappointed not to have a bath in ours but that is a personal preference of mine and I understand from all of the others, who enjoyed telling me, that the other apartments did have a bath.

The location was ideal. We got back a number of different ways, including walking, Tram (which is really close), Taxi, Bike and a bike taxi type thing.

There are plenty of nice restaurants within walking distance and lots to see and do.

The hosts were very helpful, although we saw little of them. This was our own fault as we arrived and then had a very busy itinerary. Before we arrived we did email them a few times asking questions and they were extremely helpful and prompt.

I think that Kien B&B is excellent value for money and I would most certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

If you are taller than say 175cm Duck your head!
Very Comfortable, Genial hosts. Very helpful with directions to shops attractions etc.

WE had been travelling for two weeks and desperately need a coin laundry. There is one within a reasonable walk from the studio (Again,thank you to our hosts). Unfortunately my wife was ill while we were there and we are grateful for all the help from Mathilde


  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Kien Bed & Breakfast is the perfect place for a couple willing to live Amsterdam as "locals". The studio is nice and clean. Beds are confortable and the neighbourhood very silent, in spite of its short distance to major touristic sites (museums, canals trip departure, restaurants, etc etc).
Martin is a great guest, ready to assist when required.
We recommend Kien Studio to everybody.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is a beautiful apartment in an ideal location around the corner from the Rijksmuseum. It is in a charming alley and I definitely plan on going back. The information provided prior to our visit by Martin was very helpful. It easily explained everything I needed to know to navigate the wonderful city of Amsterdam. This was my first trip to Europe and this apartment was my favorite hotel of the visit. The Holland people are very welcoming and it is an exceptional place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Really nice apartment in a decent location, 20 mins or so from the centre and close to the museums and vondelpark. Apartment was very clean, warm, comfy bed, coffee etc provided. Really nice touch having it's own little outside space (very small but still!).

Martin was exceptionally helpful and funny, advising places to go and what to expect. Amazingly managed to clock that my partner was into horses and recommended going to the hollandsche manege to stroke a few massive horses. Unfortunately we were there just before a big exhibition.

Only negatives would be that the double bed was actually two singles pushed together so you have the little crack down the middle, and that there was quite a lot of noise from above - only footsteps mind.

Room Tip: We were in the basement and it was a little noisy above so may be better to have an apartment on one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kien Bed & Breakfast Studio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kien Bed & Breakfast Studio's

Address: Tweede Weteringdwarsstraat 65, 1017 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kien Bed & Breakfast Studio's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kien Bed & Breakfast Studio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.