We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kien Bed & Breakfast Studio's

Save Saved
You added Kien Bed & Breakfast Studio's to your Saves list
Kien Bed & Breakfast Studio's
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kien Bed & Breakfast Studio's
Tweede Weteringdwarsstraat 65, 1017 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was my first visit to Amsterdam and we couldn't have stayed in a more central location. Everything for a first time tourist was within a 10 min walking distance.
The apartment itself is so lovely - spacious, clean and great little added extras like umbrellas for our use. There is a dining room, kitchen and bedroom. The bedroom being the main area in an open plan apartment. The tv is on wheels so you can watch from the comfy lounge chairs or from your bed.
The breakfast was already stocked in the kitchen when we arrived and was re-stocked each day whilst we were out. There was a strong emphasis on bread plus hams, cheeses, eggs and jams. There was also something sweet each day like a couple of muffins or cookies.
Martin is lovely who spent considerable time on our first day telling us about what is around and he was easy to contact during our stay.
I would recommend this place if you are coming to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dolgoprudny, Russia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very good location. Quiet place. Friendly personnel. Five minutes to the tram stop and 15 minutes to Dam square by foot. Fresh food every day for breakfast. Thanks Martin for the hospitality! I will definitely stay there next time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have just spent a well earned weekend away in Amsterdam. Martin our host was realy friendly and helpful. I always read trip advisor reviews and fully expected this place to be lovely from the reviews. The room was great, very clean and a plentiful supply of food in the fridge. Bed was comfy. The location was great, a small walk to restaruants and easy trams into the city.The only thing letting this place down, sadly was a major thing for me. The noise! It was the first weekend I think of the summer holidays and the weather had finally come good, but the noise for the 2 nights was pretty much constant. We had people sat oustide our window enjoying the warm evening but until the early hours, we had revellers from the clubs shouting their way down the road during the night, but I think the worst was the door next to us, the same B&B, where some folks came in at 6am (after suffering a broken sleep already), the footsteps were very loud above us, doors closing, talking. Sadly it was too much and I have come home very sleep deprived. Maybe in the out of season months I can imagine this place is peaceful and a great place to stay.
Sorry I couldn't be more positive, but if you like your sleep, not the place to go

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Great location, within walking distance off all the attractions. It is located on a very quiet street which is easy to find. Martin, the host was wonderful, very helpful and very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble, from holding an umbrella for my wife in the rain to translating some old Dutch birth records for me. The room itself was very clean and suited all of our needs perfectly. We stayed for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Martin is a very good and attentive host. Joyce, Martin's business partner, 'the power behind the throne', is lovely and very helpful. :)
We had a vey comfortable studio, well appointed. The fridge was replenished everyday and Martin and Joyce catered for our specific requirements. This is self-catering, no cooked breakfasts but this is just perfect! Cleaned and towels refreshed during the week but seems to not be done on weekends.
Near to a good organic shop, bakery, grocery and Martin recommends some excellent restaurants. There's a great soup shop nearby, Soup Enzo. (I think)
Good public transport links but easy to walk to Van Gogh, Rijk's museum and many other attractions.
Try to book the apartment on the 2nd floor as we had a rather heavy-footed night-owl above us but this didn't detract much from this lovely place.

Room Tip: Choose the studio in the 2nd floor, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My and my family stayed here this April,for 5 nights.Martin,the owner is very friendly,kind and helpful;the place is nice,clean and located in the heart of Amsterdam.
We really recommend Kien Bed &BreaKfast!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in January and had a fabulous stay. The apartment was nice and clean, the decor was nice and it's centrally located on a quiet street. The owner, Martin, was really welcoming and gave some good advice on where to go and some history on the city too. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kien Bed & Breakfast Studio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kien Bed & Breakfast Studio's

Address: Tweede Weteringdwarsstraat 65, 1017 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kien Bed & Breakfast Studio's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kien Bed & Breakfast Studio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.