We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awkward but central and clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Teun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Teun to your Saves list
Hotel Teun
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Haarlemmerdijk 61, 1013 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Ramenas)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awkward but central and clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a strange little hotel. The rooms are spacious with 3 beds. They are clean with great natural light. The bathrooms are awkward with a shower in a good sized room with a sink and separate toilet area which is really small. The registration desk is the counter of the cafe and the staff is very nice. It is a great location but no frills.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
23
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Teun on April. It was a bit cold in the rom, but everything was compencated with absolutely great view through the window and very cosy room. The room is very small but we have own bathroom wich is rare in Amsterdam. I definitely will choose this place next time.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Almost everything else is fine here expect the price! ..
Honestly rooms are moderate, narrow (even the bigger ones)
..Though the beds in the rooms are ultra soft! You got to love them.
Wifi works slowly.

The joint works ideally for nightlife explorers and not so demanding couples.

Good stuff here is that you can feel the local vibe, atmosphere is really Dutch!
Location is the best ever, you can find everything essential nearby, i mean everything :):).
Environment just outside the Hotel is a blast! Amsterdam in it´s best!
Hotel staff are really hospital (and personal) there is good breakfast (you can ask more several times, latte is heavenly)!!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Place with character. Nice cafe restaurant downstairs. Breakfast of croissants, fresh warm rolls, toast with cold meats and cheese, jam and nutella. Freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee. Rooms are nice. Good decor. White and simple with comfortable beds. All clean. Modern en-suite bathroom/wetroom with separate en-suite toilet. Towels changed daily. Very central location with easy access to all sites. Rent bikes from nearby from fredericks bicycle rentals

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

The hotel is situated just off a pretty canal area with lots of restaurants in the area. When we arrived, we were a little confused about how to get in as no-one answered when we rang the bell. However, we checked in via the restaurant which is also part of the hotel. The staff here were helpful and we were shown to our room. We didn't have suitcases so had no problem with the steep narrow staircase (be aware if you have difficulties with such issues (although I can't think of many places in Amsterdam that wouldn't have this issue!)

The room itself was comfortable furnished - the double bed was actually two twins pushed together with 2 single duvets - a little annoying but not the end of the world. The beds themselves were comfortable.

The room was a good size for a traditional town house in Amsterdam and I was pleasantly surprised by this. Tea and coffee facilities would have been appreciated, but again, not the end of the world! The main issue we had was with the noise coming from the creaky stairs and the creaky beds in the rooms surrounding us. This did keep us awake for a while and is the reason for the 4 rather than 5 star review.

The bathroom was a wet room, which was a little cold, but the shower was good. The toiletries provided were the (now common) pump dispenser on the wall.

All in all, I would say stay here for the neighbourhood, which was lovely - very much removed from the manic chaos of the Red Light District, and unlikely to have the stag/hen crowd), but maybe bring ear plugs in case your neighbours come home late or are a little amorous!

Room Tip: Higher rooms probably have less chance of being subjected to creaky beds/floorboards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ticino
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

The location is great - it took us about 20 mins. to get there from the main train station and as we were coming in late the owner waited around for us. The Stairs are not for the faint of heart but are so typica of Amsterdam, and they really were not that bad. Our room was on the second floor and was nicely decorated, small but functional. We only had breakfast in one morning as we preferred to have pancakes at a near by coffee shop.
Will definately return to this hotel on my next visit.
I can get a little noisy at night - maybe better to book a room in the back.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Had a nice pleasant stay (2nights) with a lovely continental breakfast in the morning down in the cafe/ resturant (had to pay it separately) this was not inclusive in Room booking price.
Another confusing issue I had was the City Tax it had not been included in Room booking price either so I had to pay it separately in Euro's when I arrived there.
Room was clean, nice facilities such as the shower/ wet room which was huge & the toilet was separate. Had had a bit of a problem with the room key card too it deactivated itself so I had a problem to get in the room this got resolved down in the resturant area but it had been inconvenient but I Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stairs can be tricky as they are So narrow! So don't get a room on the very Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Teun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teun

Address: Haarlemmerdijk 61, 1013 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Ramenas)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Teun 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel TEUN is a new hotel and restaurant in the heart of Amsterdam. It is situated at the Haarlemmerdijk, a street full of small attractive shops and places to eat and drink. The Jordaan area is just around the corner, Central Station a 15 minutes walk. It only exists since the beginning of 2014. Before it was a hostel, but it has been intensively renovated. It now offers authentic rooms in an 17th century monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, T4B, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Teun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Teun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.