We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in a cool and slightly bohemian part of town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Teun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Teun to your Saves list
Hotel Teun
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Haarlemmerdijk 61, 1013 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Ramenas)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discount in restaurant!
Ranked #132 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A little gem in a cool and slightly bohemian part of town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I left the kids at home and whizzed off to Amsterdam for a quick weekend break to see a gig. We arrived at Amsterdam Centraal Station and easily found our way to 'Harlem' street, off which the hotel is located. Harrlemmedrdiijk is a real eclectic mix of boutique stores, local grocery outlets selling fresh cheese, bread etc, oh, and the odd coffee shop! Unlike other parts of town, the coffee shops are in the minority and the mix of people wandering this area are a more mature and discerning sort!

The hotel is split into a lovely little restaurant/cafe and separate from this, through a separate door accessed from the outside are the rooms.

The staff were really friendly and helpful, both in their service as well as their advice on travelling around town etc. The food was really excellent - think Jamie Oliver on his way to a Michelin star! Informal but incredibly tasty and well presented. Whilst the range isn't vast, its perfect for a pit stop, a breakfast or a quick cuppa!

The rooms are tastefully decorated, in a shabby chic style with re-used materials mixed in with some nice contemporary furniture. We were in the top room (there are 2 on the top floor and the stairs are very steep). I would say compact and thoughtfully designed to maximise the space is polite! It was fine for us for a night at a price that didn't break the bank.

The lunchburger and goats cheese salad were our lunch choices. Both great. The waiter and kitchen staff were very friendly and unimposing. Just pay at the counter when you are ready - no rush to vacate your table here!

There was no issue leaving our bags whilst we explored the city prior to flying home. The staff made us feel comforted they would be well looked after. I took a card and was encouraged to spread the word and come stay again. I think we will, for sure.

Room Tip: Go for a 1st or 2nd floor room ! The attic room we stayed in was perfectly snug but could frustrate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Late check in so we had to leave our luggage there (it stays in the restaurant, on the way to the bathroom). No wonder some of the stuff was missing when we got back. Hotel staff said they were "too busy" to help us with the missing pieces.
We had to leave early and hotel reception doesn't open till late so they said we had to check out and leave our luggage at Central Station. Very poor service.
Room was also really small, didn't match price charged.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Nice clean convenient hotel,a little on the cramped side might be best described as " bijou "
Crampons and ropes needed to climb the stairs but hey this is an old and original narrow and tall Amsterdam building, long may they remain.
Cheerful and helpful staff and good value for money.
David Joy and friends 22.10.14.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

This hotel was reasonable value by Amsterdam standards and we found it a great location, walking distance to central station, trams, boats, museums etc.
surrounded by nice places to eat.
We were in a room at the very top in the attic so low ceilling but soacious enough room with very comfortable beds.
Shower room and toilet in the room were quite cramped due to the unusual layout trying to make most of the space in the attic.
Room was clean, beds made daily and fresh towels.
Only problem was that we had 2 single beds rather than a double and they moved apart if you rolled over as on slippy wooden floors. Stairs very steep up to the room also.
Breakfast was delicious and very generous and staff always friendly.
They also very kindly let us leave bags there on the last day as we had a later flight so we could make the most of our last day.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

This small pension is located just 3 bus stops away from Central Station, in Amsterdam's coolest quarter, The Jordaan. Rooms have a private bathroom, which is not that common in this category, so that might be the plus that pushes the price a bit high. Our room on the 1st floor was a bit noisy, since the place actually sits in a very lively spot, especially at night. It was acceptably clean, but not immaculate (toilet bowl was stained). The staff at restaurant is young and smiling, but there's a high turnover and service levels are a bit shaky (on the first morning I was served a huge bowl of yogurt, fruits, cereals and honey for € 4,90, but the next day I got just a small glass of it without honey, for the same price). It's overall a nice place to be: sitting at the restaurant, the whole world's racing by on a bicycle, rushing here and there: cool! Amsterdam's population is very young and extremely relaxed and Teun totally encompasses the spirit of this beautiful city...for 130€ per night.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

The hotel is 10 rooms on 3 floors above a restaurant/cafe on the ground floor. The staff in the restaurant act as the hotel reception and the rooms are accessed through a door in a side street (Binnen Oranjestraat). The spiral stairs are steep but not too narrow. We had a room on the second floor (i.e. two above the ground floor) at the back. It was a reasonable size with two single beds pushed together but with plenty of room to have been used as separate singles. The en-suite facilty was wet-room style, smart and well designed (though it could have done with a 'squeegy' to dry the floor after a shower). The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet at night.

The staff in the restaurant were excellent and very helpful. The breakfasts were delicious- excellent coffee (as we found all over Amsterdam) and top class fresh orange juice - bread, croissants and cold meat and cheese, with scrambled eggs offered on one of the days.

We ate in the hotel on 3 out of 4 nights. The menu was well priced and the food was unfailingly delicious but we ended having tried most of the dishes by the time we left. A bit more variation or a slightly longer menu would have been good.

The location of the hotel couldn't be better (unless you're visiting Amsterdam in a car - not much parking!). There is a liveliness to the area which is infectious, and the street is close to the centre and near some of the best canal locations- easy walking distance and even easier cycling distance. But the area felt totally safe and very friendly.

This is a great well-priced hotel- who needs room-service and all the stuffiness of the more expensive ones when you can have a great stay here?

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be slightly quieter, but rooms at the front more interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay in room 11 at Teun. Our room was small, but bright, clean, and comfortable. The location is great; close enough to the center to get around, but far enough that the noise level is manageable. The staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was delicious. My only complaint was the height of the mirror and the placement of the shelf over the sink in our room (made it difficult to brush your teeth or wash your face). All in all, it was a cosy and comfortable stay. I would DEFINITELY return there if I'm ever back in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Teun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teun

Address: Haarlemmerdijk 61, 1013 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Ramenas)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Teun 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel TEUN is a new hotel and restaurant in the heart of Amsterdam. It is situated at the Haarlemmerdijk, a street full of small attractive shops and places to eat and drink. The Jordaan area is just around the corner, Central Station a 15 minutes walk. It only exists since the beginning of 2014. Before it was a hostel, but it has been intensively renovated. It now offers authentic rooms in an 17th century monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Teun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Teun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.