We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep over in Jordaan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Teun

Save Saved
You added Hotel Teun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Teun
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Haarlemmerdijk 61, 1013 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Ramenas)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discount in restaurant!
Ranked #100 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
1 review
“Sleep over in Jordaan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

3 of us stayed in a spacious room on the first floor. We were later told that it was the Best room in the hotel because of it's size. Very friendly staff and the check in was smoothly done!
We had a late dinner at the hotel and the meal was great and tasty - the bio Wine, too.
Had a nice sleep and a very good breakfast next morning. Warm Bread, cheese, mortadella,jam and good coffee. The staff kept coming with more.
There was noise in the morning from the restaurant down stairs because of our room's location, but we needed to get up anyway.......and we found a sock under the bed....didn't belong to us! But hey, that didn't ruin our nice stay. Would recommend this hotel anytime

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Searched for ages to find somewhere of a decent price and location and came across this gem. Great location within easy walking distance from Centraal station and all the sights.

Friendly staff, clean, bright well furnished room in a great location. Really liked it and will book again next time I am in Amsterdam.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Spent five nights at the Teun. Parking difficult if you're in a car, but we were on a touring motorcycle which we simply parked on the pavement outside. Atmospheric bistro / restaurant with a theatrical theme, and middle-of-the-road music which was very much to our taste.
All the staff spoke perfect English and were friendly and helpful.
Hotel rooms were basic, but very clean. Upper floors only accessed via very steep stairs (this is Amsterdam).
Ideally located for Dam Square (15 minutes walk), and by using the canals to navigate everywhere was within an hours easy stroll.
Breakfast was available from 8.30 am to 4.00pm (this is Amsterdam), and there was plenty of it.
Recommende if you want simple, clean and friendly accommodation.

Room Tip: High floors vis VERY steep and narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Booked this on a whim and what a pleasant experience it was! The woman who greeted us (we arrived very late) - sorry not sure of name, was an absolute delight! She was very informative, helpful and cheery. The rooms were small but very clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was simple, (European style with cold meats, cheese, bread, croissants and spreads) yet delicious, they also provided fresh orange juice. Location was fantastic! Hotel is located in a lovely area with nice boutiques, bars and coffee shops. It's a ten minute walk from the thick of the Amsterdam action. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Im reading the reviews & I'm forced to write my own- Visited the hotel March 2013- Booked a studio with my girlfriend. Building of the studio itself housed Jews & you can tell from the signs on the floor as you walk in. built in world war 1- all that history! The charm, the architecture, the scenery, Amazing location! Who cares if the Tv is not LCD or Plasma!! The place was very clean & we even got a a lovely balcony, cooker, oven, coffee maker. Returning in November, God willingly. Peace!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Teun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teun

Address: Haarlemmerdijk 61, 1013 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Ramenas)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Teun 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel TEUN is a new hotel and restaurant in the heart of Amsterdam. It is situated at the Haarlemmerdijk, a street full of small attractive shops and places to eat and drink. The Jordaan area is just around the corner, Central Station a 15 minutes walk. It only exists since the beginning of 2014. Before it was a hostel, but it has been intensively renovated. It now offers authentic rooms in an 17th century monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, T4B, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Teun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Teun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.