We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for....MOLD!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Teun

Save Saved
You added Hotel Teun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Teun
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Haarlemmerdijk 61, Amsterdam 1013 KB, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Ramenas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Oakville, Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You get what you pay for....MOLD!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Ramenas for 6 nights Aug 2013. We didn't want to pay too much for accomodations so it came to about $125 a night.

I've been to Amsterdam many times and have travelled around a lot. That being said, this is by far the most HORRIBLE room I have ever stayed in! We stayed in Room #1 on the first floor up the stairs. Everything looked fine until we opened up the door to the combination toilet/shower. The stench of mold and other odors was disgusting. And the fan circulating it didn't help. We weren't sure what combination of keeping the fan on/off and the door open/shut made it any better. By the 2nd day we made the executive decision not to poop there. What looked like black grout around the tiles was actually black mold everywhere! The water didn't drain properly and collected in the corner even a quick shower caused the whole room and toilet area to be wet.

Never really saw a maid but instead of changing the sheets, extra towels magically appeared almost daily. By the end of the trip we had about 8 wet towels around the room. After reading other reviews I brought my own sheets and left them there at the end of the trip; otherwise they would have been burned upon my return home.

Breakfast was a set meal. Simple but adequate. Never had any problems getting an extra glass of juice as other people have said. Breakfast times were 8:30am - 10am. and they were a little strict with that. There are lots of places to get breakfast in the area if you miss it.

WIFI was very slow and would drop in and out.

It is about a 15min walk from the train station which I was fine with and convenient if you ever get lost, just follow the directions to Centraal Station and then go left! Loved the Jordaan area, but it's a noisy street which is how our room faced.

I would probably stay on the other side of Amsterdam near the Artis Zoo next time with better accomodations for the same price.

Room Tip: Find a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    27
    18
    22
See reviews for
7
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location - hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. An ancient building with very steep stairs and overlooking the roofs of the old city. A lot of cafes, restaurants, stores are around of hotel. A few minutes walk to The Red Light District and The Royal Palace.
The large room with all facilities, not new but comfortable.
Very poor soundproofing. You can hear the neighbors, as if they are next.

Room Tip: We stood at the luxe apartment on the third floor on the Lindengracht. Room has a balcony and nice v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed in one of the apartments that are located 5 mins from the Hotel Ramenas and found the Jordaan area to be very nice with a busy Cafe across the road. The stairs are very tight and steep but this was not a problem for us. The apartment was basic but functional and spacious for Amsterdam. Having a fridge and microwave was also handy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Unreasonable staff. Not very helpful at all. Quality not what is advertised. Dont book through booking.com, as the pics are misleading. The rooms were dirty and linen unclean. Wont refund your monies once you realise that you are in a musty hell-hole. Dont consider it.

Room Tip: Not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very dirty and noisy place. The location is good but it is really not worth going there. Never!
Moreover the owner or whoever that man was entered the room with the key while we were sleeping as apparently the electrical central machine was in our room. Unbelievable.
Complitely unreccomended!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is our first trip to Amsterdam and our first and last time booking with hoteleirs.com, when we got here and saw the room we did not want to stay but as we had booked we could not get out of without Loosing our money almost 300 euro which for this room is 299 euro too much.Don't even consider staying here

Room Tip: Don't even consider it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last March 25, 2013 with a friend. The location is a perfect, close to eveything. The price is very cheap so don't expect to much. Breakfast is the same every day, so if you'll to stay here for one week probably you'll get the same food. They will not offer you assistance to carry the luggages going upstairs, mind you the stairs are steep.They don't clean the room in your entire stay. Staff was just ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Teun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teun

Address: Haarlemmerdijk 61, Amsterdam 1013 KB, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Ramenas)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 168 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Teun 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Teun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Teun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.