We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ramenas

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Hostelworld.com
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ramenas
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Haarlemmerdijk 61, Amsterdam 1013 KB, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
roma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very dirty and noisy place. The location is good but it is really not worth going there. Never!
Moreover the owner or whoever that man was entered the room with the key while we were sleeping as apparently the electrical central machine was in our room. Unbelievable.
Complitely unreccomended!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    27
    18
    22
See reviews for
7
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is our first trip to Amsterdam and our first and last time booking with hoteleirs.com, when we got here and saw the room we did not want to stay but as we had booked we could not get out of without Loosing our money almost 300 euro which for this room is 299 euro too much.Don't even consider staying here

Room Tip: Don't even consider it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last March 25, 2013 with a friend. The location is a perfect, close to eveything. The price is very cheap so don't expect to much. Breakfast is the same every day, so if you'll to stay here for one week probably you'll get the same food. They will not offer you assistance to carry the luggages going upstairs, mind you the stairs are steep.They don't clean the room in your entire stay. Staff was just ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Price - quality. Great breakfast and nice girls.Very small room. In the shower do not have curtain. But all in all normal. Great location. Near good coffee shop.Excellent workers. Pretty girls. Come and see for yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The only positive aspect I can think of to this hotel is its fairly low price. It also fairly close to the centre. It might suit people on a tight budget. But before you go you should know my experience, then decide.

The first night we stayed in our room (a twin room barely big enough to swing a cat) we noticed water came up through the shower drain and flooded the bathroom floor every time you flush the toilet. Though initially the water was clear, by the fourth day it also contained human excrement.

We complained the following morning and the hotel offered a new room once one became available a day or two later. Then it sat on its hands and did nothing (we stayed almost a week). This led to a huge argument with staff when we complained again a few days later (after the excrement part).

Astonishingly, the attitude of the hotel was that we hadn't complained OFTEN enough. One would think the customer's safety and comfort would be the first priority of any hotel trying to stay open and that the hotel would be proactive in solving the customer's problems. Their attitude was one of the worst aspects of the whole situation.

Though they did offer a refund for one final night, this was too little, too late. They also finally moved us to another room, where guess what? The toilet leaked every time you flushed. To prove the veracity of what I ma saying I made a video of the excrement bubbling up through the shower drain in the first room, and intend to upload it to Youtube as soon as possible. It will probably have the title 'Ramenas toilet, Amsterdam'.

Don't waste your money, for a few quid more I'm sure you'll find a hotel that's clean, not a heath and safety risk, and cares about its customers.

Nick F.

Room Tip: Their twin and triple rooms are located immediately above the hotel up very steep stairs. They are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Staff were friendly and polite, the room was of adequate size for 2 although it isn't a palace (don't look in the cupboards in the bedroom). It's well located and not far from the local supermarket and about10-15 mins walk from Dam square. The hallway leading up to the flats aren't very pleasant and have a bad smell, but the rooms themselves aren't bad.
The only problem is the boilers are very old and the water pressure is pretty awful, our boiler broke while having a shower, although they came out ASAP to fix it. All in all, it's worth the money you're paying, I'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Room in Hotel Ramenas Haarlemmerdijk for 3 people are aweful. We paid 35€ per person which is way too much. Its just a room with 3 beds and a sink, thats it. The rooms are dirty, spider webs and even mushrooms in the curtains?? (this is no joke). The 'shower' and toilet are in the same room and like 1 meter away from eachother. For 5 or maybe 10€ more / night you will get something waaaay better than this. Also there is alot of noise from the street, and the actual city centre (for example Leidseplein) is a 30 minute walk, but on the way you have some nice bars, coffeeshops and shops to be honest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ramenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ramenas

Address: Haarlemmerdijk 61, Amsterdam 1013 KB, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 168 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ramenas 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ramenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ramenas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ramenas to your Saves list