We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nova Apartments Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nova Apartments Amsterdam to your Saves list
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nicolaas Maesstraat 72, 1072 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great room and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Spent two nights at Nova. Suite was spacious for one or two, with kitchen, on a quiet street. Room included wifi. Great value for the room (about 70 Euro a night). Need to take a trolley to the apartment from the train station, which is a nice trip in itself. However, if you need to get there quicker and more directly, take a cab. The room is a suite but the bedroom is set off, without a door. So, if someone else is there in the sitting area, may not be too quiet. Bed was fine and large for one tall person (6'), but you have to angle yourself if a bit taller as the head and foot of the bed are against walls, which is a bit odd. Not a problem as there was two entrances to the room from either side of the bed.

Very close to the Rijksmuseum and Concertgebouw, which has concerts almost every day. Take advantage of the close proximity to the concert hall to see/hear something there. Amazing acoustics.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    38
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
43
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked a studio apartment. Good points: fantastic location, good airport link (197 bus very near) museums nearby, quiet street, nice buildings. Apartment has everything you need and supermarket nearby. Shower is brilliant. Apartment cleaned and tidied every day - even the breakfast dishes left in the sink because the dishwasher was full. Check in was smooth, just pick up the envelope in the hall. Bed was lovely, the mattress and pillows were so comfy - I have trouble sleeping normally but was out for the count the first night. The two single quilts on the double bed were great.
Not so good points; the apartment we booked was dark - the other studio has doors opening on to a courtyard, (the studios are in the basement) The very nice electrician who co-incidentally visited to check out the lighting in our apartment said they had plans to improve it, but you need to be aware it is downstairs with smallish high windows where you see the legs of passersby! We felt a bit disappointed that we hadn't got the other one! When you book an apartment you like to come back after sightseeing and relax in a nice atmosphere whilst making something to eat and drink. On a sunny day it feels gloomy. I would consider upgrading to the slightly more expensive apartment if the back studio was unavailable. Don't forget to buy kitchen roll - they have towels in the kitchen area but nothing to wipe up spills etc. Also check the salt cellar has salt in it! We didn't and it spoilt our dinner a bit. The stairs down to the apartments are very steep and not the safest so not ideal for very young or old. The apartment is generally clean apart from the top of the shower rail and the extractor fan (although high up things tend to get neglected in almost every place I've visited)
All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending Nova Apartments, and with a little attention, my little niggles will not affect future travellers.

Room Tip: The basement studio facing the street is dark. Choose the back one or go up a floor.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Nova apartments are just perfect for anyone visiting Amaterdam. Their quiet museum district location is excellent, and they come equipped with everything you'll need. Nice bath, wooden table for dinner, cooking gear, microwave, dish washer, LCDd and free wifi. There is a big supermarket within 5 min walk (credit cards not accepted but there is an ATM machine for cash), parks, street markets and canals spread in a one mile radius.

The best thing is the value for money: beats any hotel. The room is cleaned daily and while I didn't use it, there should be someone on call to help with stuff over the phone. Ironing board and plenty of electricity plugs cater for the business travelers. Overall it's a great find.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Myself and a friend booked 2 nights stay here at the end of April. I was impressed with the apartment itself, had everything you could need for a short break. The bed/pillow was incredibly comfortable, better than home! Check in/out was easy and the wifi and free map the hotel provided were invaluable! If I was going to be picky I would say there were a few stains (from cleaning) on the carpet, a crack in the work top and damp mark on the bathroom ceiling, but these are such minor things in comparison to the benefits the apartment has to offer. Great location by museumplein meant that we were far enough out for it to be peaceful, but still close enough to walk everywhere..... we didn't use a tram once! Supermarket close by for buying the essentials. All in all, lovely little apartment which I would most definitely stay in again if I was visiting amsterdam in the future!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had booked the bigger apartment with one bedroom for two nights. My mom and I had a wonderful stay there and the apartment was great! It was clean, modern and really had everything you could wish for! You get lots of natural light from big windows and a great night sleep since the street outside is really quiet.

The apartment is reachable by tram and there are shops and restaurants nearby. The location is really fantastic!

There was also a coffee maker with coffee, cream and sugar (every day!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked the apartment as we had a wonderful stay here before. This time it was perfect again. Good service, everything was prepared, very clean room with a welcoming feel to it. The good thing is that you can prepare your own food and have breakfast at the time you want. The "oud-Zuid" area of Amsterdam has so much to offer, great little cafes and restaurants with good food and open till very late. Shopping is fantastic and "around the corner". To be recommended!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nova Apartments Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Apartments Amsterdam

Address: Nicolaas Maesstraat 72, 1072 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nova Apartments Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Nova Apartments Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nova Apartments Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nova Apartments Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.