We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Experience, A Bucket List Item to Cross Off” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xaviera Hollander's Happy House

Save Saved
You added Xaviera Hollander's Happy House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Xaviera Hollander's Happy House
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   17 Stadionweg, Amsterdam 1077RV, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience, A Bucket List Item to Cross Off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I read "The Happy Hooker" as a teen and was always fascinated with Xaveria Hollander and her life so when I found out that she operates a B & B in Amsterdam I knew I had to go and meet this legend.
Xaveria place looks exactly like the photographs; a cozy home in a traditional European style. A touch cluttered with a very personal touch, this B & B is like a museum of Xaviera with photographs and painting adorning the walls and masses of books and trinkets throughout the home.
I had opted to have dinner with Xaviera and her lovely husband Philip. It was one of the best meals I have had outside of a 5 star restaurant; we started with stuffed mushrooms followed by Dutch steak. The conversation was lively and colourful as we exchanged stories.
I stayed in the chalet in the back, which was amazingly cozy. The one drawback was that shower was extremely tiny. The chalet was extremely quiet and private, with a very comfortable bed and lush towels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    4
    2
    9
See reviews for
5
21
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked the master bedroom - it was a last minute booking and had no time to review what other's had written.
Spent 2 nights, the room we stayed in was Xaviera & her partner's room - spacious with a balcony. The only drawback was that the wardrobes were full up with her clothes :-)
The house is like a museum, really liked it + all the pictures !

The care taker (sorry forgot his name) was very friendly & helpful. Xaviera/partner were away, would have loved to meet them, may be next time! Amsterdam centre is a good 20 mins+ walk.

Highly recommend this place, there is parking as well....for an extra charge.

Room Tip: Master bedroom if it's available !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked this bed and breakfast with a little speculation. However when we got to Amsterdam we were pleasantly surprised at the apartment that we were given for our short stay. It belonged to a local artist and we had his place all to ourselves. It was a great way to be able to get up at our leisure and make our own breakfast with a fully stocked refrigerator. It was close to the main city centre and in a nice neighborhood. Its a 30 minute walk to the main attractions and we like to walk! The owner of the apartment was very nice and we recommend to anyone when booking here to request The Artist as the room to reserve. It was well worth the money and the experience!!

Room Tip: Choose The Artist room. This way you will have the whole place to yourself and you can make your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I spent three nights at the B&B with my boyfriend and two friends. We all enjoyed iving there, and found the location good, the people friendly and carring. However, this place is very special so I would prob not recommend it to families. But friends and couples who want to experience the core of Amsterdam - this is the place, and I would go there again. Note that they have animals, so if you are allergic or don't like cats and dogs running around, this place is not for you.

The breakfast was okay
It is always clean
the location is not far from the center of Amsterdam

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

If you are looking for an amazing B&B with superb hosts you should definitely try the Happy House. Xaviera (world famous) and her husband Philip (should be world famous as well because of his better than best cooking skills) are great, full of interesting stories, and warmly welcoming you in their own house. If you want to escape from boring (all the same) hotel chains, and experience being part of the day-to-day life of the bestseller author, don’t hesitate to book a room. We had a normal size room in the house with shared bathroom. There is also a chalet in the garden with own bathroom. The location is very convenient, close to RAI and one minute walk from public transport connections. The breakfast was delicious and last but not least there is a garden that you can use as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is a lovely little property, in a nice quiet part of town within 20 minutes or so walk from the city centre. I was a bit perturbed at being asked to pay the full amount up front but Xaviera an Phillip are good hosts, and their young man (Albert I think?) prepared a great breakfast too. I loved the cats as well!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chernivtsi, Chernivets'ka Oblast', Ukraine
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Hello

A year ago, our family has vacationed at your hotel. But we still

can not forget our vacation. And every time we rest in other hotels, we remember you.

We want to tell you our gratitude. Our vacation was memorable.

The staff was very considerate and friendly to our children and

us. The rooms and bathroom were are always clean and very nice. . All our

requests were carried out immediately. And the atmosphere is very

artistic



. Our youngest son did not want to leave, and now all the time

asking, or we have once again come to you. He seemed to have fallen in love with your

sweet dog Dida … is she still alive???

I did not know that the world still has such kind, sympathetic and good people who love their work.

You have conquered our hearts and souls.

Now we recommend your hotel to all our friends. I can confidently

say that this was the best holiday we ever had and even the weather was great . I wish prosperity to your B&B and grateful guests.

The only thing that darkened our trip, is that our luggage was

lost in airport, and with it all of our purchases and gifts.

We would be grateful if you could send us some gifts for me and

my children with the symbol of your hotel, like the lovely key hanger you gave us with the laser light on it

We will be most appreciative and definitely will plan another trip to Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xaviera Hollander's Happy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xaviera Hollander's Happy House

Also Known As:
Xaviera Hollander`s Happy House Hotel Amsterdam
Xaviera Hollander`s Happy House Hotel
Address: 17 Stadionweg, Amsterdam 1077RV, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Xaviera Hollander's Happy House 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Bohemian villa of legendary author Xaviera Hollander, in the heart of Amsterdam, with airport pickup provided as well as personal chef on request, ideal for couples, honeymooners, gay friendly, animal friendly, and meet the author herself if she is in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Tingo, HostelBookers, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Xaviera Hollander's Happy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xaviera Hollander's Happy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.