We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blaine's B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blaine's B&B
Rijnsburgstraat 24 III, 1059 AV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 304 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have just returned from 3 lovely nights at this super bed and breakfast. The hosts, Blaine and Peter are vey good at running the place. The breakfast feast is best described as gourmet, with delicious , imaginative hot items and an amazing array of freshly made jams , bread and yoghurts.
Both are very accommodating and helped us with organising restaurant reservations , tourist advice and taxi. ( Blaine - you were spot on about the taxi) . We stayed in the Loft room which was perfect for the 3 of us. We enjoyed the banter at breakfast and would definitely stay here when we are next in Amsterdam .

The dinner at their resturant Seasons is excellent. It is a definite must try place in Amsterdam

Room Tip: The Loft room opens onto a a lovely roof terrace. Made a mistake - there is no pool , but there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Blaine's B&B, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Malaysian92,

Thanks so much for your review and we were also really glad that you stayed with us. We love to have other people who have traveled the world stay with us and hear of their experiences. You and your girls surely fit that bill.

Hope you have a great summer and come back to Amsterdam to see us again.

Kind regards

Blaine & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    18
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
41
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This Bed and Breakfast a little bit outside the center of Amsterdam was a pleasure to stay at. The hosts where very friendly, the rooms clean and personal and the breakfast was delicious! And if you stay for several nights you can also get a wonderful meal at the owners restaurant in the old part or Amsterdam - Jordan!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Blaine's B&B, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Conwe,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor for other guests to see.

You pretty much summed up what we are all about. That's great!

We hope you make it back to Amsterdam and decide to stay with us again!

All the best,

Blaine & Peter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The best way to summarize our 4 nights stay at Blaine's B&B would be: What a great find! Our room was super comfortable and very clean, which is also true for the common areas. Every morning a rich (and always delicious) breakfast awaits you, which really starts the day on a good note. The hosts, Blaine and Peter, were super nice and made us feel just like at home. It was really great to have discussions with them and other guests in the morning! Blaine and Peter were relaxed and helpful at all times, and gave us plenty of information regarding what to do in the city.

The B&B is conveniently located just outside the city "center", so there were no noise issues in the morning or at night. If you like to walk, it is easy and quick to walk to the downtown area (either through the streets or via the wonderful Vondelpark), and if you would rather take a tram, you just have to hop on tram 2. The connection to the airport is also very good (18mins on bus 197).

We highly recommend this B&B for anyone planning a trip to Amsterdam. Blaine and Peter, thank you so much for the great experience!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Blaine's B&B, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Jenn and Gab,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review here on Trip Advisor for other guests to read.

It was also nice having you stay with is. We hope you can make it back to Amsterdam again and stay with us once again!

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Blaine's B&B is located just south of Central Amsterdam, and is conveniently serviced by public transport such as buses or trams, which run to Central or South Station (direct connections to Schiphol Airport).
I stayed in the Aubergine room, which was nicely furnished. I had to share the bathroom and WC with another room on the same floor. The bathroom is great, but the WC is really tiny.
Either Peter or Blaine (or both) prepares the breakfast, which is a filling selection of breads, jams, cheeses, deli meats and yoghurt. On Sunday, Blaine served up an extra special "English Breakfast Salad", which was delicious.
Peter & Blaine also own a restaurant in the trendy Jordaan area, and as guests, you get to eat at their restaurant at VERY special prices. The food and service was excellent too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Blaine's B&B, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear MLA,

Thanks for posting a review here of your stay with us in Amsterdam.

We enjoyed having you stay with us and hearing about your world travels. We also used to travel a good bit, but now let people come to us and tell us about their travels.

Yes the WC ( water closet) is what it says and a bit small, but then again it serves it's purpose!

If you make it back to Amsterdam, please look us up!

Have a great summer

Blaine & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I were headed to Amsterdam for the week of Queens day, and little did we know how busy the city would be! We got in contact with many B&Bs in the city, but Blaine's was our top choice- in a wonderful part of Amsterdam away from the fuss and touristy side of the busy city center, but just a quick bike ride or lovely walk through Vondelpark. Blaine and Peter made us feel very welcomed, and it soon felt like a second home- we stayed for a full week and every morning Breakfast was different and well prepared for a full table of travelers. Blaine and Peter always took time to chat and offer advice, leading us to explore some wonderful parts of Holland we never would have known of. The house itself is great, (we stayed in the Asian room) and the outside area on the top floor is perfect for a sunny afternoon. Overall- we were sad to leave and recommend this B&B to anyone who wants the 'real' Amsterdam experience with down to earth and welcoming hosts!

Tip: Peter and Blaine's restaurant Seasons is wonderful! The food and decor is spot on, and we will definitely be returning for dinner next time we visit the city :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Blaine's B&B, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear RachGif,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review here for other travelers to see.

You summed up exactly what we try to offer our guests. We are not a Hotel and try to refrain even a little from the word of "Bed and Breakfast". It is our home, where we think of guests as "friends / family" sharing the house with us for a few days, a place to come "home" to at the end of a day.

We are very happy to hear that you felt at home and we hope that your travels bring you back through!

All the best,

Blaine & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was a good experience. Reasonably priced, natural friendliness, cozy discussions at breakfast. Every time I went exploring the city, there was a good feeling after sharing a wholesome and varied breakfast, it felt like I would need nothing more to eat until late afternoon. The room was nice and all in style, everything in order and just so. The roof terrace was a nice bonus, even if it was windy and rained at times. The hosts manage to create a small-family feeling among their guests and show a relaxed and helpful attitude at all times. Since they also are running a small restaurant, you can wonder how they achieve this. Guests who stay for a few nights are entitled to a free dinner and, believe me, the food is very good. On the whole, this proved to be my best B and B experience so far. Blaine and Peter, thanxx for your company those five days. May your B and B prosper and your restaurant always be comfortably attended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Blaine's B&B, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Eirarhj,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review here for other travelers to see. It was also nice having you stay with us in our B&B.

It was nice to hear that you felt like there was a "small family feeling" in the house. That is what we strive for!

We do hope to see you again in future returns as you did mention there was a lot more for you to see!

Kind regards

Blaine & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I spent a night in the loft room with a couple and their yong son, and we all really liked it. Blaine and Peter are a lovely couple and they take care of you in the best of ways. Clean and nicely decorated. If you stay in the loft room, you also have a very easy access to a beatiful roof terrace, again very nicely decorated. Good breakfast in a charming kitchen and Blaine takes very good care of you. The place is not located in the immediate city center, but getting into the busy areas does not take very long.

Room Tip: If staying in the loft room you can just walk straight out on the lovely roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Blaine's B&B, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Carl,

Thanks for posting a review here for other guests to see. You got the place pretty well summed up.

That roof terrace is nice, just helps if the weather would co-operate a little more! It is a great addition in the summer! I am glad that you pointed out that while not in the city center it takes no time to get there. That is really why we like this location.

You mentioned while you were here that you should get back as you have friends staying in Amsterdam...we do hope you make it back!

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blaine's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaine's B&B

Address: Rijnsburgstraat 24 III, 1059 AV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blaine's B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blaine's B&B to your Saves list