We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at home after your first night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blaine's B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blaine's B&B
Save
You added Blaine's B&B to your Saves list
Rijnsburgstraat 24 III, 1059 AV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Fredrikstad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Feel at home after your first night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was a good experience. Reasonably priced, natural friendliness, cozy discussions at breakfast. Every time I went exploring the city, there was a good feeling after sharing a wholesome and varied breakfast, it felt like I would need nothing more to eat until late afternoon. The room was nice and all in style, everything in order and just so. The roof terrace was a nice bonus, even if it was windy and rained at times. The hosts manage to create a small-family feeling among their guests and show a relaxed and helpful attitude at all times. Since they also are running a small restaurant, you can wonder how they achieve this. Guests who stay for a few nights are entitled to a free dinner and, believe me, the food is very good. On the whole, this proved to be my best B and B experience so far. Blaine and Peter, thanxx for your company those five days. May your B and B prosper and your restaurant always be comfortably attended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Blaine's B&B, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Eirarhj,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review here for other travelers to see. It was also nice having you stay with us in our B&B.

It was nice to hear that you felt like there was a "small family feeling" in the house. That is what we strive for!

We do hope to see you again in future returns as you did mention there was a lot more for you to see!

Kind regards

Blaine & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    18
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
44
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I spent a night in the loft room with a couple and their yong son, and we all really liked it. Blaine and Peter are a lovely couple and they take care of you in the best of ways. Clean and nicely decorated. If you stay in the loft room, you also have a very easy access to a beatiful roof terrace, again very nicely decorated. Good breakfast in a charming kitchen and Blaine takes very good care of you. The place is not located in the immediate city center, but getting into the busy areas does not take very long.

Room Tip: If staying in the loft room you can just walk straight out on the lovely roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Blaine's B&B, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Carl,

Thanks for posting a review here for other guests to see. You got the place pretty well summed up.

That roof terrace is nice, just helps if the weather would co-operate a little more! It is a great addition in the summer! I am glad that you pointed out that while not in the city center it takes no time to get there. That is really why we like this location.

You mentioned while you were here that you should get back as you have friends staying in Amsterdam...we do hope you make it back!

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed by Peter who took the time to show us how to get around and where to access public transport into the city centre in addition to other points of interest. Our room (the Asian room) was very clean, tastefully decorated, our bed comfy, and the shared bathrooms were always clean and never occupied. The highlight of this B&B for us though was the outstanding the breakfast. Fresh juice, good coffee, warm rolls and croissants and premium seasonal fruits are just the beginning of what we were offered both mornings of our stay. Only took 20 minutes (door to Dam) to the city centre from the B&B and was also easy to access to and from Schipol. The area was safe and there was a supermarket nearby which was really convenient. Overall, staying at Blaine's B&B, felt like staying at a friend's home where there was always a little something extra to appreciate and enjoy about our stay. Will not only recommend highly to friends and family visiting Amsterdam - but will most definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Blaine H, Owner at Blaine's B&B, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Mireille & Kate,

Thanks so much for your kind words here on TripAdvisor. You really summed up your stay with us well and pretty much covered all the points well.

We enjoyed having you both at the B&B and the chats at Breakfast! We started this business to have travelers come through our home and you ladies really fit the bill. Good Luck with your "blog" or whichever you take it!

Go for your dreams and we hope to see you again here soon!

Blaine & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It was a real pleasure to be in this B&B and I am recommending both the B&B and the restaurant to all my family and friends visiting Amsterdam. All what I can say is that during our stay we had the feeling that we were like at home in a very familiar and relaxed environment. Breakfast every day were awesome; besides visiting the Season's restaurant in the city for having dinner was fantastic and for us the cherry on the cake for our visit to Amsterdam. Thanks a lot for everything. Juan&Cris

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Blaine's B&B, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Juan and Cris,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review here for other TripAdvisors to see.

We were glad to have you stay with us and glad you felt like it was home. We try to do a little more than a Bed and Breakfast and like to consider what we offer more of a "guest house". It is a house that we live in and share with travelers from around the world. We enjoy our morning breakfasts around the large breakfast table learning about each other, finding out what people did the day before and setting plans for the day. Everyday is a different day.

We do hope we might see you both again and your family and friends.

Kind regards

Blaine & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have stayed in this Amsterdam BB already four times. We do not have any reason to try another because it is just perfect for us. The place is very clean and comfortable, breakfast is suberb with fresh ingredients and always exeptionally tasty. Peter & Blaine are very nice and helpful hosts. The BB is situated next to a canal about 10 min tram ride from the city center with only few minutes walk to the tram stop. A short walk to Vondelpark and shops nearby make it perfect and peaceful location. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Blaine's B&B, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Tirrio.

Thanks for taking time to write a review here on Trip Advisor. As you mentioned we must be doing something right if you have visited us 4 times.

We are glad to see that you mentioned the location of the B&B. Often guests get worried that we are too far out of the city center. As you point out it is far enough and close enough all in the same breath. We have been at this location for over 12 years and have had no desire to move into the city center. A little too busy for us.

Hope you get to try that Banana Bread Recipe soon. If not we will have it for you when you come to see us next year!

Happy Easter

Blaine & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I needed last minute accommodation to suit our trip to an event at the Sporthallen Zuid, so I contacted Blaine's B&B a few days before our arrival and they were happy to have us with such short notice. They responded straight away and welcomed our late checkin at 9.30pm.

To our pleasant surprise, we were upgraded to the loft room for no extra charge!!! We were blown away by the spacious and well equipped room: large dining and tv/lounge area, separate bathroom/toilet, upstairs loft for the big COMFY bed, coffee and tea facilities, and a gorgeous outdoor balcony area! We were in heaven and it was the best way to unwind after a busy fortnight of travel. Everything was spotless and clean, and the room was warm during our snowy visit. Our towels were changed daily and we were able to use their laundry to wash our clothes.

Every morning we were served a huge breakfast with freshly-baked croissants and breads and brewed coffee, as well as juice, fruit, yoghurt, crisp breads, cereals, spreads, cheeses and meats. We couldn't believe how well we were fed for the price we paid!!! But on top of this, we were given a complimentary 3 course meal at their affiliate restaurant "Seasons"... Please check my review of this restaurant here: http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d697013-r146573637-Seasons_Restaurant-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html#REVIEWS

The B&B overlooks a canal in a quiet, residential area yet is only a short tram ride to the centre of Amsterdam. It was so peaceful at night.

We cannot recommend this B&B enough, we were treated like royalty and will be staying here when we return to Holland. Thank you so much to Maya, Blaine and Peter for making our introduction to NL perfect! Well done on providing excellent service, we cannot thank you enough

Room Tip: The loft is perfect if you want privacy and spaciousness
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Definitely the best B&B I have stayed in in Amsterdam. The house is beautiful (we stayed in the Loft and between the 3 of us probably spent less than we would have in a hostel in centraal!) you'll enjoy clean sheets and spotless surfaces, big Dutch-style breakfasts and informed guidance from both Blaine & Peter. Don't be afraid to stay on the outskirts of the city - Amsterdam is tiny and you'll find your way to the city centre & back home by foot/tram in no time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blaine's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaine's B&B

Address: Rijnsburgstraat 24 III, 1059 AV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blaine's B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.