We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alfa Plantage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Alfa Plantage to your Saves list
Hotel Alfa Plantage
Plantage Middenlaan 26, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The rooms are tidy and clean - the staff were more than welcome to help when asked questions. We were first checked into a room at the top but because I was tall the shower was uncomfortable for me since the roof was slanted. I was moved to another room the next day and enjoyed the rest of my stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    27
    36
    29
    18
See reviews for
8
54
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

If you want a smoking room in Amsterdam this is ideal.Because by law all hotels are non smoking, the receptionist will say it's not. Room situated in the eaves of the house with skylight ventilation. Not too far from Centraal Station, supermarkets and other attractions. A pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Very decent modest hotel. Kind and helpful people at the desk. They took time to answer all kind of questions about transport, musea etc. Helped with the luggage.
Quiet location. Near public transport.
Small room but very clean. Good beds.

Good shower, but no space to put down any toilet articles or to hang the towels.

Our impression is that people are doing their best to up-grade a former worn-out hotel. We think they will have a chance to make that come true in
the near future.






  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I really want to start with the few positives, as the majority is going to sound negative. What also has to be taken into account, is the hotel is in Amsterdam which is relatively expensive compared to the rest of Europe. But at the same time on face value here is my review;

We checked into the room after arriving at 7am in Amsterdam from Sydney via Malaysia with a 10 month old, so we really appreciated that they had the room ready including the baby cot. The bathroom was a decent size and very clean. The reception team were very friendly and knowledgeable about the local surroundings and Amsterdam in general.

Transport is actually relatively easy though it’s a little out of the centre, really close to the zoo. Take the No.9 tram from Amsterdam Central (which kind of goes more vertical across or the No.14 tram which travels more across town.

Now for the bad.

This hotel was so run down and whether it was the wall paper peeling off, the baby cot which fell apart the third day (with the babe inside, he’s okay). The room being exceptionally small (though probably normal for Amsterdam). The rooms were also damn, and rather hot and sticky. The heating was set on too hot but didn’t take away the humidity or dry out the room – unless you open the window to 6C fresh air, you feel like you’re in sauna.

Toiletries are not replenished at all, only once per stay on arrival. We stayed for 4 nights.

For those with heavy luggage and there are a few narrow stairs to negotiate before you get to the lift. This was a major drawback every day with our pram (push chair) and baby. Once you get the lift, it only fits the push chair and a very thin person, so the second person either has to wait or take the stairs.

Last negatives is City Tax, though I know Hotels have to charge this, it did come as a surprise at checkout. Many hotels have a sign on the front desk so it’s clear to the customer on check in and you can be prepared for it.

Sadly I would not recommend this hotel, even when you compare it only to Amsterdam Hotels.

Room Tip: We were facing the Tram tracks and road, though it was noisey, it wasn't too bad. Though we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I arranged a trip for 18 friends to stay at this hotel whilst in Amsterdam. The recent reviews worried me immensely to the point where I tried my best to find another hotel right up to the day before we left. Upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised! This hotel was exactly what I was looking for. Rooms were small but clean, friendly staff, perfect location, great cafe opposite....couldn't have asked for much more for our trip. Don't be put off by recent reviews unless you are a couple wanting a romantic trip with room service and bubbles in a bath. I've stayed in some great hotels but you're in Dam and for a group of friends this place is great. Perfect for a place to sleep!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alfa Plantage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfa Plantage

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 26, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alfa Plantage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Plantage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alfa Plantage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;