We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alfa Plantage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alfa Plantage to your Saves list
Hotel Alfa Plantage
Plantage Middenlaan 26, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #327 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was not cheap at all, and I had expected a higher standard. Positive was that the staff was very friendly and helpfull. The rooms were small and we had to move rooms because of some mixed up bookings. Bathroom small, but clean and fairly new. The room itself low standard and no meals availablle,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    28
    39
    30
    24
See reviews for
9
58
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel has been quite good, but the price wasn't the same price was showed in your site. When I've reserved the room I ask for paying at the location, and once arrived at the hotel I had to pay 400€ instead 296€ shown in your site. This is strange, don't you?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ok firstly, I never write reviews but people should know about this hotel. It's disgraceful.

- 3 slugs I had to remove from the walls (Yes slugs, those slimey things that belong outside in the garden)
- 1 massive spider I had to remove from the outside facing door (it was huge)
- there were around 20 woodlice crawling around the floor/skirting boards and behind bed
- the wood skirting on the floor was moulded and falling apart/off
- the room smelt of damp and was cold. I would sweat at night through the damp and it caused me a cough
- the air conditioning could not be used to heat the room because it smelt awful when switched on
- the whole floor we stayed on smelt like damp and was cold
- our towels had many holes in them
- the wood around the bottom of the floor was in terrible condition. mouldy and flakey pain
there was a dirty tissue left on the desk when we arrived
- there were many black flakes of dirt underneath the bed sheets on the mattress
- the mattress was brown stained badly
- the bin in the bathroom was rusty and flaking off
- the view out of the window was of a complement dingy dumping ground. falling apart wooden children's apparatus and overgrown weeds.
- the walls were falling apart and badly repaired
- the room was dark and depressing with one single gloomy ceiling light
- the facilities and furniture were shockingly old
- the free wi-fi would cut out and not work
- when I complained that I had spent nearly two-hundred euros on this room the reply i got was 'We're still the cheapest in the area'
- the staff would not help us or move us to another room
- the manager would not reply to my email / complaint

Please see the photo evidence that i have attached and make up your own mind.

My advice to you. Spend a bit more and get a clean hotel. This is a shocking hotel. So dirty and battered.

I'm still shocked a week after leaving.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay somewhere else in Amsterdam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Remember the price and don't set unrealistic expectations. The hotel isn't far from the centre and is well connected via trams. Location is quiet. Not many places around but the cafe opposite and Japanese restaurant on the corner are nice enough.
The rooms are an ok-size and clean with towels and toiletries and hairdryers. There is also free Wi-Fi which is a big bonus.
First impression was negative as the hotel manager was very abrupt and shouted for us to leave the door open, but he kind of redeemed himself later with directions and information.
The rooms smell a bit of weed but hey, you're in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alfa Plantage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfa Plantage

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 26, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EasyToBook, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Alfa Plantage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Plantage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alfa Plantage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.