We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average and still improvable during the time of our stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very average and still improvable during the time of our stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have been with the whole family to this hotel many years ago in the past. It is very likely that some changes or renovations have been made already in the last years. We remember that it was a very average middle-class hotel and the furniture looked old and worn already during our stay. The housekeeping could also have cleaned the room much better, as we found some dust in the room and some hairs in the beds. At that time, after our stay, we wrote a letter to Best Western and we received some extra points on our account of the Best-Western loyalty program, for giving our suggestions for improvements. The location is quite nice. During the time of our visit, once a guest checked-out, the next new guest was waiting already with his luggage for the free room, so it was a busy time for the hotel, during summer travel peak season. It was everything not bad at all, but very average and still improvable at the time of our visit. An average and improvable experience. The staff was more or less friendly, especially the front-desk agents, but they had very much to do, as the hotel was really very busy during the spring and summer month with many international guests from all over the world. I think that the housekeeping often had a minimum of time available only, to prepare the rooms for the next guests.

Room Tip: our rooms used to be quite okay and we did not notice any noise, so we think that all rooms are more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    473
    213
    50
    32
See reviews for
141
418
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for a short, two night break in mid December 2014. The hotel is in a good central location and easy to get to from the airport. It is also close to the Leidseplein area, which is handly for both shops and the many pubs, restaurants and clubs for a night out.
This does have some draw backs as there were was much coming and going through the night with groups of young people coming back from a night out and which disturbed our sleep.
The hotel was clean but had seen better days and now requires a face lift. Breakfast was good value but as there are many cafeterias close by we chose to eat breakfast out side of the hotel.
Overall a good located hotel which gets a 4 out of 5 mark from ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

One thing that continues to bug me about some hotels is the way they distrust their guests; this can be seen in many different ways, but two obvious examples are coat hangers that don’t have a ‘hook’ but a device that basically makes the hanger useless to any potential thief (ie, there’s no way it can be used to ‘hang’ clothes from). The second is the empty or locked mini bar. With the latter, especially if it’s locked, I always get a distinct feeling that somebody thinks I’m not to be trusted. In other words, I’m the sort of person that would ransack the minibar and then deny I consumed any of the contents when I check out the following morning or at the end of my stay. As for coat hangers, who would be so desperate?

But outside of these two obvious markers that pinpoint the hotel in question’s distrust of its clientele, there is something else that I find just as irksome. In many ways it’s the worst of the lot and it normally happens after I’ve made a few international telephone calls. The audacity in question is normally disguised by an envelope slid quietly under my hotel room door while I’m out or asleep, but normally a day or two BEFORE I check out – an unnecessary reminder that I owe them money and they haven’t forgotten.

However, what I found absolutely infuriating and downright insulting was the phone call I received from the front desk (who must have clocked me coming into the building). As soon as I arrived in my room the phone started to ring. It’s normally quite worrying when the hotel room phone rings, especially if nobody knows where I am bar my wife. While in one sense I was relieved to hear the voice of the woman on the front desk, I soon found myself feeling very angry with what she said, which was something along the lines of “we noticed you’d made two international calls at a total cost of EUR90 and that you’re checking out tomorrow so we thought we’d let you know that we know so don’t try to walk out without paying.” I felt like saying I’ll pay it tomorrow morning when I check out, which, as far as I know, is the procedure adopted by most hotels, but it was clear that the purpose of the phone call was to get the money upfront so that the hotel was not out of pocket. I also felt like saying, “Do you think I look like the sort of person that would walk off without paying a bill?” I didn’t bother.

However, one thing it does give the hotel is a big black mark from me and a recommendation from me not to bother if you’re considering staying at the hotel (I’m sure there are better places in Amsterdam).

The room was fine, although the bathroom was a little cramped, but everything else was okay: tall windows, a fairly comfortable bed, a desk and free WiFi. Everything worked so no complaints there, but there was no restaurant, which is always a nuisance, and the breakfast was appalling and by that I mean non-descript. I had cereal, yoghurt and fresh fruit. The cereal was fine, the yoghurt as standard, but the fresh fruit was tired and unappealing to look at; I’m guessing it was from a tin.

There was also a roughness about the hotel that I didn’t like and a precarious staircase that was too steep in my opinion and not for those unsteady on their feet (not that I count myself in that number).

Like a lot of hotels it served a purpose (a bed for the night) but that attitude surrounding my phone bill jarred a bit.

In its favour – but then could I expect anything else from a hotel in Amsterdam? – it did hire out bikes for EUR15 cash, but even there they adopted the attitude of distrust. The money couldn’t be put on the room and they wanted it as soon as I got back from my ride (I had no cash when I booked the bike). Once again it felt as if they thought I was not to be trusted. I should have told them to stuff their bike where the sun didn’t shine and gone elsewhere, but again, I’m too polite.
In summary, this hotel does the job, the rooms are fine but the attitude stinks. I won’t rebook in a hurry. In fact I doubt I’ll ever go back there.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was excellent. But no porter service. Breakfast was good and hotel is a walking distance from shopping area.
The room was nice and toilet was clean. The staff were very friendly and always greet us every time we met.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all, the room we got didn't look like the pictures of the room the hotel shows on their website. Everything looked old, moldy and there was a sewer stench coming from the bathroom. Good thing we only needed the room to sleep, because the beds are great. The location of the hotel is close to the Leidseplein, which is very convenient for a night out.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is located in a nice quiet area very near to Leidseplein. The rooms are decent size and clean. The water in the bath had absolutely no pressure and was going from very hot to very cold unexpectedly all the days. You can not have a decent shower.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiltern Hills UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Here at the beginning of December,as I was two years ago.And again high up in a room at the rear of the building overlooking an area of high terraced buildings.
The heating was welcome against the characteristic Amsterdam wintry snap.The place is in a quiet location sufficiently far away from main courses and trams to make the sylvan setting seem suburban.It's good for easy walking into the city centre or along canal arrondissemonts.Streets of varied eating places are easily accessible even on perishing evenings.Recommended is the bus to and from Schipol,caught a two minute walk away.
Breakfasts-extra-were perfectly reasonable.The room was of credible quality,though it lacked a bath.And it would have benefited from television instuctions and listings:I'm sure not everyone will appreciate being confronted whilst exploring channels with two very hard porn streams..

Room Tip: Rear of the hotel particularly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Address: Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel housed in 19th-century building within a short walk to Leidseplein, bars, nightclubs & the Municipal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ach Leidse Square Amsterdam
Hotel Ach Leidse Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.