We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fab hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

This hotel is in the leidseplein area. We have stayed in this area a couple of times, but normally at the Marriot or the NH Amsterdam so we were a bit aprehensive about stopping in a more of a budget hotel....anyhow....

The hotel was really easy to find. We arrived there early and they let us check into 1 of the rooms early, the other one wasn't ready (we had two rooms booked). The 1st room (which turned out to be the other members of our party) had a twin room (pushed together) it was a decent size and the bathroom was clean and tidy with a bath/shower and those little bottles of shampoo/shower gel. The room had a safe and tea/coffee facilities, this must be a new addition as previous reviews have said that they didn't have any. The room also had a tv with plenty of channels. When we got our room, it was a lot smaller than the other one. THis wasn't a problem for us, but there wasn't a lot of room to move around (although we've had a room in the NH Amsterdam that was about the same size and paid a lot more money for it). The bathroom was the same as the other room, was clean and a decent size with a bath/shower.
Breakfast was included in the room price and was a continental, it was really nice with a lot of choice of drinks and breads/pastries, yoghurts and a fruit bowl. On checking out, we were able to leave our luggage in a locked room until we needed to leave for our flight. The hotel had a bar but we never used this facitily.
THe reception staff were very helpful in any of our questions and would definately return to stay in this hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — No mini bar
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    475
    213
    50
    32
See reviews for
141
420
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

Straight to the point - Hotel was very, very nice. Clean, freindly service, excellent location - Just of Leidse Square (which in my opinion is a nicer area than the popular Dam Square, which isn't far away - 20min walk) Leidse Square is a 2-3 min walk from the hotel, but far enough away so it's in a quite area.
Leidse Square has dozens on dozens of restaurants and bars, along with main Canal Bus Stops, Road Bus Stops and Tram Stops. Perfect place to start exploring from.
Room was small but served the purpose we wanted, i.e. comfortable bed to sleep in, TV, bath and shower. Room also had a safe in it which was helpful. Overall price for the room was a bargain considering you are in a city and it's position. We would definately go back. Perfect little Gem.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast - it was a european breakfast in the hotel, no fry up - but plenty of bars/cafes around in walking distance to satisfy this crave.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

This little independant gem is a great hotel right in the centre of town on the Leidse Plain, 15 minutes walk from Dam square. We stayed here for Christmas and it was a lovely little hotel that had everthing we needed. Is 3-31/2 star quality but you do get what you pay for here and the location is perfect, especially for those wanting to see some of the museums and art galleries. Nice touch was the christmas gifts left for us by the staff, just a chocolate but a nice touch for a friendly hotel. Would stay again, beds good and rooms clean. Recommended

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

We were expecting a lot less than this basically!!

We got it very cheap on here (obv. this would depend when you go how long for etc) Anyway it was one of the cheapest ones we could find for the trip in a good area and the time we wanted to go, i think it worked out at about 150 quid for the both of us to stay for 3 nights.

We were dropped off by the hotel and actually thought they had dropped us off at the wrong place!! We saw pictures online and just thought that all pictures look a million times better than what its really like. We just hoped for basic and clean and maybe a decent breakfast!

it is in a really nice pretty area, near to Leidsplein where there are lots of bars and restaurants, but its not too manic and not noisy at all. The hotel is in a very quiet area across from a canal, tucked away on a quiet side street. i like to party but then i like to sleep so i like to stay somewhere quiet!

The room we had, yes it was small by some standards but we found it perfect for us. Some people would see it as small though, but there you go. It was nice and clean, very cosy. Bathroom could have done with a fan though as there was no window and it could get a bit stuffy and erm, smelly haha.

The bed...wow...didn't look much but it is the best bed we've ever slept in!!! Most hotels give you 90 million horrible scratchy blankets, but it had a big comfy duvet, was like sleeping in a cloud! better than my bed at home!! The room could get chilly (it was december so yeah it will) so we put the radiator on and it soon warmed up and was cosy and nice!

The breakfast was a continental buffet style, lots of choice of bread, cheeses and cold meats, boiled eggs, spreads, tea, coffee, juices. Don't expect full english breakfast, sorry but you're in europe so it may disappoint some but this is what they have on the continent. I love it myself, but it may not be to your taste. Oh yeah, and there was chocolate milkshake, which i loved!!

All in all this a really nice hotel for a couple on a tight budget that don't want to stay in a complete dump or miles out. very good value. I don't know what it would be like for other kind of traveler such as families but for a couple like us who are on a budget but want something a bit nice, go for it!

  • Liked — the bed, and breafast!!
  • Disliked — just need a fan in the bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

Front desk staff was very unfriendly and of no help at all. Very testy and ready to 'pick a fight' at any question or request. Like a previous reviewer, I too avoided the desk people at all costs. Why are they working with tourists if they are so disdainful and condescending and unhelpful?

Also, the bathtub is about 4 feet off the floor and very slippery and dangerous for children and older adults (or short-legged adults, like myself.)

Cleaning staff took away our shampoos instead of replenishing them. And the towels were skimpy and like sandpaper.

But, aside from the rude staff, the location was great for the price.
Breakfast, by the way: ugh. boiled eggs, cold cuts and the same old same old silos of dry cereal. After a couple of days of the exact same (boring) offerings it seems a waste to even get out of bed for it.
Also, beware that some rooms are basement/underground and the staff is pretty snooty about shoving you into them without apology or explanation. The next level is street level and right by the noisy bar and front desk. Again, don't ask to be moved to another room. They act like you are getting the room for free and if you refuse this room they can't get you another.

Overall, good budget choice but staff surliness is a real problem. Don't even ask for a map. And expect them to roll their eyes while you are talking. Really.

  • Liked — location, price
  • Disliked — the staff, the breakfast, the tub
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

If you're looking for an affordable place to stay near a lot of stuff, this hotel is pretty good. Of course, don't expect any niceties. The staff is a bit unfriendly and rather unhelpful, my mother and I had a couple "run-ins" with them. They seemed to like to argue or talk you around in circles until you just gave up. So, we just avoided them as much as possible!

That said, the hotel seemed clean and it was within walking distance of Leidseplein Square, museums (Van Gogh and Rijks), the Hard Rock, the Heineken brewery, Vondel Park, the casino and more.

Breakfast came with the room, but it was pretty boring...bread...lots of bread...meat, cheese, eggs, cereal...and it never changed. By the last day, we just skipped it altogether and went out to eat.

The only other thing I can think of is the towel situation. They were like sandpaper! And they gave you the bare minimum (2 big towels and 2 hand towels) and very few bath products (basically just soap and shampoo).

Overall, though, the price paired with the location made for a decent stay.

  • Liked — It was all about location, location, location and price.
  • Disliked — The staff and the towels.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

Stayed at the Leidse Square for 6 nights. I got quite a good rate as I contacted the hotel directly.

The location is really very nice in a quit Amsterdam street, just minutes away from the Leidse plein and public transport. All the museums are walking distance as well as the canals.

The rooms are what you expect, everything you need and clean.

The staff are great they really make the extra effort. The bar is also a nice place to have a few drinks before hitting the town.

Breakfast is free (included in the price) also all you can eat and expect.

Really an excellent choice for a good price.

Only this hotel doesn't have only one star, I would think three would be a better rating.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — No free internet
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Address: Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel housed in 19th-century building within a short walk to Leidseplein, bars, nightclubs & the Municipal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ach Leidse Square Amsterdam
Hotel Ach Leidse Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.