We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for Museums, Friendly staff,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for Museums, Friendly staff,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Myself and wife stayed here for 4 nights and were very comfortable in a quiet, good sized room with nice big windows. The shower was also excellent. Staff were very helpful. We did not eat here so can't comment on breakfast, etc. Leidesplein Sq has so many restaurants close by no problem eating out. We wanted to see all the Museums and most were on the doorstop but even a walk to the Ann Frank was no problem, pleasant 20min walk alonfg the canals.

The Internet was very intermittant when browsing but got the job done.

Overall we would recommend this hotel and use again on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    475
    213
    50
    32
See reviews for
141
420
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leigh-on-sea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Getting to this hotel couldn't be simpler, we travelled by bus. The bus stops are located just outside the arrivals exit, and are at bus stops B9-B13. The bus you need is the 197. you can buy the tickets before boarding and they are 5 euros each. The bus has a speaker system and it is really easy, the stop you need is the Leidesplein stop . When getting out of the bus, turn around and you will see the Marriott hotel and to the left of that is a club med building. Walk down the road that is in between them, and the hotel is just around the bend, no more than a 4 min walk!

We arrived at 10am, and was pleased to see the room was ready. We were given a map, and in reception, it has guides and leaflets to anywhere in Amsterdam. Our room was on the second floor, facing out onto a residential street. The room although dated, was adequate, and the beds are so soft and comfy. The is a safe which is free to use. You have a TV, plenty of electrical sockets, Kettle and tea and coffee making facilities, which if you run out, just nip down to reception where they will replenish it. The bathroom was a bath with shower attachment, which was far more powerful than my power shower at home. They provide you with shower gel, body lotion, soap, shower cap and shampoo. I like my own shampoo, but as i didn't know what they provided i took everything. Next time i will just take my toothbrush, toothpaste and shampoo. the TV had BBC1 and BBC2, which was great as well as many other european channels.

The breakfast which was included in our price, was fantastic. It consisted of scrambled egg and either sausage or bacon. A large variety of breads and rolls, croissants, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, muffins and buns, jams, yoghurt's etc. The drinks were orange/apple/grapefruit juice, all teas and coffees. We never went without and it really set us up for the day.

I think there have been negative comments for a few reasons, as yes the place is dated, and it has lots of different floor levels (due to the age of the building). But other than that i cannot see how you can justify the bad comments. The hotel is clean, food is great, location is superb if you want to get away from the mayhem in the centre of Amsterdam. Bedrooms are fully equipped, comfortable and clean.

If you need any more info please contact me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed here in November, after seeing the excellent reviews online. We certainly werent disappointed! The staff were extremely friendly, rooms were spacious, comfortable and equipped with everything we needed for our three night stay. We plan to return to Amsterdam this year and the Best Western Leidse Square will definitely be our first choice hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here for two nights,
good location, only a ten minute walk or so into all the main streets. When you exit the airport get the number 197 bus and get off at leidseplein,then it's just a tram ride away,however, I had deleted the email with the Street address, I knew the name of the hotel, must have stopped 20 ppl but no one could help us! Got here eventually, very flustered! Was my own fault! It's actually not that long ago walk we just didn't know where we going! Bus only 5euro, think about taxi is 35euro. Room basic enough, watch the step going into the bathroom we kept stubbing our toes on it!! Most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! Shower was great too, really hot & good power, no bath.Tv has the English channels, not that you'll be watching alot! Room has aircon too! Hotel decor in general is very dated and a bit scruffy but for the price who cares! We didn't eat here as wasn't in our package.if its a good location with a cheap price then stay here if not there a lots of more modern hotels in the same area! The hotel also has free wifi in all the rooms which is brilliant! Amsterdam is an amazing city so many restaurants, great shops and museums! I recommend the sex museum its an eye opener!! :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel has a very good standard of accommodation, and is in an ideal location for both airport transfer and exploring the many sights of Amsterdam. Staff are friendly and helpful, they will provide you with a map of the city on arrival, with the attractions clearly marked. The room was serviced ever day, and a hospitality tray is provided.

This hotel is in the 'museum district', so is handy for the van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum. The Red Light District, Dam Square and Ann Frank House is approximately 25 mins on foot, but as you are admiring the architecture and canals on the way, the journey passes quickly!

For traveling, get the 197 bus from Schipol, costs 5 euros per adult and takes about 30 mins, to the Leidsplein stop. The display on the bus clearly tells you what stop is next. When you get off the bus, the Marriot hotel will be behind you. Head towards it, and the hotel is on the street behind it. When heading to Dam Square, follow Leidestraat until it curves to the left, turn right onto Spui, and when you reach Rokin turn left and keep going straight ahead. We made the mistake of wandering down side streets and got lost. For Ann Frank House, follow Leidestraat until Prinsengraacht, turn left and just keep going straight until you reach it.

For your return to the airport, the buses are regular, reliable and start from 5am. BE CAREFUL with trams, cars appearing from side streets, and the many cyclists who whizz around like lightning. The area appears to be pedestrianised.....it's not!

One tip for eating out...the area has probably the biggest selection of restaurants in Amsterdam, and the owners are very competitive with each other. Walk down Leidseplein at night and you will probably be stopped by several staff standing outside the restaurant, trying to pressure you to come inside. This is at best annoying, and at worst downright intimidating, so it is a good idea to have a firm plan in your mind as to what type of food you are after and head there directly. If you are wandering slowly and looking around, you are an ideal target for hopeful patrons.

I'm sure you will have a great stay at this hotel!!

Room Tip: We had room 355. The hotel has a lift, but there are a few steep steps down to your actual room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

WE booked this hotel from Canada based on reviews and location, as we had never been to Amsterdam before. Arrived at the airport, found our bus which dropped us off about about a 8 min walk from hotel. Staff were fantastic, let us check in early and out room was clean, warm and the beds were comfortable. We decided to purchase breakfast for the following morning which was a very good value and convenient. Staff made suggestions for dinner, which was very helpful. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed in a three bed room over a long weekend. Great location, near the square and within walking distance to all the sights - or right near a tram stop, if you don't want to walk. Check in was quick and easy, the staff very friendly and helpful (with directions and booking taxis etc.) and all spoke excellent English. Happy hour in the bar is 5-6pm - half price beer and wine!

The room was just big enough and the beds VERY comfy, with two large pillows (such a rarity in hotels!) and our towels etc were refreshed even when we did not get the full maid service. Overall a great choice, especially for the bargain price we paid, and we loved the local area.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Address: Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel housed in 19th-century building within a short walk to Leidseplein, bars, nightclubs & the Municipal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ach Leidse Square Amsterdam
Hotel Ach Leidse Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.