We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location and very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is well located to Leidesplein for tram and restaurants. We got the 197 bus from just outside the airport for €5 single to Leidseplein. The rooms were very clean with plenty of toiletries. We had booked 2 rooms, a triple for the kids which was very big and a double which was suitable for us. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. Very handy to many good restaurants. We used a supermarket on Overtoom just under the Hotel Abba.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

9 of us were staying in Amsterdam for one night before moving onto Purmerend and this Hotel suited us all very well indeed - it was not too far out of central Amsterdam if you fancied a reasonable walk, which we did on Friday evening. The rooms were clean and tidy with tea and coffee making facilities. I would use this Hotel again.

Room Tip: None of us had a problem with any of the 5 rooms that we had booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernadetteHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Hotel in quiet area but 1 main away from square with bars and restaurants. Went to see a gig at mekkweg looked for a cheap hotel found this and was really pleased with it.bus 197 from airport 5e to liedse stop.onboard display screen tells you what next stop is.easy.look for Marriott (can't miss it) hotel just behind.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mesaparrados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and found the hotel excellent value for money. It is in the perfect location, only a few minutes walk from the Rijksmuseum and five minutes from bars and restaurants. Better still, it's in a quiet side street, so unlike a lot of big city hotels, it was very peaceful at night. The room was fine - clean and comfortable and the staff at reception were very helpful. Catch the 197 bus from Schipol and it drops you close by. We would definitely choose the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have just stayed here for 3 nights and don't think we could have found a better hotel ! It's located on a quiet side street so no problem with traffic noise but it's only a 5 min walk from Leidse Square with it's bars,restaurants and shops,It's also very handily placed for Museum square and the Heineken Experience,prob only a 10 or 15 min walk.
The rooms are a bit on the small side but comfortable and well equipped,let's face it you won't be spending a lot of time in it anyway

Room Tip: Rooms 1-7 are below ground level,our was ground level and we could't open window,so it got a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dukeking26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife and the hotel suited our needs perfectly!

Got bus 197 from the airport and it drops you off 200m away from hotel. Hotel in quiet location but bars and restaurants nearby so you're not too far from the hustle and bustle. Bed was comfy, shower was excellent and plenty tv channels too. Staff very good as well.

I'll definitely stay here on my next trip to Amsterdam.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gss1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Myself and partner have just returned from a 2 nights stay at this hotel and were totally impressed.
Upon checking in, we were told that the company who we had booked the hotel through had gone bust and our reservation was cancelled. The staff were fantastic with us. Even though it was through no fault of theirs, they searched for other hotels for us... Given the fact of how friendly and welcoming they were, especially Koen and Martine, myself and partner decided to simply stay where we had originally booked!
The location was excellent, literally a 3 minute walk from Leidse sq tram stop. It's in a very quiet location but only a 15-20 min walk to Dam square or hop on the tram which will take you 5 mins!
The rooms were very spacious and spotlessly clean, the bathroom was huge but my only gripe was the shower was extremely small... Nothing worth moaning about, just my personal preference!
Due to our misfortune, Koen on reception had decided that he would very kindly throw breakfast in for free for both days! The breakfast was well worth getting up for. A large selection of cold meats, cheese, breads, croissants and also bacon, sausage and eggs! Plenty of choice and very tasty!
The coffee was also very nice.
The hotel corridors are very dated and fashioned but who the hell cares when you have amazing staff and lovely rooms!?!
We both felt like we left the hotel with the staff being our friends. I've never met a bunch of reception staff who were so helpful and willing for their guests to enjoy their stay so much... So much so that we are already planning our next trip to Amsterdam and will CERTAINLY be booking this hotel again!
Enjoy Your Stay!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tofty75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#148 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Vondelpark
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#160 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#139 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Esspresso
Hotel Esspresso
#94 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Prinsen Hotel
#233 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Address: Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel housed in 19th-century building within a short walk to Leidseplein, bars, nightclubs & the Municipal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ach Leidse Square Amsterdam
Hotel Ach Leidse Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing