We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

9 of us were staying in Amsterdam for one night before moving onto Purmerend and this Hotel suited us all very well indeed - it was not too far out of central Amsterdam if you fancied a reasonable walk, which we did on Friday evening. The rooms were clean and tidy with tea and coffee making facilities. I would use this Hotel again.

Room Tip: None of us had a problem with any of the 5 rooms that we had booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    472
    199
    45
    32
See reviews for
122
364
49
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Hotel in quiet area but 1 main away from square with bars and restaurants. Went to see a gig at mekkweg looked for a cheap hotel found this and was really pleased with it.bus 197 from airport 5e to liedse stop.onboard display screen tells you what next stop is.easy.look for Marriott (can't miss it) hotel just behind.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and found the hotel excellent value for money. It is in the perfect location, only a few minutes walk from the Rijksmuseum and five minutes from bars and restaurants. Better still, it's in a quiet side street, so unlike a lot of big city hotels, it was very peaceful at night. The room was fine - clean and comfortable and the staff at reception were very helpful. Catch the 197 bus from Schipol and it drops you close by. We would definitely choose the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We have just stayed here for 3 nights and don't think we could have found a better hotel ! It's located on a quiet side street so no problem with traffic noise but it's only a 5 min walk from Leidse Square with it's bars,restaurants and shops,It's also very handily placed for Museum square and the Heineken Experience,prob only a 10 or 15 min walk.
The rooms are a bit on the small side but comfortable and well equipped,let's face it you won't be spending a lot of time in it anyway

Room Tip: Rooms 1-7 are below ground level,our was ground level and we could't open window,so it got a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife and the hotel suited our needs perfectly!

Got bus 197 from the airport and it drops you off 200m away from hotel. Hotel in quiet location but bars and restaurants nearby so you're not too far from the hustle and bustle. Bed was comfy, shower was excellent and plenty tv channels too. Staff very good as well.

I'll definitely stay here on my next trip to Amsterdam.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Myself and partner have just returned from a 2 nights stay at this hotel and were totally impressed.
Upon checking in, we were told that the company who we had booked the hotel through had gone bust and our reservation was cancelled. The staff were fantastic with us. Even though it was through no fault of theirs, they searched for other hotels for us... Given the fact of how friendly and welcoming they were, especially Koen and Martine, myself and partner decided to simply stay where we had originally booked!
The location was excellent, literally a 3 minute walk from Leidse sq tram stop. It's in a very quiet location but only a 15-20 min walk to Dam square or hop on the tram which will take you 5 mins!
The rooms were very spacious and spotlessly clean, the bathroom was huge but my only gripe was the shower was extremely small... Nothing worth moaning about, just my personal preference!
Due to our misfortune, Koen on reception had decided that he would very kindly throw breakfast in for free for both days! The breakfast was well worth getting up for. A large selection of cold meats, cheese, breads, croissants and also bacon, sausage and eggs! Plenty of choice and very tasty!
The coffee was also very nice.
The hotel corridors are very dated and fashioned but who the hell cares when you have amazing staff and lovely rooms!?!
We both felt like we left the hotel with the staff being our friends. I've never met a bunch of reception staff who were so helpful and willing for their guests to enjoy their stay so much... So much so that we are already planning our next trip to Amsterdam and will CERTAINLY be booking this hotel again!
Enjoy Your Stay!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

There is no air conditioning, no breakfast, not close to central station. Quiet surrondings and clean room, but nothing more. Also, the place is full os stairs.. not good if you have suitcase. Its a good 40min walk til central station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Address: Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel housed in 19th-century building within a short walk to Leidseplein, bars, nightclubs & the Municipal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ach Leidse Square Amsterdam
Hotel Ach Leidse Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.