We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but so and so.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Western Rewards Rate
Ranked #162 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
bournemouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location but so and so.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This hotel is on the lower end of 3 stars. Its location is fantastic to visit both the museums just round the corner the shopping area on liedsplein and to walk to the city center. Reception staff was helpful and professional. The rooms are not great and there is an aura of not being cleaned properly. There was a reported complain about a blocked shower and nothing was done. Not great.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    564
    255
    64
    36
See reviews for
166
513
60
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We spent a weekend there, and we stayed in a room on the 3rd floor. The hotel is located near the busy Leidse Square, but is in a quiet street, near public transport, and within walking distance of the museum district. Our overall impression was very positive, as the room was clean, though a bit small. The staff were kind and helpful. The breakfast was adequate. All in all, it's good value for money, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
157 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The hotel is in a good location for a lot of the shops and food places, it's only 4 mins from the bus top which takes you directly to the airport which takes about 35 mins. It's a good walk to the red light district at about 40 mins but as long as it's not raining you'll get to see a lot more of the city that way. Whilst we got clean bobbing every morning the cleaner wasn't on the ball, we put a cake wrapper on the window sill on our second day and we noticed it was still there when we left, also the shower tray did not get the clean it should have. The breakfast is €11 if booked in advance and a little dearer if you just turn up. It's in a very quiet part of the town which is great for a good sleep and the staff are helpful and a new city map can be had every day, we were on the third floor but the lift meant this wasn't a problem, the twin beds weren't ideal and the room very small but it had tea/coffee kettle and a tv with 2 English channels, cnn and Comedy Central. You could do far worse than to stay here but if your after something nearer to the north of the town then you may want to look elsewhere

Room Tip: We were in room 306 which is on the back of the hotel overlooking a type of gardened court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My family and I stayed here recently. I thought this hotel was a very good value. It was in a great location between the museum district and the Leidsesquare. The public trolley system was nearby and there was a ticket office near the Liedsessquare. Also, within a short walk was a great selection of restaurants and shops. The Van Gogh museum was a 10-15 minute walk, as was the Rijksmuseum. The only real negative was the breakfast; just so-so and definitely not worth the price. However, there are a few very good pancake restaurants (Dutch pancakes) that are a short walk away. The staff was very nice and the room nice by European size standards.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Good service with friendly and helpful staff. They will book tickets to museums etc for you. Small but nice rooms in a great location. Hotel is clean but needs updating such as new carpets, wallpaper.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

While the rooms itself may "seem" minimal on the surface, when you're a visitor in a different country your primary reason for being there isn't to be a hotel inspector. For me the best part was the staff. From the moment I was greeted by Martine and the young lady working with her that afternoon (forgive me, her name escapes me at this time. I'm sorry) I had and enjoyable stay. I arrived on Monday the 6th at about 1pm or so, I was so exhausted from being up early that Sunday morning and my overnight flight in from New Jersey, and Martine could see it. She made it possible to get a room as soon as I got there, but to make matters a little worse I became a slight P.I.T.A because my initial room didn't have a tub, (I don't know about anybody else but I needs my tub, yes I know I said "needs") and she made it happen for me......awesome!!!
Second thing that impressed me was the very relaxed, yet ever professional mannerism of the staff I encountered, case in point, Koen. I initially went to the front desk to inquire about/pay for a possible phone charge to my bill and ended up talking to Koen for well over and hour. All the while during this conversation about culture, work, family, what the capital of Amsterdam was and that Nelson Mandela "guy" (you had to be there to understand what those last two were about), Koen continued to do his job of checking people in, answering questions and accommodating fussy clientele in a very professional and respectful manner, even if some of the clients weren't as respectful...... or bright.
While it did take me a bit of an effort to find it, considering it wasn't in plain view or advertised as well as the other surrounding hotels and no one I asked could tell me where it was, it was still a good location for walks around very beautiful neighborhoods and within walking distant to local pubs, shops, transportation, and entertainment. But as I've stated before, the very best part was the staff. The attentiveness that they give to their customers is great,(oh and thank you to the bar manager for the peanuts). Martine even recognized me on the morning I left standing at the bus stop and said goodbye as she rode her bike in on her way to work.
I just want to say "Thank you" to the entire staff and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were there twice in the past 2 weeks. The hotel is conveniently located about 5 min walk from Leidseplein, the bus connection to the airport and the many trams that cross through Amsterdam.

The room was comfortable and had both a shower and a bath. The hotel provided towels and toiletries. There was also a kettle with coffee and tea in the room. Everything was clean and neat. The staff was friendly and helpful. Although they serve breakfast at an additional cost, we never had breakfast there. We had internet access in the room which was very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#147 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Vondelpark
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#128 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#81 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Address: Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel housed in 19th-century building within a short walk to Leidseplein, bars, nightclubs & the Municipal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ach Leidse Square Amsterdam
Hotel Ach Leidse Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.