We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Not expensive, very cozy and just a few minutes walk from the leidspleine straße, which offers bars and restaurants and shops.
The staff is nice (like most people in Amsterdam) and will help you with whatever you need.
I don't know if the hotel offers breakfast, but we preferred to have a different kind if breakfast every morning in one of the local cafés.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    441
    189
    46
    30
See reviews for
132
378
50
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just stayed for Two nights. Hotel is clean and quiet. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Very close to Leidsplein square, which is great with its xmas theme and stalls. However, the hotel is a bit too far away from Dam square and the main buzz to walk all the time. Trams are very regular and cheap, so not a major problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I was impressed by the location to all the amenities, the trams took you anywhere from the great location of Leide square where you have a Hard Rock Cafe, lots of restaurants at hand and plenty of alcohol establishments if that's what you're after. The hotel was clean and breakfast was a good choice European style. Will visit again soon!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Good hotel in great location. Literally 5 minutes from leidsplein and all it has to offer.
We travelled in a group of 13 and were all placed on the same floor. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Great bar open until midnight, thanks to Mohammed for his friendly service.
Some of the group had breakfast 10€ if you book at checkin but 12€ otherwise. I believe it was a very good selection, however many of us went across to the main square were there was a great selection of bars/cafés were you got more for your money.
Brilliant situation for the hop on hop off bus/boat for tours around Amsterdam.
Hotel rooms were very clean and had a good nights sleep. The bathrooms had plenty of toiletries and clean towels every day.
I would certainly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

it was generally ok. Arrived in Amsterdam when it was heavily raining, windy and cold. Since this is a budget hotel, i really expected a 2 or 3 star service since this is in Europe, it's of 2 star quality for me.. Nothing new, nothing fancy but the reason i booked it because i was given a special price from Agoda.. (was lucky enough to get it heavily discounted) and i guessed that it was centrally located. One can stay here only for a few nights which is favorable for me compared to a hostel where toilets are shared. I'll prefer to stay for a hotel with a private bathroom even on a budget.

Room Tip: reserve the higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in mid-November 2013. A triple room had 3 very comfortable twin beds for Mom, Dad & daughter age 20. Room was very clean with plenty of space. A closet and desk top only - could use more space for placing things and unpacking luggage. Had a nice flat screen TV with some English channels. Bathroom was bright and spacious. Big tub with shower that had plenty of hot water and good pressure. Complimentary soaps, shampoo, and cream. Beds made up & towels changed daily. Breakfast was good at 10 Euros if booked the night before (12 Euro otherwise); included coffees, teas, breads, cold-cuts, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, cereals, granola, yogurt, fruit and pastries. Location is great! Short walk to Leidse Square aka Leidsplein, Old Town, Rieks Museum, Van Gough Museum, Diamond Museum, Casino. Central Station easy to get to on the Tram > take 1, 2, or 5 Tram. Hotel could be a little tough to find for those navigating on foot. It's located down a side street behind the Marriot Hotel. There is an elevator, however depending on room location, there may be a few stairs. The hotel staff was very pleasant and accomodating. They helped with directions and suggestions for eateries & shopping. When we first arrived we were chilly - they quickly responded with extra blankets & promptly helped us to operate the radiators. Nice hotel on a budget. Would return and highly recommend.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and were placed on 5th floor at end of hall. Was a good size room and ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyongyos, Hungary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I was there on last week for a one night. Good location, from Centraal Station by tram 1,2 or 5, stop Leidseplein, walking distance the old town. Staff is really friendly, the room ( nr 51 ) is a corner room on ground floor, big windows, very comfortable, best bed of this year ( 10 country , 10 hotel in this year ) for me. Bathroom is avarage. BUT ! In the room are a stairs!! So I stepped into room and for a second steps I falled down in dark. I had not time to switch on the light, the stairs are so next to door and no any sign shows it. Please be carefull. It is a good hotel, but I do not give a 5 because my ankle still is in pain.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Address: Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel housed in 19th-century building within a short walk to Leidseplein, bars, nightclubs & the Municipal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ach Leidse Square Amsterdam
Hotel Ach Leidse Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.