We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel at a very nice location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very good hotel at a very nice location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I liked this hotel a lot. It's not very luxurious, but everything is in perfect condition. The location is wonderful as it's close to the museums, shops, bars and restaurants. The breakfast is very good also! If I como back to Amsterdam, I'll stay there for sure. I strongly recommend it. They have a big storage room where you can leave your luggage if necessary. We left us for 3 days and it was ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    418
    182
    42
    30
See reviews for
123
365
49
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at Best Western (Leidse) before and returned with our brother and sister-in-law for his 40th birthday. Once again found our stay to be very enjoyable. A warm welcome at 9.30 am and although our rooms were not ready no problem in storing our luggage so we could go and explore. Although set away from the bus route 5 minute walking distance to the Hard Rock Cafe, Hollands Casino and the start of the canal boat tours. Our room was extremely clean and although no air conditioning as we were very lucky with the weather they did supply a fan. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is very well placed for getting round and about Amsterdam. Like other reviewers have said it is a bit worn around the edges but don't let that put you off. We found it to be very clean. The rooms were cleaned everyday. The staff behind the desk and the were really helpful and friendly.
As mentioned above we couldn't fault the hotel for its position. It was very quiet at night and we slept really well all four nights we were there. I was ready to write a bit more about it but Dave H below has already said it all a lot better than I could.
Would definitely return here when we come back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

In total we spent 3 nights at this hotel, i chose this hotel originally because of its location and the location was really good. You can easy catch the tram from Central station to get to the hotel but don't try walking with luggage as we first did in the heat as it took at least 45 minutes. The room though wasn't very comfortable. No airconditioning with only a table fan to help cool us down in the summer. The bathroom had no vent or circulation, so every time we got back to our room we were hit with both the stuffiness of our room mixed with the smell of the bathroom, it was horrid. We had breakfast at the hotel, it was reasonably good and included a hot food selection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Reading the other reviews I can only guess I was unlucky in my experience with this hotel. I was placed in an underground apartment with no opening windows. Both the way there and the room smelled bad. There was no elevator to the room, so we had to carry our luggage through an unsafe stair. The breakfast was only ok. I honestly felt like in a hostel, having paid the price of a 3 star hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here overnight on a short break to Amsterdam and was very impressed with the hotel as a base to explore. We arrived at the Centraal Station and it was easy enough to find the correct trams at the western end of the station (1,2,5) to Leidseplein for €2.80 for a 1 hour travel card. The journey is about 9-15 minutes depending on how busy the streets are and the trams are about every 2-3 minutes.

The hotel is 2-3 minutes walk from Leidseplein on the Tesselschadestraat which is more than easy enough to find (behind the Marriott hotel). The street is leafy and quiet and had a very relaxed feel about it, with locals sitting out on chairs, reading the newspapers in the afternoon sun.

We arrived 4 hours early and our room wasn't ready, but the staff were more than happy to let us store our bags in the luggage room so we could head off into Amsterdam. Staff were friendly and helpful, providing us with maps, discount vouchers and a wealth of information about what to see and where to go. If you can't speak Dutch, the staff are happy to speak excellent English.

The area around the hotel is a mine of things to do, from the bars, cafes and restaurants in Leidseplein, to the Hard Rock Cafe, the shops along Leidsestraat, canal tours, the Museum Kwartier for the Van Gogh Museum or the Rijksmuseum or even a stroll in the Vodelpark are all within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Trams are frequent if you want to travel further afield also.

At night, the Leidseplein comes to life - busy but in an informal and relaxed way well into the early hours - whilst a walk along the Leidesestraat to the Herengeracht canal allowed us to find a quiet street bar to spend a quiet hour or so before heading back to the square for more life!

Eventually, when it's time to rest your head, the hotel offers quiet tranquility from the nocturnal goings on of Leidseplein even though you are only a few minutes walk away - the best of all worlds.

The room was fine, very comfortable pillows and beds, TV, en-suite bath/shower room, tea and coffee making facilities and air conditioning. My only complaint is that there is so much to do that there is little time to find to sleep. The room was clean and well-presented and also had its own safe for valuables.

Breakfast was a relaxed affair of cereals, cold meats and cheeses with bread and croissants, bacon and scrambled egg with coffee, tea, fruit juices, milk etc. Once again we were able to leave our luggage in the luggage room until picking it up later in the day to head back to the Centraal Station.

I would be happy to recommend the Leidse Square Hotel and when I next visit Amsterdam, I will be staying there.

Room Tip: Rooms can be warm, but some have air conditioning which is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had a very good location, good distances from different tram stops as well as the bus stop to the airport, very helpful.

The staff were great too, and friendly.

The room itself seemed okay, clean bathroom seemed clean too, shower and bath all seemed good, worked well. Was pleased with the bed, nice comfy and cosy.

Was pleased, good for either short or long break,nothing too expensive or luxurious, but felt nice. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Address: Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel housed in 19th-century building within a short walk to Leidseplein, bars, nightclubs & the Municipal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ach Leidse Square Amsterdam
Hotel Ach Leidse Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.