We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a rough start, but it got better!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Bit of a rough start, but it got better!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have to say our first impression of the hotel was not great. The entry, reception and hallways all needed to be vacuumed (we arrived at 4 PM). Then, as I had read on other reviews about travelers checking in and being given the room in the "basement" - wouldn't you know it happened to us too! The room is dark and mostly underground - NOT a place we wanted to spend 3 nights! So once we saw the room, I went back up to reception and told them we wouldn't stay there. There was no other A/C room available for us that night, but they transferred us to another room, which was comfortable for the night as it had been a cool day (and gave us two free breakfasts to make up for it after I asked them to do so). The next two nights, we had a charming room on the third floor. Very quiet, nice decor, clean. One of the twin beds was not too comfortable to sleep on (too saggy), but the linens were nice. Best things about this hotel are the breakfasts (very nice buffet) and the location. Its just outside of all the hustle and bustle, very close to Vondelpark and many really cool neighborhoods. The front desk staff are all very helpful, providing good advice about what to see and do. Would we stay there again - probably because we now know it and the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    473
    213
    50
    32
See reviews for
141
418
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

good location, average accomodation. rooms a bit tired but very clean.
Prices expensive and no breakfast included. Location good but nowhere to sit and relax as in no lounge. Bar very small and not comfortable to sit in in the evening before retiring to room


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A nice quiet location 2 mins from main square and so easy to find from the airport. Get 197 bus to leidseplein, head for the marriot, pop down the side st and the hotel is behind the marriot. Its a bit tired and dated and the public areas are shabby but clean. our room was narrow and long but the bed was comfy, shower was fantastically hot, TV had lots of channels, hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities and free toiletries. Our room was cleaned every day and there was also a free safe. Staff were very helpful with bus /tram info. When booking pay for air conditioning as its not standard. We didnt do breakfast as the room looked quite small and there are plenty of places to get some - plenty of bakeries to pick up a coffee and a muffin. Would happily stay here again. Everything was close at hand, Tram system great for getting around and would highly recommend House of Bols for a fun afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We found the hotel easily after a train and tram from the airport - cost about 7-8 euros each. The check in was smooth and a room for three was great, with plenty of space.

Linen and toiletries are a good standard. The TV worked and has English channels, so we managed to catch up on Wimbledom and Glastonbury. Minor niggles were a few stains on the carpet and our shower leaked through the screen seal.

The hotel is in a quiet residential side street and there was no street noise at all. We heard a couple of noisy guests thumping around and talking loudly late one night but that can happen anywhere and it wasn't loud enough to stop us getting back to sleep. The hotel is near a lovely large park too.

The staff were friendly and helpful (as was everyone in Amsterdam!). There was a good selection for breakfast; fruit salad, cereal, yoghurt, bacon, scrambled egg, the usual European range. There was a problem when we went down at 9 am on the Saturday, as it was a bit hectic and chaotic. With only one area for drinks, including a slow tea/coffee machine, this resulted in congestion. We did not have the same problem on the Friday or by 9.45 on the Sunday. Tip - get up early or have a lie-in!

There is a cosy and friendly bar, plus pleasant seating area, although the bar closes at about 10.30.

There is a luggage storage room, which was packed with suitcases on our departure day. I was a bit annoyed to find my suitcase, which I had left neatly against a wall, was lying on its side in the middle of the room, although that wasn't the fault of the hotel.

We booked this place as it would accommodate three in a room and seemed the best value and location for the standard of its reviews - our experience confirmed that it deserves its rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Have just spent a week at this hotel. Overall an enjoyable experience. The location is excellent. Very helpful staff throughout. Our room was on the 4th floor and was incredibly small. However, after the first night, we were moved to a lovely light and airy room with much more space. The housekeeping is to a high standard, although the public areas are very unattractive and the lift seems extremely old. Some refurbishment is definitely required. Outside the main entrance there were usually lots of cigarette butts and debris from the surrounding trees. The breakfast is reasonably good with a lovely selection of breads. However, the hot buffet and the cold meats and cheese are rather limited. It is usually very busy, but there is a lovely Scottish lady who keeps everything running smoothly. The bar is very small and the only other sitting area is really rather unappealing

Room Tip: 405 was a lovely double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here with friends in May. We chose this hotel as we had Best Western gift cards to use. The room was very clean, with nice linens on the beds. Carpets were old and worn, but appeared clean, so ok. Our room was very bright, as tons of windows with incredibly high ceilings; made the room feel very spacious. Staff was friendly and the service was excellent! Each time I went to the front desk for an enquiry, they were quick to respond. Only had 1 business computer at the front desk, but I was able to use it several times at the off hours (after 10 pm). It was the perfect location for my first trip to Amsterdam; we were able to walk everywhere, to the museums, restaurants, canals, and all the tourist attractions. Hotel was a quick 5 minute walk to Leidse Square, where we could catch buses or trams. Upon my return home, I completed a survey on the hotel, to which I received an email response from the manager of the hotel; this impressed me as it conveyed to me that the manager takes all feedback on her hotel seriously. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Address: Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel housed in 19th-century building within a short walk to Leidseplein, bars, nightclubs & the Municipal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ach Leidse Square Amsterdam
Hotel Ach Leidse Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.