We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great quiet location, and very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
gold coast, australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“great quiet location, and very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We chose this hotel after checking out of another one which was stinking hot. We are attracted to this hotel as it offered airconditioned rooms on expedia. The rooms are a little tired but a good size, beds are really comfortable and the little bar downstairs was great. The location is great in a quiet street just behind Leidse Square. The price was very reasonable too. Would stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    449
    196
    47
    30
See reviews for
135
389
50
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
AndrosBS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I had to go to Amsterdam for buisness on very short notice and found The Leidse Square for a very decent price and was not expecting much.
I was extremely delighted when I arrived from Schipol at the appearance and location of the Hotel. My business was with Tommy Hilfinger, and they were right across the Street!!!!
It was only a little after 9am local time when I arrived but the staff was able to check me in and had my room ready which was much appreciated as I had a long overnight flight from Miami and wanted to just get some sleep.

The room was cozy, clean, and way more than I expected giving the low rate I was paying.
The Staff was outstanding and went way out of their way to accommodate me during my 3 night stay and I highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to Amsterdam for whatever reason.

The location alone is worth the price as it is has mentioned before the proximity to all the trams, buses and attractions the city has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hotel is the Best Western chain at its best - good location, reliable, predictable, and prices which are fair for the location. Think Manhattan/New Amsterdam when considering the price and size of the room in this part of Old Amsterdam. The rooms are reasonably sized, furnished, and priced with a coffee/tea pot in the room. You are no more than a 5 minute walk to the Leidse Plein, and multiple tram stops, including the one which goes through the heart of historic Amsterdam to the Central Station. It is 5 minutes to Vondel Park and canal boat tours which are definitely worth taking when you arrive to get an overview of the city. Tourists like you go on them, but they are worth it. The Rijk's Museum and Van Gogh Museum are no more than 10 minutes walk. The bus to the Airport stops on the Leidse Plein bridge 5 minutes walk away and is the best and cheapest way to get to the airport. (We did not go during rush hour) Pay for the 7.50 Euro breakfast in advance (10 Euros if you don't pay the night before) It is a generous meal whether you prefer American or European style breakfast. You will pay more for less elsewhere and you will have paid for the breakfast with the refills on coffee or tea. The part that was less than satisfactory is that for $200 US per night the selection of English television channels was quite limited compared to similar hotels and one day the sink was not cleaned. I would consider these trivial complaints, but for the price of the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

on arrival to the hotell we were met with a lady at reception who was very happy, polite and attentive to me and my friends, she checked us all in, we went to our rooms which were all made up beautifully and the high standard of cleanliness was amazing, the location in Leidse square was ideal too, plenty to do in that area of Amsterdam, and the tram services are great too, always someone around to help guide you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very convenient for a visit to Amsterdam.
Good welcome. Helpful in all respects. Rooms nicely furnished inc fridge & safe & Elec Kettle
Also Aircon. Our room was quite too on 4th floor at rear near Lift.
Airport bus stops 200m away & is best way to get to Airport & @ £4 was good value. Taxis are about £35.
Amsterdam is very interesting but is over run with trams, cars, buses AND BIKES. Beware the bikes as they don't like being obstructed. Its not a city I would be happy to live in. This hotel however is in a very nice tree lined street.
We also went to Leiden on the traon & that city is much calmer. Visit the very interesting Pilgrim Fathers house @ the back of the church. Note the house does not have a name so U can be outside & not realise it. We just got lucky when some organised tour arrived.

Room Tip: The hotel in in a quiet street so even front rooms should be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake worth florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Clean and quiet area and a great location just behind the more expensive Marriott. Museums and restaurants very nearby.Tends to be quite busy, which is an indicator of its value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Amsterdam hotels are expensive, and the Best Western Leidse Square is no bargain. However, it offers a great location on a pleasant, quiet street, just 10 minutes walk away from the restaurants, night life, and canal boat stops at Leidse Square in one direction and from the museums in the other direction. Our room, while small (the double bed was actually pushed against a wall), was thoughtfully arranged and furnished -- along the lines of a well organized boat cabin. The bed was surprisingly comfortable. We faced out onto the street and had a nice garret window overlooking the treetops. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel (it's an extra charge) so I can't comment on the food. All in all, I'd definitely stay there again -- unless I won the lottery and could afford something better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel

Address: Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel housed in 19th-century building within a short walk to Leidseplein, bars, nightclubs & the Municipal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ach Leidse Square Amsterdam
Hotel Ach Leidse Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.