We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Stern

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de Stern
Save
You added Hotel de Stern to your Saves list
Utrechtsestraat 18, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

i stayed at this hotel with two other friends we booked the 4 person room which was just enough space for alll of us. the hotel is excellently located and the staff are very helpful!
i really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    9
    8
    11
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

300 euros for what is actually a hostel is way too expensive. No receipt given and I had to pay in cash to some blike selling kebabs! I wouldnt recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I`ve stayed here at the end of March, with a few friends. It was the cheapest option we had, having in mind that we booked only a few days before going there. The 1 star rating says everything about the place, the conditions were not very good, but at least the room was (approximately) clean.
The staff didn`t speak too good english and we had some problems with bringing few friends which were not staying with us in the room for a matter of 1 hour, before going out.
The advantage is the centrally location, close to a lot of pubs, restaurants and main touristic attractions.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Average hotel, for the price we paid and the amount of time spent there worth the money.
We were allocated a room on the 3rd floor stairs were a bit of a nightmare but that is the same with most places in Amsterdam. Room was clean and spacious enough, very good location, The number 9 tram runs to central every 10 mins literally 2 mins walk from the hotel. If you are looking for somewhere to sleep and something located centrally very good, also you are allowed to smoke in the room which is a plus especially if your on the 3rd floor.

Overall good location, clean rooms and value for money - Would go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Location is great - that's the main advantage.
We arrived around 8pm - at this time the reception is closed. We paid with cash to some man running a nearby restaurant, without any bill of sale (we got it the next day) and he gave us a key.
Room for 4 people (nr 25, last floor (3rd?), steep staircase, for wi-fi range go 1 floor down) - quite ok for hostel (no complains about the room). It's big enough to put 4 beds, table, 2 chairs and almost-without-shelves wardrobe.
But the bathroom, which is situated in the room (plus for that) - very poor. Water didn't run down in both sink and shower. It's usable, but needs renovation for sure.
To sup up, if you don't care about a condition of the place where you take shower, it's budget type, great located hostel. But I wouldn't recommend it for staying. There are other cheap hostels in the centre of Amsterdam, I hope they are better.

Room Tip: Rooms on the last floor (3rd?) are outside the wi-fi range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Stern

Address: Utrechtsestraat 18, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel & Restaurant “De Stern” The One Star budget hotel in the heart of Amsterdam.We have a rich history in host guests from all over the world for more than 50 years. Ideally located in the entertainment area "Rembrandt Square" where the highlights of the city can be reached within a walking distance. The supermarket in-front of the hotel, the laundry and the pharmacy are in the neighborhood, cafes, bars, coffee shops and discotheques are everywhere, plus our dining room open every day until 03:00am and weekends until 04:00am. The nearest Pay Parking Station is 200m away open 24 hours seven days a week. Price for one hour costs 4.80 EUR.The friendly multilingual staff will be happy to help you with free maps, tips what to do and where to go in Amsterdam to get the real experience.The property has been renovated newly in September 2011.Rooms now are simple and comfortable; the hotel has a canal view to Herengracht the first of the three major canals in the city center. Each room has its own shower and bathroom. TV and free Wi-Fi access. De Stern meets the most recent international safety and fire prevention standards. Furthermore, the hotel offers its guests a delicious Continental or English breakfast to start the day well.- No curfews or lockouts.Please note that De Stern Amsterdam has a narrow and winding stairway, which may not be suitable for the elderly.Attention!Strictly NO VISITORS rule!!!Check-in time: 13:00 until 18:00.Check-out time: 11:00 am.* ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Stern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.