We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A normal hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Croydon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Croydon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Croydon
Warmoes Straat 75, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #337 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A normal hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

First of all, it is a hostel, not a hotel. Considering that, the hostel is ok to stay for a few nights. Me and my girlfriend stayed in a 8-bed room. Just in the first night (sunday) it was full, but the others we slept in 4 or 5 in the room. Therefore, the private (small) bathroom was ok. The shower is the better thing in the toilet, however after using it the floor become all wet. The toiled seat is bad located and you barely can seat properly. The bed was ok and the lockers are huge (you can rent a padlock for 5 euros - with refund - at the reception). The hostel is very well located.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    12
    13
    51
See reviews for
3
5
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

if your looking for the seasoned budget traveller experience then this is for you,,,,i went here with some potheads and though not being a weed smoker myself I have to say I greatly enjoyed it. It was super cheap and in a vibrant street in the red light area. It was certainly an experience. A mouse was loose but that meant no rats and my four bunk room had the distinct feeling of being locked up in a cell but that just added to the fun. It all depends on your state of mind. And Yes, the staircase is lethally authentic. The best part of it was the staff. All very friendly and easy going. I would return again..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed for four nights as a place to get our head down for some kip after out all day/night.

Get what you pay for really, stayed in room 9 which is at the top of a very dodgy stairwell but once you get over that room very basic, sheets seemed clean even had a tv in the room (Didn't try it)
Shared bathroom/toilet was a small cubical did the trick anyway.

Excellent location! Couldn't fault it. Although people may find the church bells annoying if your trying to sleep.

Also get 20% off food/drink at the Irish bar down the road which came in handy!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Arrived here late on a friday ( over for the Roger Waters concert) and the usual ' Hotel Reservations' place on the Damrak was closed, so walked all round the area looking for digs, and finally found this place. Just the two of us, we were given the attic 4 bed room with an amazing view of the (?) cathedral in the red-light ( did wake us up v. early, but more later!), up the ubiquitous steep Amsterdam stairs! Went out for the usual 'dam shenanigans, got back with a kebab and some chips ( the best chips ever) at about 5, turned the light on and there were two more bodies in t'other bunk-bed. Woke the fella up ( he was a Manc, must have been a bit upset these 2 pissed Scousers waking him), not deliberately, but by virtue of two fat 38 y.o. blokes squeezing through a narrow 'dam house whilst pissed. Woke his mate in the bottom bunk, who actually turned out to be his wife, who he had treated to a weekend in the Dam for her 40th birthday as a suprise! Slept very well, the bed was very comfortable, but obvious restrictions with a lady in there! Very tiny bathroom, shared with 4 Germans who had the runs. Robbed of key deposit by fat toad on front desk, church bells all night on the 1/4 hour and within 100 yards, Eu45 for a night. Got a place from the hotel place on the Damrak next day, but it is now a lot cheaper to book even a few days in advance for a nice apartment for less money. As for the Dam, been a while since I was last there, got rid of a lot of the pick-pockets and fellas selling cocaine on the streets, but all seems ( dare I say) a bit sterile now

Room Tip: Attic room facing the church had lovely views, but only if there is 4 in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were 4 people came from israel and usually to the conditions of littlle rooms from the army so it was ok in generally there was allways a worker that was cleaning the rooms and stand in the sheets we've been there for a week but it dosent metter because amsterdam is amazing and the hostel is in a very centralizer place so that we were almost never in the room. Its little expencive for what you get but the team is nice and helper and we have very fun

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights. I don't really understand why its called 'Hotel' because its definitely not one. We were staying in Room 3 which is an 8 bed dorm. Of 8 of the lockers, only about 4 actually locked which had all been taken by people already in the room. So we had to just leave our stuff on the floor next to our bunk bed which we were a bit worried about.

If you're after a hostel in the middle of the Red Light District, you couldn't ask for a better location. However, this hostel is on one of the main roads with many bars and coffee shops so you can imagine its busy, all day and all night so sleep isn't something we got that much of. Especially as the windows are always open because the rooms get stuffy with 8 people sleeping in them.

I was in Room 3. There was one toilet and one shower to share between 8 people. I'm not even joking when I say you cannot actually sit on the toilet properly because the wall in front of it is too close, you have to sit sideways!

And watch out for those stairs! Lethal!

We paid 25 euros a night each which I thought was expensive for what it was but I guess they all round about the same price.
I wish I'd have paid a little more and got a private room a little outside the red light district.
If you're after a bed, literally just somewhere to crash after a session with your mates, then fine. Not really somewhere you want to stay as a couple!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 2 and 3 are at the front on the main road, maybe the rooms at the back of the building would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croydon

Address: Warmoes Straat 75, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croydon Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Croydon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.