We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but poor hostel.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Croydon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Croydon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Croydon
Warmoes Straat 75, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #332 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Expensive but poor hostel.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights. I don't really understand why its called 'Hotel' because its definitely not one. We were staying in Room 3 which is an 8 bed dorm. Of 8 of the lockers, only about 4 actually locked which had all been taken by people already in the room. So we had to just leave our stuff on the floor next to our bunk bed which we were a bit worried about.

If you're after a hostel in the middle of the Red Light District, you couldn't ask for a better location. However, this hostel is on one of the main roads with many bars and coffee shops so you can imagine its busy, all day and all night so sleep isn't something we got that much of. Especially as the windows are always open because the rooms get stuffy with 8 people sleeping in them.

I was in Room 3. There was one toilet and one shower to share between 8 people. I'm not even joking when I say you cannot actually sit on the toilet properly because the wall in front of it is too close, you have to sit sideways!

And watch out for those stairs! Lethal!

We paid 25 euros a night each which I thought was expensive for what it was but I guess they all round about the same price.
I wish I'd have paid a little more and got a private room a little outside the red light district.
If you're after a bed, literally just somewhere to crash after a session with your mates, then fine. Not really somewhere you want to stay as a couple!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 2 and 3 are at the front on the main road, maybe the rooms at the back of the building would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    12
    13
    47
See reviews for
3
5
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

There are rat traps underneath the beds and in the corner of the room. The shower is literally like being dribbled on by a very small dog but with red hot saliva. The stairs are essentially a ladder. The owner is very aggressive and extremely rude. My friend had everything he owns stolen from his room. The room is tiny, yet somehow rammed with 8 beds resulting in a sweaty musk to greet you upon entry.

I wouldn't even spend 5 euro's a night for this dirty little hole of a place. It is utterly disgraceful in every way.

Room Tip: Do not get a room here ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The night before going me and a friend read all these reviews and were worried what we were letting ourselves in for with these 'dirty rooms' and 'deadly stairs'. However, the stairs are manageable, they are not as bad as people say, if you can laugh at it, its fine. We stayed in a 4 bed private, the room was clean, the bedding was clean and were quite comfy if im honest. The toilets are fantastic, its opposite the shower, but it has a lock and was pretty clean as well. The location is superb, you get discount on the pancake place downstairs which makes it even better. AND just to make things even better, in our 4 bed private, we had a decent size TV which had comedy central on, thats enough to make anyones day. I would go back to this place, decent value for money, if you want luxury then pay for luxury, if you want somewhere to rest your head then this place is ideal.

Room Tip: We were in room 5b? or 5a? we had a TV in there, and only had the 1 flight of stairs. I'd take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have never seen a place this dirty. The room in which i stayed wasn't cleaned for a week "because the persons in the room did not change". Not to mention the bugs and mice that were wondering around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Hostel in center of Amsterdam. All location are closer. But rooms 8 and 9 on the 3rd floor are very far.
Discount in Irish Pub 20% and Waffels 10%. Hot water. Good tv, but without remote control. Very qaute place. The best location in Amsterdam.





  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A bunk in a room of 8 for €30: ok, a big football match in town so hotel prices were ridiculous. Lady on the desk was nice when I arrived but at 10 am some rude little man prodded me and asked if I was checking out.

Out of interest I asked the man on the desk how much the beds were the next nights: €45 at the weekend! That night I stayed in an en suite twin room in a proper hotel on the Herengracht for the same price per head.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Andreu de la Barca, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The location is perfect, in the middle of the red light district, but in contrast, the facilities of the Hotel are above any other hotel I have seen in my life before. It is impossible to go upstairs without crawling, and there is nothing appart from dirty and abandoned rooms (no living room, no public toilet, etc..). And all of that lack of comfort for a rip off. I paid 40 euros per night for sleeping in a shack. The only positive aspect, the location, for the rest, the worst Hotel ever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croydon

Address: Warmoes Straat 75, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croydon Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Croydon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.