We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Croydon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Croydon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Croydon
Warmoes Straat 75, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #339 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Get what you pay for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The night before going me and a friend read all these reviews and were worried what we were letting ourselves in for with these 'dirty rooms' and 'deadly stairs'. However, the stairs are manageable, they are not as bad as people say, if you can laugh at it, its fine. We stayed in a 4 bed private, the room was clean, the bedding was clean and were quite comfy if im honest. The toilets are fantastic, its opposite the shower, but it has a lock and was pretty clean as well. The location is superb, you get discount on the pancake place downstairs which makes it even better. AND just to make things even better, in our 4 bed private, we had a decent size TV which had comedy central on, thats enough to make anyones day. I would go back to this place, decent value for money, if you want luxury then pay for luxury, if you want somewhere to rest your head then this place is ideal.

Room Tip: We were in room 5b? or 5a? we had a TV in there, and only had the 1 flight of stairs. I'd take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    12
    13
    52
See reviews for
3
5
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have never seen a place this dirty. The room in which i stayed wasn't cleaned for a week "because the persons in the room did not change". Not to mention the bugs and mice that were wondering around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Hostel in center of Amsterdam. All location are closer. But rooms 8 and 9 on the 3rd floor are very far.
Discount in Irish Pub 20% and Waffels 10%. Hot water. Good tv, but without remote control. Very qaute place. The best location in Amsterdam.





  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A bunk in a room of 8 for €30: ok, a big football match in town so hotel prices were ridiculous. Lady on the desk was nice when I arrived but at 10 am some rude little man prodded me and asked if I was checking out.

Out of interest I asked the man on the desk how much the beds were the next nights: €45 at the weekend! That night I stayed in an en suite twin room in a proper hotel on the Herengracht for the same price per head.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Andreu de la Barca, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The location is perfect, in the middle of the red light district, but in contrast, the facilities of the Hotel are above any other hotel I have seen in my life before. It is impossible to go upstairs without crawling, and there is nothing appart from dirty and abandoned rooms (no living room, no public toilet, etc..). And all of that lack of comfort for a rip off. I paid 40 euros per night for sleeping in a shack. The only positive aspect, the location, for the rest, the worst Hotel ever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you're the lone traveler like me, you're probably gonna try to find the cheapest place to live. "It's all about what you do in the city, not where you sleep...cause after all, you'll be spending most of your time outside, right?" Trust me, this place may be cheap, but heed my advice, and DO NOT STAY HERE!

It is not only the worst dwelling i have ever had the misfortune of staying at but probably one of the worst in the world!

If you have a suitcase with you, good luck getting it upstairs. The staircase is the MOST NARROWEST AND STEEPEST staircase I have ever witnessed. You'll be carrying your suitcase upwards of about an 80 degree angle. It's plain ridiculous!

The moment you step into the hostel, you'll no doubt smell the scent of pot. It is Amsterdam after all, but you'd think you'd at least be able to sleep without the smell of marijuana lingering the room trying to get up your nostrils. Well, if you're as unfortunate as me, you'll probably have a jobless obese pothead in your room who just watches tv and smokes all day.

The showers are just as bad. I'm not usually too picky with where I live but this bathroom was like showering in a utility room. Disgusting stuff, trust me!

The experience I had here was absolutely horrible! If you're a traveler, I highly recommend you maybe just fork up a little bit extra for a better more social hostel. This one is just not worth the time or toil. The only benefit of it is that you're close to the Red Light District.

Just avoid it! Please! Or better...Couchsurf!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croydon

Address: Warmoes Straat 75, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croydon Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Croydon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.