We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Break” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Croydon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Croydon to your Saves list
Hotel Croydon
Warmoes Straat 75, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #343 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    18
    18
    59
See reviews for
3
9
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

The place is only 1 street behind red light district, so we try to go back hotel before 7pm as after that, the street very noisy n felt unsafe. In the hotel, we facing difficulty moving our luggage as the staircase is very narrow. If those bringing big luggage, I have no idea how they r taking the luggage in. The toilet also not so clean.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I spent 2 nights in Hotel Croydon with 4 friends and it's fair to say that we were a little worried after we had read the reviews. I agree that maybe the place is a little run down and the stairs are very, very steep so it wouldn't be ideal for those who are travelling with children/a lot of luggage. But given how cheap the place is, I do think it's good if you're just after a place to sleep whilst visiting Amsterdam. The location really is amazing, right in the middle of everything and although the rooms were basic, they did have lockers, which is one of the most important things for me when staying in a hostel. The staff were all very friendly and we got some vouchers for waffles in the shop next door which was great!

I don't think Hotel Croydon would be a great place if you want to plan to spend a lot of time in the hostel. But as a base to explore Amsterdam it really isn't so bad!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I travelled to Amsterdam for 6 days in a group with 5 other friends, and having read the reviews we were very apprehensive about what hell we might be staying in, but when we arrived the reception staff were very helpful and hospitable and let us put our luggage in the entrance to reception as we arrived very early in the morning, before check in. (They also allowed this with our baggage after we checked out when we had a night flight so could explore the last of Dam without our cases)

We were up 3 flights of stairs which, although treacherous and steep, provided us with many laughs on the trip. Just tread carefully!
Our room had 4 Bunk Beds, we occupied 3 and there was a lovely australian guy occupying the last, who was travelling alone. The next morning he left and we had another guy who was travelling alone join us, whom later in the evening joined us as we ventured out to clubs.
The next day he left and a couple joined us filling up the other bunk bed.

So, if you didn't feel comfortable around other people this wouldn't be the best scenario and although at first the idea of sharing was a little bizarre, we are all sociable people and got on with each person in the room with us.

The beds were clean and comfortable and there was a locker allocated to each person. Although I had no problems with the bed, one friend saw a bedbug on his pillow in the night and though he had no bites naturally this caused quite a...panic. We saw no more signs of bedbugs or bites for the rest of the trip

We forgot about padlocks for lockers but our australian acquaintance told us on the first day you could put down a deposit of 5 Euro's for a padlock from reception and return it upon departure. This worked perfectly for us. The lockers were quite large so we had a few padlocks and shared just for our valuables like passports and currency.

The shower room was also the toilet which meant the floor was often wet so we wore shoes or flip flops if we went in. The sink was on the outside with a large mirror above it next to the window. This meant light for the mirror was good during the day but with only one light in the room and this being around the corner, at night it was difficult to use the mirror.
The shower itself was powerful and consistently hot 24hours of the day no matter how many of us used it or how long we took.

The location was brilliant and we were a short walk away from everything, on the same street is shops, cafe's restaurants and a small supermarket. Downstairs is a delicious crepes shop linked to the hotel so you get a discount on food and drink there if you're staying in the hostel.

If you come in late at night like we did many times (between 2-6am) You'll find you have the ring the bell to gain access to the hostel but most times there was someone to let us in instantly, just once we had to wait 5-10 minutes for someone to come down and they were always inquisitive about your night, very nice people.

Due to coming in late we were often asleep until lunchtime and found the cleaners would come in to the room and be very loud and this startled us the first couple of nights.

I can't think of anything else, other than to say that for the value for this trip we got what we hoped for, a bright clean room with somewhere comfortable to lay your head, no frills or luxury but then for less than £10 a night we weren't expecting any more.

Just a couple of tips; for essentials if you take a right out of the hostel and then the next right, half way down this street there are two supermarkets opposite each other.
For a nice cafe, again take a right out of the hostel and there are a few on the other side of the road, we had amazing milkshakes in 'Hunters' the logo is a cartoon dog.
A few up from the hostel is also a couple of nice bars for a drink, these generally seemed to all close at 1 or 2am along with the cafe's.


Hope this helps!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

When we first arrived in our room we were all a little taken back with the graffiti on the walls and the god awful stench coming from the bathroom it honestly smelt like something had died in there. We soon shut the bathroom door opened the windows and that was that problem dealt with. Having been up for a long time we all thought we would grab some sleep before we went out to have a look around the city then came the next problem “MICE”. Yes the room came with its own pet Mice that you could here running around all night it’s a good job I had top bunk. Once we had got settled and overlooked the very many bad points to the hotel its not to bad as far as location goes you are only 2 minutes away from Dam Square 5minutes from Amsterdam Central train station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#235 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#213 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#217 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Side Inn Hotel
#270 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croydon

Address: Warmoes Straat 75, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croydon Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Croydon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.