We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately very unhappy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Croydon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Croydon to your Saves list
Hotel Croydon
Warmoes Straat 75, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #336 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    15
    13
    53
See reviews for
3
6
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

When we first arrived in our room we were all a little taken back with the graffiti on the walls and the god awful stench coming from the bathroom it honestly smelt like something had died in there. We soon shut the bathroom door opened the windows and that was that problem dealt with. Having been up for a long time we all thought we would grab some sleep before we went out to have a look around the city then came the next problem “MICE”. Yes the room came with its own pet Mice that you could here running around all night it’s a good job I had top bunk. Once we had got settled and overlooked the very many bad points to the hotel its not to bad as far as location goes you are only 2 minutes away from Dam Square 5minutes from Amsterdam Central train station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of January 2013 in a private 8 person bedroom (Room 6). The room itself was very basic with 4 bunk beds, 2 chairs, A small table and a set of lockers. To be fair the room was a good size and mostly clean but with worrying marks over the walls near the beds, electrics hanging off the wall and the en suite bathroom was almost unusable.

Also we seemed to have more pets than just the fore mentioned bed bugs (although we didn't get as many bed bug bites as others travelers have reported). Outside our window was a little court yard area where the hotel like to store their bins. The problem is this area is also home to rats who managed to get into our room at least one point that we know of during our stay.

And then there was the en suite bathroom. With a toilet seat and toilet lid that wasn't actually attached to the toilet, black stinking mold growing around the wet room style shower facilities and a disgusting toilet brush that would make anyone feel sick these were not the best facilities I've seen in a hostel.

And I should also mention the steep and twisty stair cases that do not feel safe (especially after a night out).

But on a positive note the location of this hostel can't be faulted as it's located on a very busy street close to the center and only a 5-10min walk from Central Station and the hostel was usually quiet at night (apart from a fire alarm one night) so you were able to get some sleep.

Personally I would not stay here again and I would not recommend but it didn't kill me and could have been worse.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. If this was my experience of a private room I would hate to find out what the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The pharmacist in Amsterdam said it was the worst case of bedbugs she had ever seen. When I arrived I wondered why there were 2 mattreses on my bed, I can only assume it was a vain attempt to eliminate the bug INFESTATION (see pictures). They paid for the medication I had to buy. So, if you choose to stay here, BEWARE! I'm still itching after being home for 2 days and my clothes are still being decontaminated.

For about 10 euros a night you do get what you pay for: mouldy walls, hair in the drain, and murderous stairs. However, this can NEVER excuse selling beds that they KNOW are plagued with bedbugs.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A group of 6 friends (myself included) fancied a cheap trip to 'dam. Got to the Hostel and oh my god.
It was during a very hot week that we went and the smell of the waffle shop below really rose through the air. The stairs are at best, suicidal.
The cleanliness is awful. The maid actually cleaned the bathroom using one of the pillowcases that she had stripped from the bed.
The sheets were heavily stained and smelly.

HOWEVER

This hotel is in the perfect place in 'dam. Not right on the red light strip but just outside. It was such a great time and the city was fantastic. We all had a good laugh (whilst out of the hotel Croydon). I have given this 2 stars for the area but in my opinion, 0 for Accomodation.

Definitely go to Amsterdam
Avoid Hotel Croydon

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was scared coming there after reading all the reviews but I was curious to try so.
After coming there everything seemed not as bad as everyone said.

The shower was clean and the rooms seemed fine. There was enough daylight and you view right on the Warmoesstraat which is amazing and very fun by night.

Staff was very helpful and care about what you did during your day.

Overall great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croydon

Address: Warmoes Straat 75, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croydon Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Croydon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.