We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've read the reviews and it IS like that” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Croydon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Croydon to your Saves list
Hotel Croydon
Warmoes Straat 75, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #341 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“You've read the reviews and it IS like that”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A group of 6 friends (myself included) fancied a cheap trip to 'dam. Got to the Hostel and oh my god.
It was during a very hot week that we went and the smell of the waffle shop below really rose through the air. The stairs are at best, suicidal.
The cleanliness is awful. The maid actually cleaned the bathroom using one of the pillowcases that she had stripped from the bed.
The sheets were heavily stained and smelly.

HOWEVER

This hotel is in the perfect place in 'dam. Not right on the red light strip but just outside. It was such a great time and the city was fantastic. We all had a good laugh (whilst out of the hotel Croydon). I have given this 2 stars for the area but in my opinion, 0 for Accomodation.

Definitely go to Amsterdam
Avoid Hotel Croydon

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    18
    18
    59
See reviews for
3
9
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was scared coming there after reading all the reviews but I was curious to try so.
After coming there everything seemed not as bad as everyone said.

The shower was clean and the rooms seemed fine. There was enough daylight and you view right on the Warmoesstraat which is amazing and very fun by night.

Staff was very helpful and care about what you did during your day.

Overall great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

lovely view from our room which slept three but couldve easily fitted more, when we arrived and saw our room we were over awed unlike the previous reviews we were met with a smiling receptionist and 6 bottles of vodka mixed drinks in our pristine room, the stairs were not as bad as the "fat people" have claimed before. our room and wash house were cleaned daily and soap and towels were provided at no extra costs. there was no curfew and the mints left on the pillow each night was a sign of pure class. i would have no problem in staying here again and i have already booked the honeymoon suite for our second wedding annivesary and i hope to be a regular visitor of the Croydon for years to come

Room Tip: pick a private room as you get a free minibar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stairs ....ridiculous, dirty room couldnt even use the bathroom or shower as the drainage was blocked and smelled like 1000 accumulated turds!! Location was good but everything else was abysmal. If you can afford a few extra pound stay elsewhere!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

never seen such dirtyness in any hotel anywhere else in the world: rooms not clean, bed linien dirty also, WC&showers disgusting..
tiny rooms, view on garbishes
for such prices, it's unbearable!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland Springs, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

first off, i completely agree with the below reviews, before i even entered my so called 'room' there was puddles on the floor, i was greeted by an arrogant, rude, pubescent excuse of a man who had the emphusiasm of a corpse. our room was filthy, smelly, damp and situated right next to a cathedral which the bells constantly rang every half hour!!! the walls were covered in mould, dirty sheets, THE TOILET WAS IN THE SHOWER!!!!!! vending machine didn't work, and the fact that i paid for my stay was not acceptable.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#229 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#208 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New West Inn Amsterdam
#215 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#265 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#135 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croydon

Address: Warmoes Straat 75, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croydon Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Croydon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.