We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flipper

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Flipper to your Saves list
Hotel Flipper
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borssenburgstraat 1-5, 3021 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Decent stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Overall this was a decent hotel, probably deserving a solid 3/5 rating.

The good points:

-The room was clean, with the cleaning lady being very helpful for our particularly untidy group!
-The reception staff were especially helpful in pointing out the sights of Amsterdam, with their spoken English excellent. This is probably the biggest positive of the hotel.
-The room was overall good, even if the bathroom was a tad small.

The bad points:

-Noise. This was a real issue at 1/2 am in the morning, where people would be returning from clubs and hence were very noisy. The hotel didn't say anything to these people even when in the rooms, disturbing a family with a baby.
-Smell: The hotel supposedly has a no smoking policy in their rooms; however, there was a quite apparent smell of cannabis coming into the room from the window, giving the distinct sense that this rule wasn't particularly applied. Indeed, the people next door to us smoked it on a daily basis!


Overall, this was a decent hotel, designed more for the clubbing individual than the family group. However, I would recommend that the hotel attempts to solve the smoking issue, as it really did detract from the stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    31
    36
    21
    47
See reviews for
12
40
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swanley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Hotel flipper was on the bus route to and from the airport. 24 hour reception with great security doors to get in and out. Rooms were comfortable beds were cleaned daily always hot water after a long day out and about and the breakfast was brilliant!!!! Reception helpful when asking questions and local amenities were all close!!!!!
Only negative is you can hear doors from other rooms closing but that's not anyone's fault. People just need to have more consideration when closing doors and not let them slam.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Cheap but it was clean and the bed was comfy so can't complain :) only negatives I'd say was having to go up those extremely steep stairs! And having to go up and down them during the night for the toilet was such a chore. Also it's not really in the city centre, we paid for tram for the time we were there and the last trams were at like half 11 so couldn't really stay out late unless we wanted a 40 minute walk home.

Overall a good hotel the manager was so lovey great customer service gave us a map helped us with directions etc but would be better if in the city centre

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildfork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Clean room, super helpful staff at reception. Tram at the top of the main road takes you to Centraal in half an hour. Only qualm is that it can get quite noisy if you are next to a big dorm but that's to be expected in hostel. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Went with a group of 7 girls for a 3 night stay weekend away. The second last day there was A MOUSE IN OUR ROOM!! We told the receptionist who either spoke poor English or was aware of similar situations in the past as he was completely unnerved and unsurprised by the ordeal. He filled up the hole in the wall then said 'there you go it won't get back in.' He refused to give us another room and we were later refused to contact the manager. There was one empty room in the hotel which was a 6 person room that they would not let 4 of us sleep in without paying the going rate which was 145 euros. The customer care we experience, or lack of, was embarrassing! I would not pay to stay in the hotel knowing I had just saw a mouse in the room and that's the only way they were willing to give us a new room. Ultimately we checked out and demanded a refund. They gave us the refund for the one night that we didn't stay there and they done so in euros, which was nearly £30 less that what we paid when it was transferred back into pounds. Completely took advantage of a group of young girls!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Flipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flipper

Address: Borssenburgstraat 1-5, 3021 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Flipper 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Flipper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flipper Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flipper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.