We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flipper

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Flipper to your Saves list
Hotel Flipper
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borssenburgstraat 1-5, 3021 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #304 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Cheap but it was clean and the bed was comfy so can't complain :) only negatives I'd say was having to go up those extremely steep stairs! And having to go up and down them during the night for the toilet was such a chore. Also it's not really in the city centre, we paid for tram for the time we were there and the last trams were at like half 11 so couldn't really stay out late unless we wanted a 40 minute walk home.

Overall a good hotel the manager was so lovey great customer service gave us a map helped us with directions etc but would be better if in the city centre

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    37
    43
    26
    59
See reviews for
18
48
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildfork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Clean room, super helpful staff at reception. Tram at the top of the main road takes you to Centraal in half an hour. Only qualm is that it can get quite noisy if you are next to a big dorm but that's to be expected in hostel. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Went with a group of 7 girls for a 3 night stay weekend away. The second last day there was A MOUSE IN OUR ROOM!! We told the receptionist who either spoke poor English or was aware of similar situations in the past as he was completely unnerved and unsurprised by the ordeal. He filled up the hole in the wall then said 'there you go it won't get back in.' He refused to give us another room and we were later refused to contact the manager. There was one empty room in the hotel which was a 6 person room that they would not let 4 of us sleep in without paying the going rate which was 145 euros. The customer care we experience, or lack of, was embarrassing! I would not pay to stay in the hotel knowing I had just saw a mouse in the room and that's the only way they were willing to give us a new room. Ultimately we checked out and demanded a refund. They gave us the refund for the one night that we didn't stay there and they done so in euros, which was nearly £30 less that what we paid when it was transferred back into pounds. Completely took advantage of a group of young girls!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed here for three nights in May 2014. After reading some of the terrible reviews i was very aprehensive to stay, i even bought my own bug spray after reading the reviews that mentioned bed bugs. Well they seemed to have rectified most of the issues former reviews were complaining about. The rooms are small but clean and functional. The area is very quiet and you are a 15 minute walk to central Amsterdam or a tram ride away. The beds and matresses appear to be new and clean. The only complaint i have is i paid around 70 euros per night, which for what it is, is pricey. I would say not worth more than 50 euros per night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Very poor hotel, not clean, cramped, breakfast poor. If you can find somewhere else, please do so. I only stayed here as Amsterdam was packed due to a couple of conferences. It's only good point for me was it was near to my office. A serious point is the real lack of security in the hotel which could cost you dear - find somewher else.

Room Tip: Dont put yourself in the position of having to choose a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The room (double private) was crazy small and very hot... But apart from that it was ok. Clean and outdated. Staff were very helpful. Bike rental was very cheap and convenient. Easy enough access to central or anywhere else via bus/tram. Supermarket close.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
West Side Inn Hotel
#265 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#218 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#215 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#229 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#249 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
De Pijp
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
#223 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flipper

Address: Borssenburgstraat 1-5, 3021 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Flipper 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Flipper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flipper Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flipper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.