We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice comfortable room at decent price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel the Golden Bear

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel the Golden Bear to your Saves list
Hotel the Golden Bear
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 37, 1017GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #238 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
daisy9700
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“nice comfortable room at decent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

good location near Leidesplein and very friendly staff.a very decent sized room.shared bathroom facilities which is quite normal in "traditional" type hotels in Netherlands.overall price was very good value.my one whinge was that i arrived at noonm,2 hours before checkin and was allowed to check in straight away for an extra 10 euros.the room was available so i dont see why the extra was incurred apart from greed.a sad let down cos otherwise a great little hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    67
    42
    22
    24
See reviews for
3
90
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Me and my travelling companion stayed there last night and had booked a private room for a very cheap price, something like €30 each.

We were so happy to be greeted by the friendly young lady at reception who helped us with everything and explained we had been given an even better room. I'm not sure why!

We had a small but tidy and clean room with two very comfortable beds and a good sized window. The best part of the room however was the en suite bathroom. It had a walk in style shower with huge rain style shower head which totally immersed you in water. The bathroom was beautiful and that's the best shower I've had travelling for two weeks!

I couldn't believe this was a hostel or that it was so affordable. The area in which it is located is at the centre of everything and anywhere is accessible from here. So happy and I would seriously recommend staying here if you're in Amsterdam. I would have taken a lady friend to stay here, that's how good.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I booked a long weekend with friends at the Golden Bear, where I have stayed many times previously, on 31 March 2014. This was done through Booking.com and is the subject of a complaint to them. At no time during the process was I told that The Golden Bear had been bought by the Quentin Group in October 2013 and was no longer a gay hotel.

The old Golden Bear had a charm about it, it was basic but you knew what you were getting. On arrival in Kerkstraat we were confused that the hotel sign was no longer there but, on closer inspection, we saw they had retained a small plaque by the door so went in. We had booked a twin & a double room & the confirmation noted these would contain a TV with DVD player (not important but that's what it said), a refrigerator and a kettle for tea/coffee; of these only a basic flat screen on the wall was provided. The room I ended up in, no 35, was on the third floor and, in fact, would not have had room for them in any case. As the weather was wonderful the room was also stiflingly hot and we had to keep the window open the entire three days/nights we were there and actual sleep almost impossible. Sadly, the light above my bed did not work so I wasn't even able to read as I sweated the night away!

A shower, basin & loo had been recently installed, which was nice, but the sink was one of those silly carved out boulders on a wooden plinth and the base was too large for the space which meant it could only be used with the shower room door being left open. The screw down 'plug' in it didn't fully close the hole so no water could be retained in it and making it a trial to shave. The guy who booked us in could not have been less interested and when I queried that the hotel was not as described when we booked it he just said 'it's been taken over & it's not gay anymore'. We should have packed up & left but had had to pay for the room when given our key so the hassle would have been more trouble than it was worth for a short stay.

The first morning, when we went down for the breakfast included in the price paid, we discovered that the old & comfortable breakfast area no longer existed, made into another room maybe, and we had to crowd into the reception area for what was available. Peter on the desk did his best to make things pleasant, and we are grateful to him for that, but if that is the best Quentin's can do perhaps they should reduce the price and remove breakfast as an option, they obviously don't really want to provide it.

The icing on the cake came on the Saturday evening when we returned to the room to discover that, while the waste bin in the shower room had been emptied so someone had obviously been in during the day, the bed clothes had only been pulled up instead of the beds being re-made. Thanks, for nothing Quentin's!

All in all, a very dispiriting experience and we will definitely not be returning to a Quentin Hotel again no matter how they try to describe it. In the UK I would probably have reported them for breaches of the Trades Description act!

Room Tip: Make sure the facilities you paid for are actually included and probably ask not to be on the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights cause it was relatively cheap and look nice and clean from photos.

On arrival at 12noon, and check-in was 2pm. We were told our room was ready but we had to pay 10euro extra to get to our rooms. We asked if they could hold luggage, they told us yes, but luggage was just in the front foyer, the door was usually open and often the person at the front desk would not be there, so definitely no secure luggage hold area. As we were heading out for the day we decided to pay the 10 euro extra to make sure our bags were no stolen.

Our room was tiny, but this is not uncommon in europe. However, the beds and bathrooms were very clean and well maintained.

The worse part of our stay was the noise. There were very thin walls, where you could hear your neighbours conversation. There was also no sound proofing from outside. We had a front room where you could hear all the trucks delivering to neighbouring businesses(which seems very often), all the people walking pass, all through the night, we had a terrible sleep. And unfortuantely my husband was sick in bed all day (no fault of the hotel) but it meant he got no rest at all.

The location was very convenient. Maybe if we stayed in a back room the noise levels could have been better, I'm not sure?

Room Tip: The front rooms are extremely noisy (though I didn't see the back rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great place to stay for a very reasonable price! The staff was really friendly and location is very great! Room was always clean and well maintained. I highly recommend this place while staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

The only issue i had with the hotel was the very steep steps with no lift, but that's to be expected in Amsterdam. The hotel is very central, with shopping starting 50 metres frin the door. The room was great, they should add hanging racks in the bathroom. There is no cupboard though, but since i was alone, i had no issues. There was space in the roon for luggage though. Leidseplein is just 300 metres away and the area is safe enough fora woman to walk in the early hours of the morning without any concerns. I found the restaurants in most of Amsterdam pretty expensive, but there is an Albert Hein just a few blocks away. Most of the tourist attractions within the city are less than a 20 minute walk away. If you are on a budget, stay away from this hotel. With all the fabulous stores just a few metres away, it'll be hard to stay within your budget. Thr hotel isn't cheap though, so maybe find a hostel if ob a budget. Breakfast is not great...continental breakfast in the front office. Rather skip it and find something to eat in the surrounding streets. There is a coffee shop next door, but don't indulge too much as the steep steps to your room could prove difficult to manage. I would stay here again if i ever visit Amsterdam in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

No longer the Golden Bear. Used to be really great place with friendly staff and nice facilities, but they have new owners a of 2014 who have made it clear that they want nothing to do with gays. I was totally shocked to hear them ell me that. One does not expect that kind of homophobia in Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel the Golden Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel the Golden Bear

Address: Kerkstraat 37, 1017GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel the Golden Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is centrally located in Amsterdam and free WiFi access throughout the hotel. Each room here will provide you with a TV, a desk, ironing facilities and a fan. Breakfast is served in Golden Bear's colourful breakfast room. The nearest supermarket is within 350 metres and there are many restaurants and bars in the direct surroundings of the hotel. Amsterdam's main shopping street Kalverstraat is 500 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel the Golden Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel the Golden Bear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.