We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping and nightlife on your doorstep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel the Golden Bear

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel the Golden Bear to your Saves list
Hotel the Golden Bear
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 37, 1017GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #240 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shopping and nightlife on your doorstep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

The only issue i had with the hotel was the very steep steps with no lift, but that's to be expected in Amsterdam. The hotel is very central, with shopping starting 50 metres frin the door. The room was great, they should add hanging racks in the bathroom. There is no cupboard though, but since i was alone, i had no issues. There was space in the roon for luggage though. Leidseplein is just 300 metres away and the area is safe enough fora woman to walk in the early hours of the morning without any concerns. I found the restaurants in most of Amsterdam pretty expensive, but there is an Albert Hein just a few blocks away. Most of the tourist attractions within the city are less than a 20 minute walk away. If you are on a budget, stay away from this hotel. With all the fabulous stores just a few metres away, it'll be hard to stay within your budget. Thr hotel isn't cheap though, so maybe find a hostel if ob a budget. Breakfast is not great...continental breakfast in the front office. Rather skip it and find something to eat in the surrounding streets. There is a coffee shop next door, but don't indulge too much as the steep steps to your room could prove difficult to manage. I would stay here again if i ever visit Amsterdam in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    66
    41
    21
    24
See reviews for
3
88
54
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

No longer the Golden Bear. Used to be really great place with friendly staff and nice facilities, but they have new owners a of 2014 who have made it clear that they want nothing to do with gays. I was totally shocked to hear them ell me that. One does not expect that kind of homophobia in Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in June 2014. Hotel reception staff were very helpful and our room was clean and neat. We had an added bonus, our own bathroom which we hadn't expected. The main benefits of this hotel are the price and the location (which is central to everything). I wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone who couldn't fit up a very narrow, winding staircase which has tiny steps. We left our big luggage at the airport so it was fine for us and even though we had been prepared for the stairs in other reviews, they were still a bit of a challenge. We checked out a nearby cafe called De Sneaker Pan (previously mentioned in a review on Trip Advisor for this hotel) and agreed that it is a great place for breakfast and only 40metres from the hotel's front door. If you want a hotel in this sort of location in Amsterdam at a budget price, I recommend considering the Golden Bear. The renovations are mostly completed now and you won't find many other hotels in this price bracket in Central Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Mississippi
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We checked in and tried to pay with AMEX. They said card refused. I called AMEX and was told no charge was attempted. Manual AMEX charge also didn't go through. VISA had no problem. Figure that??? Got to room and there was poop in toilet, wet towels and hair in bed. Told there were no other rooms available. They tried to put us up in another hotel that had a bad Trip Advisor review. Was told they couldn't refund a charge to VISA. I won't 'stay in a filthy room. Had to find alternative lodging.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for fri and sat night. On arrival we were met by David, the receptionist who was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The reception area was lovely and bright and had obviously been updated compared with the other area of the hotel that we stayed. Our room was on the top top floor, up a very steep staircase - it was quite the experience. When booking, it was advertised as being deluxe/wifi/flat screen but we didn't have any. Although we were happy, we had expected it to be more modern for the price we payed.
We found the hotel quiet and comfortable, it's in an excellent location and close to tram lines. If the rooms were updated it would be a top place to stay!

Room Tip: Choose deluxe but expect a hike
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The hotel is a building site with work starting at 7am- dusty and very noisy. Staff were unapologetic about this. Breakfast was meager. In fairness the room itself was good. I Imagine the hotel will be good when finished but for now, not worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This hotel is just what we needed -- clean, comfortable and centrally located. There was some initial confusion as to our reservation, but after some intense discussion all was cleared up and the staff was friendly and willing to help the entire time. This hotel is seconds from Leidseplein as well as the 1, 2, and 5 tram lines. Very bustling part of town, which was very nice. Within walking distance of almost everything!
If you're planning on taking advantage of the breakfast at this place, I would advise you to find something cheaper and better somewhere else. For ten euros each, they have a smattering of bread and jam and cold cuts. If you're in dire need of food, this will do just fine, but if you have the time to go somewhere else, it would be recommended.
Last but not least, this hotel is under intense construction. Floors and walls are being taken down or being recarpeted, so just be aware that the already slightly cramped hotel is even more so.
Overall good, would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel the Golden Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel the Golden Bear

Address: Kerkstraat 37, 1017GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel the Golden Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is centrally located in Amsterdam and free WiFi access throughout the hotel. Each room here will provide you with a TV, a desk, ironing facilities and a fan. Breakfast is served in Golden Bear's colourful breakfast room. The nearest supermarket is within 350 metres and there are many restaurants and bars in the direct surroundings of the hotel. Amsterdam's main shopping street Kalverstraat is 500 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel the Golden Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel the Golden Bear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.