We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel the Golden Bear

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel the Golden Bear to your Saves list
Hotel the Golden Bear
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 37, 1017GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Gent, Oost-vlaanderen, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had a new room with our own bathroom (we thought it would be shared so that was nice). It was very modern and clean. The people of the hotel were also very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. The only minus was that the window could not be opened.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    69
    44
    22
    24
See reviews for
3
93
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I've stayed at the good old Golden Bear more times than I could possibly count. I have many, many fond memories over the years of this venerable Dutch institution, with its quirky staircases and Old World charm.

Sadly, the Golden Bear has been purchased by a chain. The new owners are in the process of "updating" the rooms; the result is modern, corporate, and characterless. Gone are the Old World charm and the gay Amsterdam tradition. Breakfast is also history.

All things must change. Time to move on. I'm thankful for all the memories.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

People were helpful and polite, but there were problems with the room (it was cold, and the sheets were unclean). However, it was changed promptly when I complained and the new room was quite satisfactory..






  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here last week for 2 nights to a hotel i found easily enough with directions on my first visit to amsterdam, it's more a gay friendly hotel as i noticed females were staying.

However the receptionist was kind in giving me maps and guides and advice.

Hotel is very very clean and the shower is fine. TV is excellent in room with BBC channels.
Wifi connection is fine.

Only minus points are that it is a 20 mins walk from the main gay areas however it is right by club church, or you can get a tram down and the staircases are very narrow, steep and hard with luggage especially coming down.

I would stay here again, although i would prefer sumwhere more central

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I really don't know about other rooms, but our double deluxe room was sooooo cosy! Perfectly cleaned and BIG. OK, the owners are in a perfect "northern style" of being (a bit detached), but they surely don't lack of politeness. And we didn't actually pay that more to have the deluxe room instead of the standard one.
The location is perfect: 1 minute to Leidseplein.
The stairs are what you expect to find in Netherlands, obviously not suggested to aged people.
The smell of the water of Amsterdam channels sometimes arrives from the bathroom, but nothing unbearable.
And the other little detail, if we want to be scrupulous, is that in our room at the very top of the building, internet wifi didn't arrive. But however, who cares about it in holiday?? We didn't.
All this to say: we are a young couple and we've been very pleased to stay at The Golden Bear. I would suggest it and I think I will probably come back there.

Room Tip: I suggest the deluxe double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Looking forward to my first trip to Amsterdam with friends, one of whom I was sharing a room with. As this friend is male and I am female, and both in committed relationships with other people, a room with twin beds had been booked in advance.
After arriving at the hotel, wanting to relax before heading into city, we discovered that the room provided was nothing like it had been portrayed on the website by the booking provider. We could immediately see the room didn't meet our expectations or standards. The staircase that led to what could only be described as a dingy loft conversion were literally as steep as ladders. The decor was lifeless and furniture was a mishmash of tattered plywood cheap rubbish with a slight scent of damp in the air. On top of this it had a double bed!
Therefore we went to reception and informed them we had booked a twin room not a double. The Receptionist immediately went on the defensive and was very unprofessional and informed us the hotel was now full and had the audacity to tell us that there was a futon in the room for which we could use as a second bed which folded out on to the floor. We told him that we had not paid good money to sleep on the floor. The Receptionist had informed us there was nothing he could do, management had left and he was just "an employee" and he could do no more for us. We insisted he phoned a manager to help resolve the issue, the Receptionist reluctantly agreed.
We informed him that unless the issue was resolved, we would like a full refund and we would find alternate accommodation, as we did not want to pay for a service which was not being provided (a decent bed!!!)
The Manager informed the Receptionist that there was nothing he could do, and if we did check out we would have to pay the first nights accommodation fee as this was standard procedure. When the Receptionist relayed this information to us, whilst on the phone to the Manager, we asked to speak directly to him. The Manager point blank refused to speak with us!!
After arguing our case to the Receptionist we insisted he called the Manager back for a second attempt to put our case for a full refund to him. The second conversation with the so-called Manager resulted in an offer of another room in an alternative hotel. We agreed and the Receptionist was then left to give us the relevant details. It seemed by this time that the Receptionist had developed a negative attitude and become even less helpful and customer service skills were none existent. On top of being abrupt and dismissive, no offer of a taxi, public transport information or directions were made to get to the new hotel.
A disgraceful way to treated.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel the Golden Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel the Golden Bear

Address: Kerkstraat 37, 1017GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel the Golden Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is centrally located in Amsterdam and free WiFi access throughout the hotel. Each room here will provide you with a TV, a desk, ironing facilities and a fan. Breakfast is served in Golden Bear's colourful breakfast room. The nearest supermarket is within 350 metres and there are many restaurants and bars in the direct surroundings of the hotel. Amsterdam's main shopping street Kalverstraat is 500 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel the Golden Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel the Golden Bear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.