We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel the Golden Bear

Save Saved
You added Hotel the Golden Bear to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel the Golden Bear
Kerkstraat 37, 1017GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #228 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The rooms are old and a bit smelly--that is once you get to them.... Yes, the pictures don't lie. The staircases are terrible. That's Amsterdam to some degree. But seriously please think twice if you have luggage...it is pretty tortuous and you are on your own...
Service at the hotel is non-existent and the tone of the staff-- cranky, condescending and marginally dictatorial ("you close the door fully at all times", call at 11:02-- "CHECK OUT IS AT 11!") no, not hello, just that...
Breakfast is what you can expect from a 2 star hotel. Toast with some jam, a piece of ham and cheese plopped down in front of you. Don't ask for anything unless you're willing to deal with the passive aggressive wrath of the gentleman in the morning whose classical music you've interrupted.
I wouldn't recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    62
    37
    20
    21
See reviews for
3
81
52
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. We had a nice size top floor room with private bath. The room smelled of cigarette smoke when we arrived (even though it had no smoking posted on the door), but it cleared up after a day with the window open. The room was basic and clean with a comfortable double bed. The shower was very large for european standards. A reviewer complained about WIFI on the top floors, but we got an excellent fast signal. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The stay included a nice small breakfast every morning that was served until 11 AM. The hotel left fresh towels at our door everyday, but they did not provide daily housecleaning services which surprised and disappointed us a little. It's considered an LGBT hotel, but they welcome everyone and the guests were very diversified during our stay. The location was EXCELLENT and the Tram stop is right outside the hotel to Central station, shopping and red light district. Since all you do is walk in Amsterdam, this is was the perfect central location. So about those famous stairs!!... yes, they are VERY small and winding, it was an adventure lugging suitcases up and down, but it had no effect on my perception or review of the hotel. To us it was part of the Amsterdam charm. I viewed it as a great butt and leg workout, but I could see how it would be an inconvenience for older folks. There is no air conditioning, so it was a bit loud at night with the windows open facing the street, but no big deal. This was our first time in Amsterdam and it is now one of my favorite cities in the world. LOVE IT! We will definitely be back and would consider staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to all places in Amsterdam, it was close to a lot of the gay venues. The breakfast was good and no issue with getting any further food, I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

From Barcelona we stayed at the hotel five days to visit our son who works in Amsterdam. I had to order some extra service without any problem. No problem with language, because my English is not too fluid, were at all times very friendly. At any time you could you prepare a tea, a coffee, a soup in the same room. I would recommend to anyone for its good location and good service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Terrace, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I will stay somewhere else the next time I am in Amsterdam. The staircases are dangerous and steep and the WIFI is horrendous. I had to walk downstairs to use the WIFI. It was not accessible on the 3rd and 4th floors.

I knew we had shared bathrooms as well, but there were fewer than 1 per floor. 50% chance you have to take the dangerous stairs to use the bathroom.

No elevator, which can be an issue if you are stuck on the 3rd or 4th floors. I do NOT have mobility issues, but the stairs were a problem, especially since I had to use them to get WIFI.

Breakfast was APPROPRIATELY later, which is a plus. One morning was bread, ham, bologna looking meat, and cheese. Another morning had eggs cooked to order. Being in Amsterdam, with late nights, it was nice to have breakfast go until 11am or noon.

Room Tip: Request the 1st 2 floors and the BACK of the hotel where it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have spent a considerable time, seeking convenient accommodation in Amsterdam and elected to stay at the Golden Bear. I made my booking via booking.com and received back confirmation of my booking which I have printed.
Shortly after ( and when other special offers had been snatched up), I received an e mail from the Golden Bear to tell me my booking had overlapped on the system and I did not now have the booking as described in my confirmation.
It seems to be the case that, when I submit my credit card details and enter into that contract with the Golden Bear, that I cannot cancel that without loosing money.The Golden Bear however can cancel that booking without any cost to them but at a cost to me.
To add insult to injury the manager corrected me for referring to this as a mistake and insisted it is not a "mistake"? - Discuss!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel the Golden Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel the Golden Bear

Address: Kerkstraat 37, 1017GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is centrally located in Amsterdam and free WiFi access throughout the hotel. Each room here will provide you with a TV, a desk, ironing facilities and a fan. Breakfast is served in Golden Bear's colourful breakfast room. The nearest supermarket is within 350 metres and there are many restaurants and bars in the direct surroundings of the hotel. Amsterdam's main shopping street Kalverstraat is 500 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HotelsNL, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel the Golden Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel the Golden Bear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.