We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer - holiday in kamer 01” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique B&B Kamer01

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boutique B&B Kamer01
Save Saved
You added Boutique B&B Kamer01 to your Saves list
Singel 416, 1016 AK, 1016 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
ULM
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Summer - holiday in kamer 01”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2006

We booked the blue room for our 14 years old daughter Natascha and her girlfriend Svenja.
Sue and I took the red room, and we were impressed of the lovely atmosphere. Not that we’ve seen the internet pictures, but the selected interiors and the extraordinary design made us fall in love with our room, the kamer 01, Peter, Wolter and Tommy (I think we are going to copy pieces of the interior!!!).
I do some business trips a year to Amsterdam and I have to say, they serve the best breakfast in town, including all worth knowing about sightseeing and activities of their city.
During our 9-days stay, Sue and I used the kitchen also to do some cooking in the evening, and one day, we invited Peter and Wolter for dinner in their own Bed & Breakfast.
While our children using the internet and the media offer of their room, we found some time to walk the romantic parts of Amsterdam and made us an unforgettable stay.
See you on my next business trip in February -

Roland

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
245
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2006

I have been to Amsterdam 4 times total now, but have never been able to find the perfect place to stay (there are many hotels and B+Bs to choose from, and few really good ones).

Then I found The Kamer01. Staying there was so nice that it has turned into a huge part of me yearning to go back for a visit as soon as possible.

The owners, Peter & Walter are two of the most hospitable, friendly, and refined people you could ever hope to meet. They literally have molded this B+B with their own hands and operate it with such attention to detail that you feel as though you were royalty. Those of you who are really imppressed by "the small touches" will LOVE this place.

Peter, it turns out, is also the designer of the decor of the B+B. He also designed and had built many of the pieces of furniture and art that adorn the property.

I had the pleasure of staying in both rooms. The Blue Room is the top floor room, and is made special by the the roofline beams in the ceiling, as well as a very quaint balcony on the roof. The decor is very modern with a truly fun (and very comfortable) round bed! The marble bathroom is very, very nice (a rarity in Amsterdam, in my humble opinion).

The Red Room is my favorite. It is on the second floor and is truly GRAND. It has an eclectic collection of furnishings, and the SEXIEST bathroom you have ever seen. Large sheets of frosted glass make up the walls of the large bath area, and the custom-designed sink is something to behold (you gotta see it to believe it).

In both rooms, the bed linens and mattresses are the very best. Same goes for the towels in the bathrooms. You just can't get any better.

Of course, no trip to Amsterdam would be complete without fresh flowers. Both rooms always have lovely arrangements.

Now, for the best part...Many hotels offer a breakfast with your room. Typically, it consists of a table that has been set up in the lobby that has some bread, cheese and meat laid out on some plates for everyone to handle, as well as some poorly made coffee.

Well, breakfast at the Kamer is like visiting the finest dinner restaurant, but having breakfast instead. The dishes, silverware, stemware and flowers are all in place in the custom-designed ground floor kitchen area. The freshest, high quality cheeses, jams, local breads and fantastic cuts of meat are all beautifully arranged SEPARATELY for EACH individual. It really makes you feel special. You literally have your own "everything." And the coffee is divine. They have a very nice (probably very expensive) coffee machine where you can choose from a variety of blends and custom create your own cup of coffee. Very, very nice.

Truly, I cannot speak highly enough of this place. And, it goes without saying that I cannot wait to return.

Highly, Highly recommended.

Matt (Atlanta, GA)

  • Liked — The high quality of everything offered, as well as the attention to detail
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Book in advance by contacting the property directly.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2006

You cannot go wrong choosing this lovely hotel. The owners Peter and Walter (and their dog Tommy) took every care to make sure our stay was as welcoming and enjoyable as possible. From their champagne and chocolates on arrival, to the wonderful breakfast, to the amazing advice they gave on local attractions, to beautifully decorated rooms ... everything was perfect. Also, what an amazing location!!! In a lovely quiet street surrounded by great bars, galleries, restaurants and parks. But still right in the heart of things. Thank you for a lovely break ... we WILL be back again soon ... highly recommended if you want to get away from the big faceless, corporate hotel chains.
John and Vanessa (london)

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2006

We have just returned from our second visit to this wonderful B&B and we enjoyed it every bit as much the second time. It has a wonderful central location, within walking distance of all the major attractions, yet on a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle. The interior of the B&B is stunning, both times we stayed in the Blue Room which is decorated in a modern yet romantic way with the most comfortable round bed and a small private balcony. It has all the mod cons that you could want for your stay, including a flat screen TV with DVD and an Apple Mac with an I Tunes Library and wonderful Rituals Cosmetics. The hospitality is also unrivaled, from the friendly greeting (with Champagne!) to the excellent advise on local restaurants, bars and attractions, the superb breakfast and the personal touches, such as complimentary bottles of wine on our return every evening. I can't recomend this B&B highly enough, simply, it is the best hotel we have ever stayed in and we will definately be returning at some point.

  • Liked — The personal service (and the breakfast)
  • Disliked — Nothing, we liked everything!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

This BB was centrally located for our trip to Amsterdam. It was within walking distance to Rijks Museum, the market and Dam Square. The rooms were finely finished and the breakfast was fantastic! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The fabulous breakfast and fine furnishings.
  • Disliked — The ceilings in our room were low for very tall people.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique B&B Kamer01? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique B&B Kamer01

Address: Singel 416, 1016 AK, 1016 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam you will find Kamer 01, a extraordinary bed and breakfast designed with a philosophy of style and personal service. In a beautiful heritage building you will come to appreciate the typical "feel" and view of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boutique b&b Kamer01 Hotel Amsterdam
Boutique Bed And Breakfast Kamer01

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique B&B Kamer01, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.