We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue room rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique B&B Kamer01

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boutique B&B Kamer01
Save Saved
You added Boutique B&B Kamer01 to your Saves list
Singel 416, 1016 AK, 1016 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Blue room rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

The hotel lives up to its website. We stayed in the blue room and were amazed. Having iTunes in your room is awesome, as is the unique round bed, and sky lights. DVD library is a great plus, and breakfast was another highlight - a banquet just like on the Web photos. Late checkout was also very much appreciated, our hosts were so relaxed and helpful. Thanks Peter for a fantastic weekend!

  • Liked — The decor and furniture
  • Disliked — the small shower
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
243
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

and it is simply because with only two rooms they don't get the volume of reviews that a 300 room hotel would get (good or bad). This place is truly special. My wife and i have just returned after a 3 night stay. She went unsure of my choice of short break and came back wanting to live there! That was in no small part due to Kamer 01. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel completely at home. The accommodation is genuinely of a 5 star standard but without the terrible impersonality and homogeneity of a Sheraton or a Marriott. Added to which the place is bursting with original features and Peter and Wolter (and of course Tommy's) personality. The location is fantastic and very central. I used to visist Amsterdam every month or so but I can honestly say that after this trip it is the first time that I have returned genuinely feeling that I really know the city. I'm almost tempted not to share how good this place is so that I can get a room in the future but as they say what goes around comes around.. An absoloute gem and an absoloute must...

  • Liked — Personal service
  • Disliked — Faultless
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAO PAULO - BRASIL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

This increadible, fantastic, unique and warmfull hotel made our stay in Amsterdam such a special one.... Each detail in the decoration of the bedroom and bathroom were so beautifull and cozy that sometimes we rather stay in the hotel than going around the city.

More than that the feeling of being at home is such a great experience, because we did not only have a bedroom, we had a lounge, kitchen and a sweet dog to live with.

I do recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be received as a special one by Peter, the owner!

Gabriela Haddad - Sao Paulo - Brasil

  • Liked — DECORATION AND HOME FEELING
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

What an amazing place!
We booked really late, and were so lucky as we got to experience both rooms. The Red room was opulent and decadent, and the Blue Rom was just out of this world. We were welcomed with champagne by Peter (& Tommie the dog!) with the right amount of courtesy / friendship / professionalism. Then we spent a beautiful night in the Red room - with its amazing shower and futuristic basin. We were treated to a mouth-watering assortment of delicacies for breakfast, and my partner could not get enough of the coffee! Then we changed to the Blue Room, which was so cool and yet inviting, and decorated in a different - yet just as effective - style. The round bed made our evening very romantic - and it was just the right weather to enjoy a glass of wine (provided by the hosts as well as snacks and coffees) on the outdoor private terrace in the evening. All in all, an amazing stay and thoroughly recommended if it's within your budget. A peaceful area, yet within walking distance for everything - and superb hosts.....you couldn't ask for anything more!

  • Liked — The rooms/breakfast and snacks available at all times - mainly the terrace in Blue Room
  • Disliked — The stairs - but they are everywhere in Amsterdam - everything else was perfect
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

What a wonderful retreat! Peter and Walter were the perfect hosts. The breakfast was fantastic and the red room so beautiful and relaxing! The B & B was very centrally located and within walking distance to everything. Just around the corner from the museums and the floating flower market. It was the perfect oasis. Don't delay... only two rooms available.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — some noise outside at night
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

This B&B tucked in one of the prettiest areas of Amsterdam (Nine Streets) is an absolute delight. It has been tastefully refurbished to accomodate today's discerning traveler. The two individually designed rooms are very special. We stayed in the Red Room which was stunning. The bathroom is very relaxing and with the rain water shower that is big enough for two you really get to relax after wondering around the city. The sink is very cool, made of glass! All the details have been considered and with such a dramatic room the breakfast had to match. Peter and his partner Wolter are fantastic hosts, very private if you want to be, and very sociable if you fancy a chat. The food they served each morning was beautifully presented and offered a wonderful range of continental cheese, meet and dried fruit but there are other things to choose to suit your fancy. Their little dog tommy was adorable and well behaved, always happy and very quiet.
I loved this place for its simply ability toprovide luxury to the detail but not feel ostentatious. It is within walking distance of everything, central station probably about 15/20 mins walk so best get taxi if you have large bags. Flower market is 5 mins walk. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — The hosts and the over all detail of the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2007

We searched more than 100 options in Amsterdam, i guess, but we fell in love with Kamer01 as soon as we saw their website and decided to book it right away (only 2 rooms so don't miss it)!
Peter and Walter were absolutely amazing from the first minute we arrived, welcoming us with champagne and great conversation...
The room was so unbelievable that we almost wanted to stay there the whole time.. every detail: the natural flowers, the wallpaper magazine collection, the water bottles packed so delicately.... and best of: Kraftwerk dvd on their library! couldn't be anywhere else!
They are a tasteful and stylish couple. So, if you're looking for some place exclusive, stylish and with excellent location, go for it.
Definitely will return!
ps: breakfast amazing and ask for restaurant suggestions! they know the best places in town!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique B&B Kamer01? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique B&B Kamer01

Address: Singel 416, 1016 AK, 1016 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam you will find Kamer 01, a extraordinary bed and breakfast designed with a philosophy of style and personal service. In a beautiful heritage building you will come to appreciate the typical "feel" and view of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boutique b&b Kamer01 Hotel Amsterdam
Boutique Bed And Breakfast Kamer01

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique B&B Kamer01, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.