We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Grand Hotel Amrath, Amsterdam - it is great and we both really enjoyed staying there.

The hotel is fantastic, the staff are very helpful, the rooms are clean and spacious and the location is superb. It is very unusual for me to be so complimentary about a hotel as I usually find something to complain about......... but on this occasion I couldn't! I am still in shock that the mini bar in the hotel room is re-filled every day - free of charge!

The location is superb it is easy to access the main sites and attractions and the hotel is only 7-10 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central Train station - get the train from the airport its really easy and the taxi's are very expensive; 45 euro by taxi each way 8 euro return train ticket (per person)..

Don't be put off by the outside of the hotel building, when you first arrive I was a bit worried as it is rather gothic looking from the outside but inside it is really really nice.

Only thing to be aware of - it is a 5* and you do pay 5* prices in the hotel bar, but then my husband and I found eating and drinking in Amsterdam expensive.

If you want a good meal while you are there I can certainly reccommend the Me Naam Naam Thai resturant and the Aneka Rasa Indonesian resturant - both serve excellent food and drink the service is fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,075 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,185
    565
    196
    84
    45
See reviews for
215
1162
158
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Me and my girlfriend recently stayed at the Grand Amrath for two nights the reason for the choice of hotel was the star rating against the price, We payed under 300(sterling) for 2 nights in a deluxe room without the city view , Which i actually preferred because it faced an inward courtyard type place with plenty of privacy. Also the hotel lived up its name " Grand" Because all the high sealing and lovely art added to the comfortable stay we had, it seemed like we were the only people on our corridor sometimes which added to the privacy. Another reason for the booking of the hotel on my part was the "free mini bar" Which was daily topped up , Only point i will make is that the brand of local beer was not to my taste but the hotel had no problem with you stocking up on your own choice of beer from the supermarket a 1 minute walk away. Again we could not argue with the service provided by this hotel. The Location was a perfect only a ten minute walk from both central station and the lively red light district . Would recommend this hotel to any other couples planning a trip to the fantastic city of Amsterdam. Yours sincerely The_white_leroy

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Just returned from a weekend break and as I always read reviews beforehand I thought I had better return the favour:-
Location - excellent, 5 minute walk from the train station and 5 minutes and your in the centre near Dam Square, you more or less have to go through the red light district but can be avoided if you walk around.
Hotel - lovely hotel in a quiet area, great service
Rooms - When we first checked in we were informed that we had been upgraded to a Superior Delux Room, we were not. They lead us down into the basement where the spa was located, although the room was nice, you looked out onto the pavement and everyone walking past could see in. When we complained they moved us to the First Floor which was a beautiful room overlooking the canal side. Beautiful high ceilings and the bathroom was lovely. Even better you can shut a door between the bedroom and the bathroom/front door which means you don't hear anything from outside in the corrider area.
Room Service - Be careful the basics like water was very expensive, I think we paid 30 euro's for 4 small bottles of water. However there is a free minibar which is nice for a drink before you go out.
Spa - Really nice just to relax after a heavy night.
All in all, great hotel, perfect location. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for my birthday . We got the train from Central Station and walked to the hotel (about 10 mins walk) . As soon as we arrived at the hotel there was a lovely man who came running up to us to take out luggage from us as he must have been able to see i was struggling wuth my ridiculously large suitcase i took for 3 days ! Check in was simple, they informed us that they had given us a free upgrade with a canal view which was a nice surprise. Our room was on the top floor (4th) the room was long and narrow , the bed was lovely and big with lots of pillows and cushions. The bathroom was perfect with a lovely deep bath. The best thing about this hotel is the free mini bar which is re stocked daily , red wine , white wine minature bottles of vodka , whisky , Barcardi etc and bottles of beer which my boyfriend enjoyed. The Nespresso machine is fantasic. The breakfast which is also included in the price was amazing , the best scrambled eggs and mushrooms and as much freshly squeezed juices as you want ! The spa is also lovely with a small swimming pool with stars above you , a jacuzzi , saunas and a steam room with lots of comfu beds and chairs you can sit in and relax, we managed to enjoy this with nobody else there which was a bonus! The location is good , right near the red light district with all the bars and restaurants close by but far away enough so you can't hear any noise at all and close to central station and the trams so you can get around easy enough.
This staff at this hotel are so freindly and can't do enough for you, they even put some gorgeous chocolates in my room one night with a card saying happy birthday from all the staff .My mum and dad are also now booking to to stay here in the summer . It really is worth spending a bit more money to stay here , with the breakfasts , free mini bar , nespresso machine and the spa and the lovely staff it would be daft to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

After my girlfriend was taken seriously ill whilst on holiday, they tried to charge €160 for a 5 hour late check out. Forcing her to go and sit in the airport. That is pretty poor service and even worse morals. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

stayed for 4 nights in the amrath early feb 2011 hotel was nice and quiet loved the room very high celing, spacious bathroom with shower and bath. bed was amazingly comfortable, free mini bar topped up every day was an added bonus. staff helpful and friendly definitely will be staying here again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Stayed at the amrath in october for a night whilst there for a football match.
Check in went smoothly, left our bags at reception and went for a walk around.
Came back an hour later and were taken to our spacious room. The room was a little dark, but fine, with free internet and minibar !!. sadly i didn't make as much use of the minibar as i should, too busy enjoying myself !. The bathroom was a decent size and clean.
The location was ideal, close to central station and to all the nightlife, but far enough away to get a good sleep.
Would go again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.