We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great luxury hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great luxury hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Great large rooms, with free minibar and lovely bathrooms. Not much difference between deluxe room and junior suite so think long and hard about whether there is enough to justify expensive upgrade.
Spa great. Lovely pool with hot tub, steam room and 3 saunas. Handy small gym.
Good location close to Central Station, 10 mins walk from centre.
All in all thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    633
    215
    90
    47
See reviews for
230
1,273
171
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Stayed here for an annual conference...rooms were ok, bathrooms was amazing bedroom portion was ok at best...dark and smelled a little funky...staff overall were friendly, spa and pool were very good...food was good as well. Location is OK but a little far from shopping and had to cross the red light if you wanted to go anywere really.

I would only stay at this hotel is all other 4 and 5 star places were booked!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We chose this hotel for its external Art Deco features - which are oustanding.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Our room (number 232) faced an internal couryard and so was very quiet but it was a little smaller than we expected however it was very comfortable with all the features such as trouser press, coffee machine, free internet access and deep bath etc and a huge plus - A FREE MINI BAR ! which is refilled daily.
Minus points - the wardrobe was so small and difficult to open due to the bedside table.
Plus points - the room was very clean, I could find no dust or stray hairs in the bathroom.
The air conditioning was quiet and effecient too.

We did not try breakfast as we were too full from the Seven Seas Restaurant the night before.
We found the quality of food excellent and the prices very reasonable especially considering it is a 5 star hotel.
In fact we ate in both nights as we thought is was so good.

It is difficult to find anything significant for us to moan about at this hotel, although the remote control curtains in our room seemed to have a mind of their own and opened & closed several times on their own during the night - a ghost maybe ? hehehe
It is close to Central Station but a few mins walk to Dam Square and the flower market area. You could always take a tram.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

This is a top hotel in a top location in Amsterdam. We stayed here for a couple of nights during a weekend trip last year. The fact that we got a huge discount made booking this place possible for us.
You will love the Amrath. Excellent service in classy surroundings. If you are an architecture fan you will love this place even more. They have hardly changed this former merchants' building when they converted it into a hotel. All the interior details are fascinating.
Only minus was the size of the room. There was a huge (comfortable!) bed and a table and chairs, but there wasn't much space to walk around. But this definitely would not deter me from staying there again.
This is a big budget hotel, but look out for discounts on hotel booking sites and this bit of luxury will be yours (did I mention the free mini bar?)!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Beautiful and unique building. I stayed here for 4 nights and felt comfortable the entire time. Friendly, but slow staff. That is ok. Very large and luxurious bathrooms for Amsterdam. Nice rooms with good beds. The bar is great and serves good, light fare like sandwiches and salads, just when you are getting sick of seafood and cheese. Building is secure and safe. The snack bar is truly free and is a nice touch. Limited selection, but great in the morning for orange juice and at night for wine and water.

Location is good, right by Centraal Station and the Red Light District with plenty of eating and entertainment choices. I might think twice about staying here with my children, as one has to walk through the District to go nearly anywhere unless you want to walk around it.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We had amazing time in this hotel, good location, just outside the center, welcome service staff, good SPA. Was one disadvantage it's small area of room as for me and not a cheap price for accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in Sept 2010. The rooms are very large and spacious. They are truly modern and very new. The bathrooms are exquisite and include the finest toiletries provided (Lavin products). The beds are so comfortable, I slept SO well those 3 nights. The location to the Central train station is spectacular - even with having to roll our heavy luggage over there, it was about a 10 min walk. Everything feels very close in Amsterdam, so we were able to walk to all the major attractions from our spot here. Only reason we took the tram was to go to the Heinken Brewery and we just walked over to the train station where all the trams (buses) come in and out of. Very very good location.

The hotel staff was amazing as well. So friendly and helpful. Huge plus to the conceirge that arranged our day trips out of the city and provided us very helpful suggestions for where to eat and go at nights.

This was just one leg of our European tour, but I can tell you the other hotels we stayed in where not nearly as amazing as the Grand Amrath. Definitely stay here! It is completely worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.