We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel and very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unique hotel and very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Beautiful and unique building. I stayed here for 4 nights and felt comfortable the entire time. Friendly, but slow staff. That is ok. Very large and luxurious bathrooms for Amsterdam. Nice rooms with good beds. The bar is great and serves good, light fare like sandwiches and salads, just when you are getting sick of seafood and cheese. Building is secure and safe. The snack bar is truly free and is a nice touch. Limited selection, but great in the morning for orange juice and at night for wine and water.

Location is good, right by Centraal Station and the Red Light District with plenty of eating and entertainment choices. I might think twice about staying here with my children, as one has to walk through the District to go nearly anywhere unless you want to walk around it.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,028 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,164
    549
    191
    79
    45
See reviews for
208
1140
155
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We had amazing time in this hotel, good location, just outside the center, welcome service staff, good SPA. Was one disadvantage it's small area of room as for me and not a cheap price for accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in Sept 2010. The rooms are very large and spacious. They are truly modern and very new. The bathrooms are exquisite and include the finest toiletries provided (Lavin products). The beds are so comfortable, I slept SO well those 3 nights. The location to the Central train station is spectacular - even with having to roll our heavy luggage over there, it was about a 10 min walk. Everything feels very close in Amsterdam, so we were able to walk to all the major attractions from our spot here. Only reason we took the tram was to go to the Heinken Brewery and we just walked over to the train station where all the trams (buses) come in and out of. Very very good location.

The hotel staff was amazing as well. So friendly and helpful. Huge plus to the conceirge that arranged our day trips out of the city and provided us very helpful suggestions for where to eat and go at nights.

This was just one leg of our European tour, but I can tell you the other hotels we stayed in where not nearly as amazing as the Grand Amrath. Definitely stay here! It is completely worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

My comments below in bullet point form:

- Hotel lacking atmosphere (in everything but exterior architecture).
- Room dirty upon arrival (surfaces not clean, nespresso area dirty, mould on surfaces in bedroom and in bathroom, rubbish in cupboard).
- Room was damp and cold (demonstrated by bubbling wallpaper and aforementioned mould on ceiling). Despite having a "deluxe room with city view" the room was so small you had to squeeze past the foot of the bed to get to the far side of the room.
- Heating was unreliable, and room temperature was extremely uncomfortable at times
- Hotel was noisy - there is an old wooden lift system in the hotel which cannot be used for safety resons but for some reason was run all night on a few nights - clattering and clanking away and keeping us awake.
- Service was appalling and staff unhelpful - when reporting cold room temperature to reception they did the bare minimum to help and the problem was ultimately not solved. Despite a refreshed-daily "free" minibar being included in our package the hotel on numerous occasions failed to replenish the minibar. On one day when I actually called reception to ask for the minibar to be filled, at c.8pm (we wanted to have some drinks in our room before heading out for dinner) they said they would not be able to help as "the drinks were locked away and nobody has the key".

To conclude it is a shame that a building with such potential to be a great hotel is being run in such an appalling way. A 5* hotel should never put guests in a dirty, cold room - and nothing should be impossible - especially when the request is as simple as a few beers at 8pm!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

Booked on their internet websit for 2 rooms. On the last day, we paid our bill with VISA and straingly enough we couldn't buy anything with our VISA card any more in other shops. After contacting our bank, The amrath took 1330 euro reserve on booking and another 950 euro I have paied for the rooms. Meaning the limit of 2500 euro on my card was nearly reached. With lak of money we had no ther choise than to return home. A few days later the banc account was arranged and the 1330 euro provision was given free. Although it did ruin our last "shopping" day in Amsterdam. Further they charged us 80 euro vallet parking, Since we came by train, this was cancelled, nevertheless, a nice try.
Rooms were quite spacious and pool area very clean. Dispite our negative financial eperience, hotel is well worth its 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

This is my second stay at this hotel. It is located about a 10 minute walk from central station in Amsterdam so you can walk to it unless you have a lot of luggage. The check in process went without trouble. The check in staff are professional but could be more friendly and welcoming.
The building is fantastic and the rooms are quite large especially for European hotels. The mini bar is included in the room rate. The room was clean and there were no problems with anything in the room. Breakfast in the dinning room was good although not sure worth the cost. We did have a few drinks in the bar/lounge and the bartender seem somewhat inexperienced. The conceirge was excellent, attentive, helpful and friendly and was probably the best of the staff in the hotel. Internet access was also free which was quite nice .We had no negatives but just do not get the welcoming feeling we have received from other hotels in Europe. I would rate the hotel as more a 4 star than 5 star.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

I just wanted to leave a short review, although it's nearly a year since we stayed. I always use the rating system of trip advisor to book my way around the world, and I’ve never been disappointed. The Grand is fantastic, from arrival to departure they look after your every need - we spent little time in the hotel, but what time was spent in the hotel all the staff helped as much as they could. We arrived early evening and was shown to a receptionist who could not help us any more (giving upgrade, thanks) from then on the pure spirit of the hotels past inspired or stay at a truly beautiful hotel

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.