We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Rooms in a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Atlanta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Upscale Rooms in a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We recently had a wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel Amrath. The location is very convenient just a few minutes walk from the Centraal train station and a great home base to explore Amsterdam. The hotel itself is a historical site, which is a bonus if you like that sort of thing.

The rooms are enormous compared to other European hotels and have very comfortable beds and a nice LCD TV. The bathroom actually had 2 sinks and bathtub in addition to the shower. The free minibar was a nice surprise! It came stocked with water, soda, beer and wine.

The WiFi internet worked flawlessly but there is also a free business center with computers and a printer in case you need to print tickets etc. There is also a spa/massage place at the hotel but we didn't try it.

Service at the check in desk and from the concierge was outstanding. They stowed our bags when we arrived early and were able to provide us with tickets to local attractions so we could skip the lines. Rack prices can be high for this hotel, but look around and you will find deals. This is a great hotel, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,033 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,166
    551
    191
    80
    45
See reviews for
210
1142
155
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights, one before our cruise and one after our cruise. We were upgraded the first night to a junior suite which was enormous. We had booked the hotel on Hotwire for a very low rate and were surprised with the upgrade. The rooms we had were spotlessly clean and the bathrooms are great. On our return, we arrived at the hotel at 9 am after our cruise and were pleasantly surprised to have a room available for us to check into. We both appreciated the free minibar and free wireless internet. Great location near the train station. Would definitely recommend this lovely and eclectic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We spent 2 nights pre-cruise at the Amrath. We got a very good rate on Hotwire and were very pleased with our stay. We had a large room with a very high ceiling which looked out on the centre of the hotel. We did not have a view but did not expect one for the rate we paid. The hotel is beautiful and historic. We found the staff to be very helpful. We did not eat breakfast there but went to one of the cafes nearby. Location was great for us near Centraal Station so we could pick up a tram to anywhere in the city. We did have sinks that plugged up in the bathroom but that was the only negative. The hotel has a business centre with 2 computers on the 3rd floor and it was working pretty well when I used it. Just be careful not to let it save your information or other people can log into your account. Loved Amsterdam and could have stayed here for a week!

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed at the Amrath prior o a 12-day Baltic tour. The hotel is approximately 200 meters from Cenetal Station. It is near many of the major attractions of Amsterdam. The lobby area is quite small and oldhowever the romms are superb. The mini bar contents are free. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Spatious room for a very reasonable price. Superb shower and bath.
We payed a little extra to get a room in the upper floor facing the sea.
It is worth it. The building is beautiful and interesting although somewhat hard
to navigate. You get used to it in a couple of hours.
The staff is very kind, efficient and generous, although a bit less
attending than expected in a 5 star hotel (that's actually good unless
you really like that artificial nagging of the Ritz).
The location of the hotel is excellent. Just by the central train station
and you can walk to any of the major attractions.
We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend in Amsterdam and had a superb stay. We stayed in the second floor and given a huge room. The bedroom had plenty of wardrobe space, remote control curtains, air conditioning, windows that actually open, a large tv and best of all a mini-bar that was restocked free of charge every day!! Our bed was enormous and we had several very good nights sleep.
The bathroom was very new with seperate deep bath tub and shower unit. It was spotlessy clean with lovely shampoo, soap and shower gels.

The hotel is art nouveau in style (including the original lifts!) and this is continued into the bedrooms. Don't expect a boring modern corporate hotel here - this hotel has character as well as excellent facilities. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The spa, sauna, steam room and pool are very clean with robes, slippers and towels provided. We had a fab time in relaxing surroundings.

The location of the hotel is excellent if you are new to Amsterdam as it is round the corner of Centraal station - no need to shell out for a taxi. It is easy to walk around the city from the hotel and the tram system is easy to use too. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

We spent 6 nights at the Grand Hotel Amrath and had a fantastic time. It is a very historic building and has some great features and is well appointed. I booked the hotel through Expedia and got a very good rate and we were in a room without a view but the room was plenty nice and large with a nice tub and seperate shower. The bed was very comfortable and the linens and pillows were high quality. The mini bar is also included with sodas, wines, beers and liquor which is a nice feature and they also have a Nespresso coffee maker which we liked. They restock the minibar daily. The only issue we had with the room was the ventilation system which did not seem to work all that well however we had the hotel staff open one of the large windows and that was all we needed. The hotel is in a good location next to the central train station and the surface trolleys which was convenient. We went to the morning breakfast on the second day and the selection of breads, meats and cereals is very good but the price for two was 50 Euro and way too much in my opinion. You are much better off going to one of the many local cafes in the area where you can get a good breakfast for 10 to 15 Euros for two. The hotel staff was very helpfull arranging museum tickets and airport transport and overall directions and advice. Overall we loved the hotel and would go back anytime. The city of Amsterdam is fabulous and beautiful and although alot is made of the "Red Light" District and coffeeshops, the city offers so much more with great museums, parks and many more sights to see. Definately one of the great places in all of Europe to visit and see.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.