We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Grand Hotel Amrath” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Grand Hotel Amrath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

We spent 6 nights at the Grand Hotel Amrath and had a fantastic time. It is a very historic building and has some great features and is well appointed. I booked the hotel through Expedia and got a very good rate and we were in a room without a view but the room was plenty nice and large with a nice tub and seperate shower. The bed was very comfortable and the linens and pillows were high quality. The mini bar is also included with sodas, wines, beers and liquor which is a nice feature and they also have a Nespresso coffee maker which we liked. They restock the minibar daily. The only issue we had with the room was the ventilation system which did not seem to work all that well however we had the hotel staff open one of the large windows and that was all we needed. The hotel is in a good location next to the central train station and the surface trolleys which was convenient. We went to the morning breakfast on the second day and the selection of breads, meats and cereals is very good but the price for two was 50 Euro and way too much in my opinion. You are much better off going to one of the many local cafes in the area where you can get a good breakfast for 10 to 15 Euros for two. The hotel staff was very helpfull arranging museum tickets and airport transport and overall directions and advice. Overall we loved the hotel and would go back anytime. The city of Amsterdam is fabulous and beautiful and although alot is made of the "Red Light" District and coffeeshops, the city offers so much more with great museums, parks and many more sights to see. Definately one of the great places in all of Europe to visit and see.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    593
    206
    87
    46
See reviews for
225
1,208
164
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern - Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

The Grand Hotel Amrath is not only beautifull it is also perfect for a city or business trip. This is the first hotel I have ever been where the mini bar in your hotel is for free (!!). Besides of the very well equiped room the hotel has a marvelous (but small) swimming pool, and SPA. Do not forget to go to the roof top, you'll have a great view over the city of Amsterdam. I can fully reccomend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

The Grand Hotel Amrath is an impressive hotel with an ideal location. While many multi-star hotels can really only boast of a dazzling lobby and exterior but provide cramped, limited rooms, the Amrath's room was fantastic. The gorgeous art nouveau theme was also very well done IN the room. The free minibar is a dream. A red wine, a white wine, two beers, a candy bar, nuts, orange juice, hard liquor, espresso machine. Wow! And restocked every day. A very comfortable, truly clean room. I had a beautiful view of a canal from my room's window. Central Station is a 5 minute walk. Too see Amsterdam, all you need is a one, two or three day public transit pass. The tram is the perfect way to go - I paid 15.50 euro for a three day pass. I used the tram with the assistance of the map the hotel provided. The service at the Amrath was wonderful. I found the Amrath via Hotwire and am so pleased with it. One of my all time favorite hotels. I highly recommend the Amrath.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

I stayed in the Amrath hotel with my dutch girlfriend. When we checked in, we met a very nice guy who helped us with our stuff.
The trip to the room was quite a happening, it was beautiful. The elevator, the stairs..We were told that it is a monument.
The room was really unique with a very nice city view.
The next morning we took an urly swimm and had breakfast on the room....:-)

Next time we will visit Amsterdam, we sure gonna book this hotel again!

Roy

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

A very good hotel in an excellent location within easy walking distance of the city center.
Staff very friendly. Rooms vary in size, but very clean and nicely furnished. Our only fault
was with the restaurant , the food being not up to the expected standard, considering the
price....best avoid.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

This really is a beautiful hotel in a great location. We had a beautiful view. The bed and linens were very comfortable. We did not have a laptop computer with us so we really enjoyed the business center with a printer attached. I needed to print boarding passes for our ryanair flight. It was more expensive than the hotels we normally book. It was Queen's Day and most hotels were booked. We really enjoyed our stay here though.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We are dutch and we came to the hotel for a get away from the normal family life. I read the reviews but when we got there I was even more than happy we came. First of all I recomend to call the hotel directly for prices since it seemed like if you go via the websites you dont allways get a free room. We were greeted so nicely by a concierge by the name of Ben whom gave us an honest opinion on the restaurants in the area. (By the way we recomend the sea palace chinese restaurant oposite the hotel, you might have to wait for your food n it is noisy but it was the best chinese I had in Holland and big portions for the main courses), The receptionist Romy was very kind and attentive. The room decore was beautifull, the drinks were for free, a cofee maching in the room with my favorite tea (which the cleaning girl was happy to give us extra) and the bed,,,,what can I say - more comfortable than this you cant get. The spa is great - a swimming pool jacuzzi and 3 saunas (The steam room was not hot enough) In the evening and the morning we consulted the concierges again (sorry but dont remember the names) What can I say, It looks and feels the employees there love their job! and they love giving service with a smile - WE WILL SURELY COME AGAIN!!! Thanks for making this a night to remember!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.