We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A completely unique experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A completely unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

What an amazing experience it was to stay at this hotel that is unlike any other I have stayed in. I travel at least once per month throughout Europe but have never stayed in such an incredible hotel. The architecture is like no other and never have I seen such a tremendous job of changing a historic building into a hotel. You would think this experience alone is enough for a memorable stay but the hotel building complimented with the level of service provided by the extremely professional and attentive staff provides the perfect combination.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,026 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,164
    548
    191
    78
    45
See reviews for
208
1138
155
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

I decided to book this Hotel after reading the many reviews on Trip Advisor. This was our 4th trip to Amsterdam and we normally stay at the Barbazon Palace however this year there room rate was higher than I wanted to pay and anybody that reads my reviews will realise I like Luxury type Hotels but at bargain prices and again we hit on a winner.
I booked this room as a secret hotel on a well known web site and with a bit of research it was not difficult for me to work out that the secret Hotel was the Amrath. So not such a secret for me when I booked it for £100 per night
Great check in and the lady advised us that she had upgraded us. We got a superb room, huge comfy bed and pillows. There was a huge bathroom with great wet room area for the shower.
Very clean hotel and the room was very well serviced daily. Now this is a Luxury Hotel and the prices in the restaurant reflect this 30 euro’s each for breakfast.
Now this is where the Hotel comes into its own, you get a free mini bar, restocked daily and also a Nespresso coffee maker. Forget your 30 euro per person breakfast we would call to the bakery the evening before and buy some croissants and breakfast in the room with a great coffee and brandy (the Spanish way) free of charge.
The mini bar saves a fortune for us Brits as the pound is so weak against the euro.
If you are thinking of going to Amsterdam stay at this Hotel you will not regret it, the hotel is very close to the station and the Red Light District so every thing you want to see is close by. Great fun City

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

I stayed in the Amarth Amsterdam about 5 times, last of which in Jan 2010. I believe this is one of the best hotels in Amsterdam and located very conviniently close to the station but also close to the touristic points of interet and lots of bars and restaurants. They have some very small rooms, but also some big once in the same price range, so my advice is to try change your room if it's really small. If your room is on the busy street side, that could be a bit noisy. It's suppose to be a 5 star hotel but i would give it 4 "real" stars. Breakfast is very generous, fresh and good, but pricy (25 euro). The serving staff at breakfast has the unpleasant habit to stand in the middle of the area and speak loudly. Apparently the restaurant management haven't noticed in the last 2 years since my first stay in the Amrath. The hotel staff, except the receptionists seems to be lacking training about simple things. For instance, I was taking a shower when someone entered the room and started refilling the minibar despite the fact that the shower door was open and he could clearly hear the shower running i.e. someone was in the room. In my experience in other hotels in Amsterdam, service level is generally low and the Amrath is deffinitely not making an exception. If you really look for a high end 5 star hotel in Holland, try Karel V in Utrecht, miles away in service, great rooms and breakfast served in a ballroom type of setting. The Amrath is great for Amsterdam standards, one of the best, but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Overall Very impressed with Grand Amrath.

Did have one incident with the next room smoking cigarettes (in a NON smoking hotel)

Outstanding Beds, Bathrooms and Pool!

Already booked return visit

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

The sign of a great hotel is "when you hate to leave" and this place is in that category. It's not in a "traditional" hotel building, so don't go if you expect an American type 5 star hotel. But do go for an Amsterdam type 5 star place. The building has a lot of charme and they did a great job changing the place to a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

We had an HORRIBLE experience at the Amrath. We had made our reservation well in advance and we bought a "best room available" deal that was granting us the best room available at check-in time. We got in our room and realized how small it was, even by European standards. When we opened the curtains, we saw that we didn't have a view on the canals or the street but on other rooms and electric cables. Another thing we noticed was that the bathroom door was fully made of glass and didn't have a frame, meaning that others in the room could perfectly see and hear everything going on... We didn't think too much of this and since we were tired, decided to order from room service. The menu was like 7 items long including one soup and one desert. Nothing 5-star there. There was an "evening menu" (7 different items), but it was starting at 10:30pm. After dinner we went to bed, only to discover another surprise: you could hear absolutely everything going on in the corridor and the other way around we supposed. We kept getting waken up by other clients in the corridor or by roommaids doing their work with as much noise as possible it seemed. If we would have had at least a good night of sleep! We were told that we should have tell the problem to the reception, but I don't see any reason why a 5-star hotel would even offer that kind of room in the first place. After spending the day in Amsterdam, we got back to our room only to notice the our towels were put back on the racks even if we left them in the bath (isn't this the international sign that you need new ones??). So we decided to inspect the cleaning a little bit closer only to see that the coffee spoons we used to eat our breakfast were put back at their place without being cleaned or changed (traces of chocolate and my tongue imprint on the back being proofs of this). We then went to the concierge to get bus tour ticket since it was getting a bit late in the afternoon. We left the hotel and when we traded the voucher for tickets, we were told that the hotel sold us tickets for the boat tour. And it was the last bus of the day... We got back to the hotel and the staff apologized for their error but it was too late. When checking out the next day, we noticed that not only they charged 7.50 Euros for each room service, but there was another tax of around 8.00 euros. All in all, I ate the most expensive regular burger I've ever had. We wanted to leave the place as soon as possible so we asked for a taxi. The concierge was with us outside waiting for it. After 15 minutes outside, we told him that it was too long but he kept telling us it was near and would not let us hop on another one since they do business with one specific company. After waiting nearly another 10 minutes, we took the first cab we saw, happy to leave this place once and for all.

Updated: While Amrath apologized and even sent us a letter, it doesn't make any difference: we had an horrible experience and you can find much better hotels in the vicinity for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

This beautiful old hotel is conveniently located close to the station which makes travel from the airport very easy. When we arrived we were greeted warmly by the staff. Our rooms were spacious with very high ceilings and huge windows. The bathroom was well laid out with a large shower. My only complaint would be although the mini bar was free and had every type of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks with a few types of snacks the breakfast was not and was a very expensive 25 euros. The hotel was in a very good location to see the sights with the river cruise station just down the road on the way to the station. We didn't eat in the hotel but would certainly recommend the Sea Palace across the river from the hotel where the food was excellent and good value.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.