We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why not stay somewhere awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Why not stay somewhere awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

Awesome hotel! Spent two nights of our honeymoon here, and this was the nicest hotel by far. Booked thru expedia a run of house, and we ended up with a suite I guess, a foyer at the entrance, off to the left part of the bathroom with a tub/ with attached shower head, and double sinks, to the right the toilet/ awesome shower with huge shower head, and optional other shower head. Then from the foyer you walked straight ahead into the bedroom with large bed, very comfy we overslept our first night, club chairs and table by the window overlooking the canal, flat screen tv, free minibar, and curtains that have a remote control! The 10 or 12 foot ceilings made the room feel that much bigger. In room coffee and tea were also complementary. They had a host of other things that came with the room. We walked from the central station and so we did stop once on the way to ask directions, but found it. Was pretty easy to walk over to catch the tram at the central station to go to different museums, attractions like the Heineken experience, and for when we had to head to a different hotel to meet up with our river cruise. We had bought a map at the airport of Amsterdam and were finding getting around kind of , well difficult after being in London where everything was so easy, but then the hotel provided us with a free map with the tram lines on it- this is the only map you need! After hearing about the tiny not so clean room some of our friends on the river cruise stayed in at another hotel for not much less money, I'm glad we decided to treat ourselves to a stay here. The pool, hot tub, and especially the sauna areas are also a real treat, but maybe a little tricky to find- keep opening doors and follow the smell of chlorine until you find it! Make sure to try a chocolate covered waffle while you are in Amsterdam. The staff at this hotel are also very helpful- from the bellhop to the front reception to the cleaners.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,081 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,188
    567
    197
    84
    45
See reviews for
216
1165
158
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Close to central station for the traveler. Comfy beds free minibar and close to nightlife

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Stayed for five days with my family in late October.
Everything was perfect, from the kindly and cunning staff, to the dinner, the room and the relax area.
Close to Nemo, shopping, trams, canal buses, breakfast places, and et cetera.
Would absolutely stay there if going back to Holland.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

This was our fist time to Amsterdam and we chose this hotel because of other peoples reviews on this site.

The location is excellent, less than a five minute walk from the train station so no need for a taxi and It is only a short stroll to the red light district.

The hotel staff were excellent and the hotel has real character. Our room was on the ground floor, which concerned us a little but when we got to it we were impressed. The room was huge, we has a jacuzzi bath and shower in ours. The minibar was great, no bill for it is a real bonus.

We booked it with Expedia as they had the best rate, if this hotel is going to cost you €30 or €40 more per night than another hotel your considering book here, its well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

As you arrive at central station Amsterdam this hotel could hardly be more convienient its a short walk abliet through a dizzying concotion of Trams Bikes and Cars. Very nice grand building though decor inside the lobby and cooridors was a bit "Hollywood Tower of Terror" art deco like. Nice though if you like that sort of thing. Room we got at an excellent rate for a Euro 5 star hotel. I have stayed at many 5 Star hotels and they usually give you sub standard rooms if you are not paying full rate. The room on this ocaasion was very comfortable with a very nioce bathroom. Electric curtains flat scree tv nespresso coffee maker. The mini bar was complimentyr (unusual) for our trip and was well stocked everyday.
No ironing board in the room which is really somyhing all travellers need so asking is a bug bear and as it turns out where thin hotel starts to let itslefg down. We called for an Iron and proceeded to get tready which took over an hour. The Iron nrvere arrived in well over an hour but was in the room for our return. Too late for the shirt I was earing though. We asked for additional milk for coffee it never arrived at all. I asked for assistance on the complimentry wifi connection. It never came. We ordered room service which was scandeloussly priced but went for two burgers as they were about affordable if a long way from value. The result was terrible. Buns soggy on the bottom stale on the top and the burgers were cold. They were removed off the bill to hotels credit. The spa was niice and averagluy priced. We both had a massage spent time in the pool etc. Nice for a day that was raining. The location is great but its hard to avoid the red light district as you walk to any of the cities other attractions. The hotel is situated right on the edge of the area far enough away to keep you away from the husstle bustle but as I say you will have to go through it almost every time you go out or put up with a detour around it. Most peopel who travel to the city visist there atleatst once for the curiosity but it gets a bit tedious and the city has soooo much more to offer. I would howbver stay here again if I got the same deal, but I'd be much more dem,anding of the staff and managment to get what I want and pay for.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. We had a SCREAMING internet deal which made this 5 star hotel amazing. We were in a street side room which was really not that noisy. Some sirens in the night but otherwise not noticeable. The room was pretty and large. In room minibar and coffee maker (both complimentary) were wonderful. The bathrooom was very nice and I particularly liked the waterfall shower. The pool, sauna, steamroom, and jacuzzi were wonderful. Nearly necessary after walking around amsterdam all day! Wonderfully relaxing. Just a heads up that the jacuzzi is pool temperatures and not a hot tub.
The one problem we had were the remote controlled curtains. They were very nice, kept out all the light but unfortunately they randomly opened multiple times in the middle of the night. We told the staff after the first night. They assured us they would fix it. The next night it happened again. We again told the staff and they this time came up immediately and fiddeled with the controls and assured us it was fixed. That night it still happened. Again we told the staff and they joked that the room was haunted and said they might call the company about the issue. No offer was made to switch our room, or give us a meal or drink in the resturant. I would have expected more from a 5 star hotel. Overall very nice but fix the curtains already!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Was here for a conference for one night only. The hotel, very nice, very old yet the rooms are very modern and do have all you need to make a business stay easy. The Spa with indoor swimming pool looked great, would have been nice if I had more time... Very good located (a mere 800m from Amsterdam Centraal - the main train station) and also a few steps away from the main night tourist attractions.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Otel, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.