We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Little Rock
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

We stayed in beautiful Grand Amrath for two days 2009. It is a massive and unique hotel, former shipping house built in 1928. It was converted into hotel in 2007 Everything about this hotel is different than any other one, The architecture Art Nouveau, and décor made me to stroll from basement to last floor. It is close to Central Station, about 5 min walk with fast national and international rail links, and Schiphol Airport is only 18 kilometers away.
On arrival we were checked in really quickly by nice staff. I asked for canal view and got it. I don’t know about rooms overlooking the busy street on the other side but the walls are very thick and windows are doubles plus thick curtains.
Mini bar in the room and internet access in the very nicely done business room is complimentary. In the bathroom, there is a full deep tub and a separate stall shower with both a waterfall showerhead and a hand shower piece. The windows are vast and offer great light. My wife loved the automatic curtains, when there were closed the room was completely dark.
The bedrooms were roomy and luxurious and well decorated, the beds are huge and so comfortable.
The spa is located in basement and is free of charge; this includes the use of three saunas’, with different temperatures, steam bath, whirlpool, swimming pool and the weight room.
The concierge is very helpful and knows his stuff as you would expect in a five star, every recommendation was very good. The hotel has around 20 parking spaces for guests. There is also a valet parking. The location is perfect. Waterfront city centre yet quiet, and just a 5-10 minute walk from everything Dam Square, Red Light, etc.)
Of course there are lots and lots of bikes - you can't comprehend the amount of bikes until you visit - they are everywhere. Watch out for the cyclists, they are going in very high speed from every direction
In conclusion, if you are going to Amsterdam soon and want a memorable experience, I recommend you do yourself a favor and stay at the Grand Amrath.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    628
    215
    90
    47
See reviews for
229
1,265
171
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights in October for business, halfway joined by partner. Overall, staff is friendly and helpful but you have to be used to the direct Dutch way of communicating to not interpret it as otherwise. They were not helpful at all at first when I wanted to change my room facing another building which was very claustrophobic. Only when I insisted hard the next day did they move me to another room on the ground floor. It was facing the street and tram stop so not a great view but it was better than the view of the 1st room. I hated the bed(s). It was basically 2 single beds pushed together to be a double bed - common in Europe but they were not stable - as we shifted in our sleep one of us always ended up slipping down the split. There were tons of pillows but found none of them comfortable. Housekeeping visited 2x per day. The free minibar and Nespresso machine were fun. The bathroom is a good comfortable size and I loved the deep tub. Overall charming hotel that used to be hq for shipping company, but somehow I never felt totally comfortable and did not always feel refreshed in the a.m. Breakfast was disappointing at 25 euros. You're better off spending this amount eating at a nice cafe outside. The business center has 2 computers connected to a printer which was convenient. Free wifi internet from rooms which was also convenient although the signal was not very strong. Wellness center was okay - sauna was way too hot, but steam room and jacuzzi way too cold. Location is very convenient since it's within 10 mins walk to the central station and easy distance to shops. Parking was at 40 euros per day but the staff will tell you it's a great deal compared to having to meter your car constantly (or parking close to the canal to risk having it fall in...). If you stay here take the time to walk around the hotel to appreciate the architecture and charm of an era passed.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

A big thank you to the lovely staff at the Amrath, who made our anniversary-stay truly memorable. The hotel is lovely, unique in design and in quality of stay. On arrival we were upgraded to a canal view room which was perfect, the hotel team had really gone the extra mile - leaving us a welcome gift and card on the side! The staff were polite, attentive and happy to help with any queries we had about Amsterdam (restaurants, bike hire etc). Well done hotel Amrath - other hotels can learn a lot from you!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for our anniversary for 4 nights in October.

We paid for a Junior Suite (approx £250 per night).
We arrived at the hotel after flying into Schipol. The train from the airport to Central Station is really easy, 13 Euros for 2 and takes about 10 minutes. It's then litterally a 5 minute walk from the station to the hotel. You can't miss the hotel, it's so grand and right on the corner of the road.
We got checked in really quickly and were told we were upgraded to a City View Junior Suite (I double checked and these rooms were more expensive, just for the view). Staff were really friendly and the guy that took our bags to our room was really nice, told us about the hotel and where things were.

The room was one of the biggest we have stayed in! The ceilings were almost the height of our house! So big that there is electric curtains in the rooms. We were right on a cornder so had large windows (that open) to the front and to the side of the hotel.
An extremely comfy bed.
Probably a little lacking in storage space, there was one cupboard but not much hangers, but it was fine.
Large TV with various channels including BB1 and BB2.
Free wireless internet, which could be quite slow at times.
Nespresso coffee machine and kettle.
I have to say, the free mini bar was great and it was re-stocked every day. Being in a Junior Suite you also get a half bottle of champagne to. Red and white wine, couple of chocolate bars, peanuts and pringles, plus beer, vodka, whiskey, bacardi, brandy & gin, fresh orange, water, coka/diet coke, tonic and red bull.
This made up for the expensive drinks in the hotel bar. We had a vodka and lemonade and a jack daniels and coke and it was 19,50!
Breakfast wasn't included in our room rate and one night we opted to get it delivered the next morning. Went for the full fry up and it cost 27,50 EACH plus a 7,50 tray charge. I think that's the most expensive breakfast we have ate and to be honest, it wasn't all that great. The hotel restaurant did always look quite and probably because of the price, but with so many options so close to the hotel there wasn't a need to eat there. You are just 5 minutes away from Chinatown/Red light area that is stacked full of bars/restaurants.
Although we did get room service a couple of times, it's 24 hours with 2 different menus for the time of day and the food was really nice. The local bitterballen shrimp or veal are really tasty.

The hotel's spa area is great. We went down 3 times, twice we were on the only ones there but on our last night it was a bit busier. The pool is quite small but nice for a relaxing swim, there's a jacuzzi, a steam room and 3 saunas - all great. There is also sun loungers for you just to relax and read a book. We didn't get any treatments but there are a lot of options, although quite expensive. There is also a gym that looked good.

Apart from the breakfast cost, there is nothing I could say badly about this hotel, it really was great and worth paying the money for. Note that you have to pay a City tax charge when you depart, 5% I think it is.

Amsterdam itself is a great place with so many things to do and see and the hotel is positioned really well for walking everywhere. It's a 15 minute walk to the Artis zoo which we went to and was really good.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

If you want to stay in the best hotel in msterdam you must try the Grand Hotel Amrath. My wife and I just got back from a six night stay in a city view superior room, which by far was one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in while visiting Europe. The rooms are huge, high ceilings, terrific beds, great free minibar and well appointed bathrooms. They even arranged for flowers to be in our room for our stay at a cheap cost of only 25 Euros. The staff will do most anyithng to make sure your stay is wonderful. Thaks Mr. Bosman, the hotel's director, and to you staff for one of the better hotel stays we have ever had.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Negatives: Very small room, tiny window, could hear slamming of doors early in the morning and moving around the housekeeper carts. Positives: Great bed and linens, free mini bar. This is not a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

This old hotel was absolutely beautiful and within walking distance to the train station. If you like history and modern quarters, this is the place to stay. The elevator is all wood inside and creaks...quite nostalgic!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.