We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and sense of luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
South England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location and sense of luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

We would like to recommend this hotel. The staff, even before we arrived were helpful...knowing we would get into Amsterdam by 10.30am and not wanting to carry our cases all day we contacted them to see if we could leave the bags at the hotel. They were very accommodating and were able to allow us to our room by 10.30am, even though check in at 2.00pm. When we were leaving we also appreciated the booking out time of 12 noon. We were again able to leave our bags all day with them until our evening flight. Both these accommodations made our 5 day trip full and unhindered.
Location is great – 5 minutes’ walk from the central station. Train ride was 13 minutes and only 3.80 euro....why take a taxi? Although on a main road in front of the port it was not noisy, and as you exit the entrance and turn left you are in a small road along a canal, great bar just over a bridge and in 3 minutes you are in the main canals/ shopping.
There were simple touches in the hotel such as the free mini bar, free rental of DVD’s, the complimentary slippers and robes and the nepresso machine rather than sachets of coffee which made staying a pleasure. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms very clean, the bathroom sparkled. A nice touch was that there was a second knock on the door in the evening to enquire if you needed anything, like extra coffee and we found that when we weren't in at that point we would return to a tidied room.
The spa and pool is beautiful and allow a sense of luxury. The pool has a power jet (I had not experienced this in any other hotel pool). It is a great addition to a small pool where most people are just relaxing. It allows you to have a swim if the pool is busy with guests or children playing, but also allows you to swim constantly rather than continuously turning even when alone in the pool. The gym is not big, but adequately equipped.
The minibar was well stocked – 5 small bottles (gin, vodka, whiskey, brandy and Bacardi) 2 fat cokes, 2 thin cokes, 2 beers, 2 sparkling and 2 still water, 2 orange juice, and 2 tonic water. The breakfasts were too expensive for our wallets (25 euro’s) but to have coffee, orange juice and buying a croissant earlier was fine, or going out to the many places to eat for breakfast was easy. We found a good place – the Pancake Bakery at Prinsenstraat, Along the Canal Belt, not far....doesn’t look anything from the outside but they are busy. And the pancakes are good! We took the cokes out with us and enjoyed sitting in Dam Square with them rather than paying 5 euro’s for a coke at one of the bars!
We have put great value for money because we were able to book as a Top Secret hotel...so it was great value for money. The going room rate for superior deluxe is 450 euro's....out of our price bracket...but that was what they displayed in the room, I’m sure many people don’t pay that. The £400 we paid for 4 nights we thought was great value.
Car parking was secure, cost 40 euro's for a 24hour period.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,279
    615
    212
    89
    47
See reviews for
229
1,238
168
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Lovely Hotel and atmosphere within. Staff very helpful and friendly. Room good size, mini bar complimentary ( value of which is €90 at hotel prices). Spa facilities (jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom, fitness machines and pool included) Massage and other treatments at cost. Breakfast very ample. Restaurant and bar menu cost reasonable. Bikes available for hire from hotel to get round Amsterdam easier. Close to station but far enough not to be disturbed, 5 mins walk.
Only downfall was our room located close to delivery access for hotel, resulting in a disturbed morning at early o'clock.
Definately would go back however.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

The Amrath is a very beautiful hotel with gorgeous period features. The reception with its delightful stained glass windows was home to the concierge, who were very helpful during our stay, giving is umbrellas, calling us taxis and recommending restaurants et cetera. Curiously there is a working, but not in service, 'pater noster' in the hotel. A patern noster lift is a passenger elevator which consists of a chain of open compartments (each usually designed for two persons) that move slowly in a loop up and down inside a building without stopping. Passengers can step on or off at any floor they like. Downstairs there is a compact but superb pool with jacuzzis, saunas and steam rooms, plus a spa and hair dresser. We felt very spoiled!

Perhaps the only drawbacks were that the hotel's restaurant was always empty and it was too quiet for us to consider staying. The hotel's location also had its ups and downs: walking distance from the train station and Red Light Distrcit but it could have been more central. Despite this, I would definitely recommend the Grand Amrath!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

this hotel really hit the spot. the building was beautiful with all the original features still in place it had a feeling of an old black and white film set. they had a very well equipped wellness centre with all sorts of pampering packages or you could go for swim in the pool or work out in the gym if you were feeling energetic. the staff were very nice and friendly. this is not one of those hotels were the staff are in your face about services if you want something ring reception and they are very helpful. the room was lovely with a bed fit for a princess. didnt think much of the minibar though as my husband and i dont drink alcohol that often there were only a few soft drinks if you wanted to change this then it was charged as extras. the bathroom was great too. the bath was amazing and the bath products were a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Have stayed quite a few times here, and am planning another very soon. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms and very comfortable and large, The fact you are close to everything and just a couple of minutes walt from Centraal station.

Had a fantastic time every time i travel through the Netherlands, and always make sure everyone knows about this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Just checked out today. What can i say about this hotel? If you visit amsterdam then this is the place to stay. Great service, great staff, nothing was a problem. We were constantly asked if we needed anything, would we like help with anything? loved it. The mini bar was a real treat. Only negative was the price of the food, we never ate anything in the hotel and noticed the restaurant was always empty. we would have tried it but the cost was what put us off there were lots of great restaurants in Amsterdam anyway. Did notice on Sunday that they served afternoon tea, looked lovely and would have given that a go if we had known about it. otherwise this was a great experience and would def go here again. Beds were awesome!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We loved this hotel. We had a deluxe double - one level up from basic, can't remember exactly what it was called. Our room was totally beautiful with a great view of the canal. We didn't bring our toddler but if we had, the room had a nice feature of a wooden door between us and the large hallway to the bathroom. So, we would have put his crib in that hallway and it would have provided us with almost a suite with two rooms so we could put him to bed before us. Another small note to those sharing rooms - at least in our room there was that wooden door but the door to the bathroom itself was a very stylish frosted glass door that didn't seal. The bathroom was quite long so it may not be an issue, but if you are very uncomfortable with the potential of bathroom noises, you might want to ask whether your room will have a partition door between the bathroom and the bed section.

I was traveling for business but brought my husband for some QT as well, and it fit the bill perfectly on both counts. Free wireless worked great in the room and the business center let me print something without a problem. Free minibar was a nice perk with plenty of water, chocolate bar etc. The hotel is unique - absolutely incredible architecture and rooms were very stylishly appointed. We agreed this was probably the most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed in, and we've stayed in some really nice ones around the world. It doesn't have the wonderful but bland look of a starwood, rather its the same modern style but using really interesting wall and curtain fabrics, very high ceilings, etc. The hotel is not for those who want the four seasons style hotel with a huge, elegant marble lobby, 7 high speed elevators and all that. Rather, it is luxury in a very special, boutique hotel style with a very small but personal lobby, one quaint yet very functional elevator, etc. The breakfast was wonderful with a nice assortment of pastries, cold cuts, eggs, cereals, juices, etc. Everything has wonderful style at this hotel, down to the modern nouveau white china. We even saw a celeb at breakfast! The location is good, with plenty of nice restaurants in easy walking distance. It is a bit across town from some of the museums but not too far, and the trams at the central station are very close so these make getting anywhere easy (they are located across a bridge so are just a touch far if you are handicapped or have trouble walking). Also if you take any day trips out of the city, which we did, this was very convenient. And I highly recommend taking the train from the airport to central station, which saves you about $75 in cab fare. When you walk to the hotel, take a left out of the train station, staying on that side of the street and then cross a later bridge, I think its the third bridge - don't cross the first bridge right away and then walk left because it is a longer diagonal. With suitcases this was a bit annoying. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest five-star deluxe hotel of Amsterdam in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms, of which 25 suites offer complimentary wireless internet, free minibar and from free access to the wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.