We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Accommodations at a Value Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Boston, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Luxurious Accommodations at a Value Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

The designers of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam largely succeeded in the conversion of an Art Deco Office building to a modern hotel. It has pretty much everything you could want, including relatively spacious rooms with 18 ft ceilings, super comfortable beds, and modern bathrooms with great sunken tubs. Extras include a 32" flat screen TV and a free minibar. (Most of the english language TV channels were British, not American.) Amenities are wide-ranging, including business center and a free wellness center with gym, pool, sauna, and whirlpool. The staff was highly attentive, befitting a 5 star rating. Best of all, the room was completely quiet, despite the hotel being "close to the action".

There are only 2 slight issues: Location is good, but a decent walk from some popular tourist areas (Leidseplein, Museumplein, etc.). It is however very convenient to Central Station and the red light district. We loved walking everywhere in this gorgeous city, so we didn't mind the slightly off-center location. Also, because of the historic nature of the building, there is no duct work, which means no air conditioning. This is not a horrible failing as it usually cool at night, but guests should be aware before choosing this hotel.

All in all - highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,340
    648
    221
    91
    48
See reviews for
236
1,302
172
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

I stayed here for two nights and was very impressed.
About 5 minutes walk from the central station the hotel is immediately recognisable by its gothic facade. I did not use the restaurant so can only really comment on the room which was the best I have ever had in Amsterdam.
Safe, tolietries, television, coffee machine, free broadband connection, free minibar (containg over €90 worth of products at hotel prices) everything you need and with quality.
By all means shop around for the best price but for a real taste of luxury
in Amsterdam stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern US
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

The Amrath is about a 5-10 minute walk from Central Station. It's very easy to take the train to and from the airport and then walk to the hotel if you don't have a lot of luggage (we only had one rolling suitcase). The hotel is also near the tram line and canal boat tour stops. There's also several dozen restaurants within a 5-15 minute walk of the hotel- a wide variety from fast food to high end Dutch cuisine. The location of this hotel is very convenient. The hotel itself is a converted old building. The lobby is small and not very impressive, but the rest of the hotel is great. The halls are long and winding, so it's easy to get lost. The rooms are comfortable, modern, well-kept, and for the most part clean. The pillows and beds were the most comfortable that I've used in a hotel. The mini-bar is complimentary, which was very convenient after a day of walking or biking around the city. The only negative things were the towels were stained, the robes were threadbare and stained, and the bathroom vanity didn't look clean. Otherwise, the room was fine. This hotel also had the best customer service I've experienced in a Eurpoean hotel. Everyone was helpful, polite, and really went out of their way to help us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

If there is a better hotel in Amsterdam then I would be surprised. This hotel ticks every box and a few more! The room was large, elegant, comfortable, well equipped, quiet and oh! so welcoming. I simply can not remember staying in a better hotel anywhere - ever. Absolutely loved our five days here - don't hesitate - book it.!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

The Grand Hotel Amrath is visually astounding. It is an old shipping terminal converted
into a hotel and they've tried to keep as many original features as possible. To be
honest, when entering the first time I was a bit worried as it's not immediately obvious
that this is a 5 star hotel in 100 year old furnishings. But once you meet the staff and
get to your room you'll realise just how great this place is.

There is a great spa and pool in the basement for relaxing and getting away from the Amsterdam madness.

Word of warning - you WILL get lost getting back to your room inside the hotel! But that's part of the fun here. The rooms are incredibly comfortable and quiet and the location is in one of the best possible locations. Book it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

The hotel is perfectly located just near the central station with cafés and restaurants nearby. The staff is very helpfull and welcoming. Our room was cleaned twice a day and the mini bar re-filled every day (free minibar!).

Smoking rooms are available.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

When we arrived we were told that we had booked a deluxe room, i.e. the lowest quality that this 5* has. I informed them that I had in fact booked "run of the house" with expedia, which meant i was to receive the best room in the hotel available at the time of check in. The manager was called in and after thinking for a moment asked that we follow him. We were escorted to a massive suite with 8 rooms. It was incredible. Bed amongst the most comfortable I have slept in. Aside from this the staff were very pleasant and the hotel restaurant served excellent food.

Overall a very satisfied customer.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.